We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park”

Fontainebleau State Park
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Mandeville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

No rv sewer hookups where we were at but the park itself is beautiful! Nice camping area. We enjoyed the playground & trails with our children. The beach itself was littered, but there were a lot of people there the weekend we stayed. I would go back for a day trip just not overnight without full hookups.

Helpful?
1 Thank mswissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    96
    23
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great place to go with the family. Get some sun & hang on the beach. Even rent a cabin for an overnight stay.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Coming back from heavy hurricane damage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stopped in here to try birding the north shore of Lake Pontchartrain because the ongoing, childish federal shutdown had killed our planned visits to Big Branch Marsh National Wildlife Refuge, Bogue Chitto National Wildlife Refuge, and Bayou Sauvage National Wildlife Refuge.

Despite severe damage from Hurricane Issac in August 2012, there are still large deer herds, tall pines, and live oaks draped with Spanish moss.

It would have been nice if the staff would add a sign to the trails noting that the boardwalk was destroyed. That would have saved us a 30-minute mosquito infested walk to nowhere.

Bird-wise, we saw or heard an Anhinga, Great Blue Herons, Great Egrets, Snowy Egrets, a Little Blue Heron, 17 White Ibis, an Osprey, a Spotted Sandpiper, Laughing Gulls, Eurasian Collared-Doves, Belted Kingfishers, Downy Woodpeckers, Eastern Phoebes, a Loggerhead Shrike, many Blue Jays, Barn Swallows, Northern Mockingbirds, Northern Cardinal, a King Rail, a Royal Tern, an Eastern Wood-Pewee, Eastern Bluebirds, and a brilliant Brown Thrasher.

It was also cool to see large schools of Smallmouth Buffalo fish around the pier.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Buck_Fievre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very Nice State Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent nine days here and really enjoyed it. A nice, wooded state park. Our RV site was nearly level and a decent distance from those on either side. Clean restrooms and laundry. They empty the trash daily and a park ranger drives around a few times a day. We always felt safe. It's fairly quiet considering all the activity, especially on weekends. We were some distance from the playground and the "beach" though. Some hurricane damage remains, especially the once-beautiful cabins which are no longer in use.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“NOT Tent Friendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

When the rains came, my tent floor was floating where ever nothing heavy was on it... thank God Northface makes a good product. The drainage in this park is virtually non-existent. Fortunately, I had chosen a site, with electricity for a medical device, that was a little elevated (though it still flooded), but as I drove around the park, every single 'tent site' (meaning no power) was flooded with at least 18" of water. I was told that all of the campgrounds in the area are the same, so I have eliminated this part of Louisiana from my list of Tenting Destinations!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank OldGrayNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fontainebleau State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fontainebleau State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing