We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC steakhouse. ”

Austin's Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 513 Restaurants in Metairie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC steakhouse. ”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I had been told this place was very good by some friends, so I decided to drive to Metairie & give it a try.

Boy am I glad I did. The service is top notch. Danny, our server, went out of his way to make sure all our needs were met. The steaks were fabulous. Just a great steakhouse overall.

I can't wait to get back there

Helpful?
Thank localyokel1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Metairie, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfection at it's Finest”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Austin's Restaurant is one of my favorites in the Metairie area. The service and food are outstanding. Austin's steaks are also the best in the area. The Veal Austin, a delicious veal topped with crabmeat is an outstanding dish. It's defiantly a restaurant I would go back to again & again and will bring friends and family.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant with great food and service!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Austin's Restaurant has become one of my favorites in the New Orleans area. The service and food are outstanding. I have on several occasions had the Veal Austin, a delicious veal topped with crabmeat. The filets are also wonderful, as are the side dishes. A member of our dining party declared Austin's redfish special the best redfish he had ever had.

I'd choose Austin's over several other local steakhouses as the service and food are comparable, and the prices are lower.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rcsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is a place to celebrate a special evening”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Ambiance, piano bar, great food, waiter's in Tuxes, Priced Right! Can't go wrong. Consistently delivers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlNewhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT RESTAURANT”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Me and my husband was having a date night out and we made reservations for a Saturday night - we walked in and was immediately greeted & seated to our table. We had the Fried Green Tomatoes with Creole Crawfish Dill Sauce as our appetizer, which was different & tasted great. I had the Prime New York Strip Steak & Potatoes Augratin - which was absoultely AWESOME!! My husband had the Steak & Stuffed Lobster with Garlic Mashed Potatoes, he said the stuffed part of the lobster was GREAT but the other parts of the lobster needed seasoning - he said the steak & potatoes was GREAT!! We had the Banana Foster Cake - it was different, light & a great end to such a WONDERFUL dinner! We received some absoutely EXCELLENT service from our waiter! We would defiantly go back here again & next time bring friends and family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Austin's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Austin's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing