We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the Final Four, Someone forgot to tell the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Metairie
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“At the Final Four, Someone forgot to tell the hotel”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We spent four nights here during the Final Four at New Orleans. We ended up here because we like to stay at Marriott properties and this was the only one available when we booked in July of last year. Warning, do not stay at this property! I have never said that about a property, especially a Marriott, in my years of writing reviews. We paid special event prices for this property and were suppossed to have concierge level accommodations. What a laugh. Concierge level is 16, we were given level 11 without access to 16 until we complained. There was absolutely no acknowledgement that we were at the hotel for the tournament, unlike any other event hotel we have ever visited. Housekeeping was at best fair, front desk service was poor. We did not get our check out documents the prior evening before check out because "they were running behind". Our wake up calls were never entered correctly. I can go on and on but just a reminder. Do not stay at this property unless nothing else is available. By the way during our stay at least one of the three elevators was always "OUT OF SERVICE"

Room Tip: Stay Away From This Property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottMetairie, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Although disappointed, we are grateful for your review and feedback. We encourage our guests to share any concerns they might have during their visit so we can tend to any issues as they arise and we regret that we were not given the opportunity to do so during your stay. We will share your comments with our management team and use this opportunity to strengthen our commitment to providing the best in service to each and every guest. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    143
    84
    32
    26
See reviews for
99
87
18
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The positives about this hotel....price...free parking on weekends....inexpensive parking during week...the planters punch (drink in bar) excellent had two...macaroni and cheese excellent...typical Marriott rooms...sold out for Monday night but they were able to allow us to stay the extra night we requested.

I had read that the parking was a far walk or not convenient...this couldn't be further from the truth. The lot is just past the entrance of the hotel and the elevators go right into the hotel lobby. They only time the lot is full is during the weekday days, otherwise you can park on the second floor and be in the lobby in seconds. Parking is free on weekends and inexpensive during the week.

We were driving back and forth into New Orleans for the Final Four games and coaches meetings so we had to have a car. The secret to parking in New Orleans is to park at the Harrah's Casino garage. Go into the casino and sign up for the players club (it's free). Then play the nickle or penny slots, slowly, with your card inserted, or video poker machines for 30 minutes, and they will give you free parking for up to 24 hours worth of parking, otherwise finding parking during big events is VERY difficult and very expensive. In 4 days while we didn't win, we spent a grand total of $40 for parking which was $10 per day vs. $40 per day if we'd simply parked and not played. The restaurants in that area will also validate parking in that lot for a max of 4 hours.

Issues with this hotel...the concierge lounge which we used for breakfast and one evening was tiny. They were unprepared for the amount of people who were eating there on Monday morning (as the hotel was sold out for the Final Four). When we went to eat at 9AM there was basically no food left and there was only one person working who I felt sorry for because people were getting frustrated at no plates, no food etc. Seems like they should have either offered service in their restaurant to deal with the masses, or add some help.

The room we were in 1422, looked at New Orleans and we could see the lake sort of. It was fine, however the doors slamming around us were obnoxious. The doors close loudly, and it seemed to be happening at all times of the day and night. The rooms are typical Marriott rooms which is fine because you know what to expect.

Ashley helped us secure our additional night when we called on Monday morning before we had to move to another hotel for one night, which was much appreciated.

Overall, great property, quiet and great food in the restaurant, and great price. Easy to get from there to down town, and easy to get the airport for an early morning flight and return our rental car. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: higher is better (but only stayed once). Loud doors when they close, and thin walls, but since we on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HSRTheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottMetairie, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for highlighting the details of your recent trip for the Final Four and your stay at the New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway. We appreciate that you took the time to mention how convenient our location is, close to many New Orleans attractions, as well how helpful our staff was in securing an extra night’s stay. It is unfortunate, however, that sounds from other guests opening and closing doors was so prevalent and we hope that it did not disturb your rest too greatly. It has been our pleasure to have you as a guest and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stay at this Marriott frequently and a Platinum level... in othe rwords, I practically live at Marriott properties! I had asked for a view of the lake when I checked in this evening and told they had a room on the 12th floor. I could not believe my eyes when I looked out the window... all piping and structure (see pic). I asked for another room but they are 'full' and would try and change my room tomorrow. I have always liked this hotel and stay here whether I'm going downtown for business or up to Baton Rouge. Wow, they really need to educate the front desk personnel about the rooms... this is definitely not a lake view. Otherwise this is a wonderful place to stay and room service food is excellent!

Room Tip: Dont' stay on the 12th floor with the supposed lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryannwccTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottMetairie, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your comments and for being such a frequent Marriott guest. It is unfortunate that your overall experience was not what you had hoped. We regret any inconveniences you may have experienced. It is our goal to create the best possible stay for all of our guests and it is disappointing that we did not fully achieve this with you during this stay. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinton, LA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

New Orleans being the setting is already many, many strikes ahead... This hotel did a great job welcoming us there. The setting was nice, the room was clean and comfortable, and the service was Southern Charm at its best. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waslcajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottMetairie, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Southern charm at its best - what a wonderful compliment! Thank you for your review of the New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway. It brings us such joy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be so comfortable. We hope that you will visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I was at the hotel during St. Patty's day. The staff was outstanding and very professional. The rooms were very clean and was within several blocks of the French Quarter's area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghostwriter65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottMetairie, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled you found the New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway and our staff to be outstanding. Our guests are pretty fantastic too! Located just 7 miles from the French Quarter, we offer quick access to all of the New Orleans hotspots and we are glad you were able to take advantage of that. We hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stayed here 3 nights this week on business. Now, I am typically a frequent user of another worldwide hotel chain but due to business needs, I stayed here. I was not disappointed. This hotel was super quiet, which was a fantastic surprise. The room was large and the beds were very comfortable - I slept better here than I do at home. The staff was extremely nice and always willing to assist when needed. I did not dine here, so I cannot comment on food. The only reason this location doesn't get 5 stars is because of the parking. I know it's not really the hotel's fault but the parking deck is a nightmare. If you have to park on floor 4 or above, it seemingly takes forever to get out of the deck. In my opinion though, this isn't a deal breaker for this hotel. The quietness and comfort far outweigh a little parking frustration.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the lake - you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firemshll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottMetairie, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
We are delighted you chose to stay at the New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway for your recent business trip. A good night’s sleep in quiet accommodations can be so important when traveling and we are thrilled you enjoyed our Revive Bedding so much that you felt it was better than sleeping at home! It is regrettable if you experienced any frustration while parking and we do offer valet parking for the convenience of all guests. Thank you for your excellent review and recommendation. We would be happy to welcome you for your next trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I have stayed at this location several times over the past six months with consistent results. It is one of the few three plus star hotels in the Kenner/Metairie suburbs of New Orleans. It is very quiet and excellent for business travellers. The restaurant is average to above average and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. If local cuisine is your thing, steak, seafood, Italian or sushi with Zagat ratings in excess of 20 are easily within ten minutes drive. Further afield in New Orleans of course 24 points is more attainable with cuisine that rivals New York, Chicago or San Francisco. The only current minor inconvenience is the construction on the causeway one block from the hotel. It is not the noise but the access that may be delayed during peak hours. All of the staff are attentive and courteous, the workout area is nice and the views along the lakefront are nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottMetairie, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
It is great to know you have stayed at the New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway so often and found your stays to be consistently good. Thank you for your excellent review and dining recommendations for other guests. Our own Bistreaux Metairie offers delicious Creole favorites featuring fresh, local ingredients with a gourmet flare in a chic and contemporary ambiance and we are glad you agree. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Metairie hotels
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie (New Orleans)
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Metairie New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard New Orleans Metairie
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 22 in Metairie
559 reviews
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn New Orleans Metairie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway

Property: New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway
Address: 3838 N Causeway Blvd, Metairie, LA 70002-8194 (Formerly New Orleans Lakeside Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Metairie
#4 Business Hotel in Metairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury along the scenic shores of Lake Pontchartrain, at the New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway. Winner of the AAA Four Diamond Award and 2012 TripAdvisor Award of Excellence, we set higher standards of service for New Orleans. As Metairie's first full-service Marriott Hotel, we merge the grandeur of the past with the technology and comfort of today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans Metairie At Lakeway Hotel Metairie
Marriott Metairie
Metairie Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing