We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marriott Quality Standards Maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Metairie
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Marriott Quality Standards Maintained”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I have stayed at this location several times over the past six months with consistent results. It is one of the few three plus star hotels in the Kenner/Metairie suburbs of New Orleans. It is very quiet and excellent for business travellers. The restaurant is average to above average and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. If local cuisine is your thing, steak, seafood, Italian or sushi with Zagat ratings in excess of 20 are easily within ten minutes drive. Further afield in New Orleans of course 24 points is more attainable with cuisine that rivals New York, Chicago or San Francisco. The only current minor inconvenience is the construction on the causeway one block from the hotel. It is not the noise but the access that may be delayed during peak hours. All of the staff are attentive and courteous, the workout area is nice and the views along the lakefront are nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottMetairie, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
It is great to know you have stayed at the New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway so often and found your stays to be consistently good. Thank you for your excellent review and dining recommendations for other guests. Our own Bistreaux Metairie offers delicious Creole favorites featuring fresh, local ingredients with a gourmet flare in a chic and contemporary ambiance and we are glad you agree. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    136
    78
    28
    25
See reviews for
91
82
18
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We booked our reservation by phone and specifically asked about the cancellation policy. We were told that as long as we cancelled 72 hours before check-in, there would be no penalty. Wouldn't you know it. We cancelled before noon, three days before check-in, and were charged anyway. Guess how helpful we found their dispute department? Go ahead, guess.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottMetairie, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your experience and for bringing this to our attention. We’re not sure of the terms and conditions for the rate that you received, but we sincerely regret if there was any miscommunication on our part. We invite you to contact us directly so that we may gain a better understanding to ensure that this situation is handled quickly. Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We previously stayed here on a visit to take care of some business as we own a home in New Orleans and needed a place to stay convenient. The second time we stayed was for the Endymion Ball during Mardi Gras 2012. Both instances we received terrible customer service. The ladies at the front desk were nice, but seemed overwhelmed. It took them over an hour to bring extra pillows for which I called at 10pm and we received a knock on the door at 1am. We have small children so this did NOT go over well. During this Mardi Gras season, the front was completely overwhelmed with people checking in. You would think that staffing would be increased due to Mardi Gras. We had to wait almost an hour past the standard check in time in a lobby that could have doubled for an airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irishson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottMetairie, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Hearing from our guests that their experience was not positive is truly regrettable. Providing superior service is of utmost importance and it is disappointing to learn that your experiences were anything less than that. We encourage our guests to let us know if there are any problems with their stay so that we may address the situation immediately. It is our goal to create a pleasurable and enjoyable visit for our guests. Your feedback is sincerely appreciated and we hope to have the opportunity in the future to win back your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed here 5 days not one issue. Great location. It was very quiet. Must say the jerk wings in the bar were too salty but the bartender took off our tab

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottMetairie, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your stay at the New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway. Many of our guests appreciate the tranquil surroundings as an escape from the hustle and bustle of the city and it’s great to know you enjoyed the accommodations as well. Your kind words are appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Pretty decent rooms (all are updated) for a full service Marriott, though definitely better Marriotts out there, but for a good location in Metairie and still close to the airport and downtown, you can't beat this one for the price (when $150 or less) and parking is cheap at this hotel - a rarity for NOLA hotels). Close to lots of shopping and dining establishments. A good executive level lounge but fitness facilities are lacking.

I wouldn't eat their restaurant, but they continue to put more money into it to make it better and so it does at least continue to improve - it's mediocre the last I ate there, but again, you're in New Orleans - there's plenty of places within 0.5 - 1.0 miles from the hotel.

A dependable Marriott in a good location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeLoveMangoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottMetairie, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Situated between the airport and the renowned French Quarter, the New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway provides convenient access to New Orleans popular attractions and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Bistreaux Metairie serves delicious Creole favorites using fresh, local ingredients with a gourmet twist and we would love to have the opportunity give you another taste of what so many of our guests rave about. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
831 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is a typical Marriott Inn until it comes to service. This one exceeded my expectations. The only negative is their parking lot it was very hard to find an empty spot.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottMetairie, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for your feedback and excellent review! It is our pleasure to provide our guests with the best of Southern hospitality and it was our pleasure to have you at the New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway. It is unfortunate that you experienced any difficulty while parking your vehicle. We offer valet parking services for your convenience and hope you'll consider this as an option to make your stay even more relaxing. We appreciate your kind words and hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here one night on Sugar Bowl weekend. It's in Metarie, halfway between Bourbon St and MSY airport and within one mile of a major mall. A nearby expressway goes right into New Orleans. Was rated by services at 3.5 stars but is easily a 4 star. Has hi def TV's, outstanding beds, classy and quiet building, robe in closet, and outstanding service. Be advised that parking is $10 a night in adjacent garage and wi-fi is another $13 a day. Beautiful views of Lake Ponchartrain but there's not much within walking distance. Breakfast off the menu was so-so, probably because it was a holiday weekend. Nevertheless, this is a deluxe property with outstanding service and deserves a higher rating. We wished we'd bid for three nights instead of only one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of Lake Pnchartrain
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfmccart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottMetairie, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Beautiful lake Ponchartrain certainly is a lovely view and we are glad you agree! It’s great to hear that your experience exceeded your expectations and we are flattered by your kind review. We hope you’ll visit us again soon and enjoy a longer stay with us at The Marriott New Orleans Metairie at Lakeway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Metairie hotels
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie (New Orleans)
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 22 in Metairie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Metairie New Orleans
1.7 mi away
Courtyard New Orleans Metairie
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Metairie New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway

Property: New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway
Address: 3838 N Causeway Blvd, Metairie, LA 70002-8194 (Formerly New Orleans Lakeside Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Metairie
#4 Business Hotel in Metairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury along the scenic shores of Lake Pontchartrain, at the New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway. Winner of the AAA Four Diamond Award and 2012 TripAdvisor Award of Excellence, we set higher standards of service for New Orleans. As Metairie's first full-service Marriott Hotel, we merge the grandeur of the past with the technology and comfort of today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans Metairie At Lakeway Hotel Metairie
Marriott Metairie
Metairie Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing