We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate but disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Metairie New Orleans
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Metairie
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adequate but disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I can't understand why there is this acceptance of poor hotels as the best the city can offer. I am born and raised in NOLA and have stayed in many hotels in this area and while this is one of the better options, it's still pretty rough compared to other cities. Our room smelled like body odor and there was a random charge of $43 on our bill. We left a VM for the manager and still no response after a week. (Same thing happened to my parents with an overcharge on their bill.) In general the rooms are adequate, plenty of space, clean comfy beds, clean bathrooms, etc. It's not a terrible choice, but you certainly aren't going to leave thinking it's the best place you've ever stayed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_Wo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen Y, General Manager at Sheraton Metairie New Orleans, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you very much, Jennifer, for the nice comments about your stay at our hotel - we are delighted that you found the rooms clean and comfortable! I am disappointed to hear that you had an issue with any billing charges on you bill. If there is anything that was not cleared up for you, please let me know and I will be happy to make sure that you and your parents concerns are quickly addressed!!! My email is Kathleen.young@sheratonmetairie.com and I will quickly respond to you. Again, thank you for staying with us and I look forward to hearing from you! Best regards, Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    104
    70
    32
    28
See reviews for
72
53
18
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The check-in process was fast and the front desk employees were very friendly. We had a reserved a club level room which is on the 7th floor. The room was spacious for my family of 4 with a refrigerator and free in room wifi. The room was very quiet and we didn't hear any noise from the hall or outside. The beds were average (firm) but not what I remember in a sweet sleeper bed. We found the pillows looked nice and fluffy, but did not provide enough support for our head and neck without doubling them up. The room temperature never seemed to cool down enough for us, but the in room thermostat did read 65. As others have mentioned, the room seemed clean, however you may not want to look under the beds as it might give you a surprise. Our room came with some rouge peanuts, dust bunnies and a pair of previously worn underpants. The bathroom does come with a magnified mirror with a light which was a great touch and water temp/pressure was great for a shower. The club level break table was nice. A free continental breakfast was served each morning along with Cokes, juice and Starbucks coffee (nice and strong) and afternoon snacks were also available. This is a nice touch after a day in the city. The attendants were very friendly and eager to meet any requests. As others have mentioned, the free parking (in a parking garage) was great with quick access into the hotel. There are a couple restaurants very close (try Chef Ron's Gumbo Stop) and shopping is not too far away on Veterans Blvd. (a Target is about 3 miles away and Macy's about 2 miles). Access to I-10 is very convenient and you can get to the airport or the French Quarter in about 20 minutes. We would stay again, but would hope that the hotel does consider upgrading the mattresses to softer pillow top.

Room Tip: Choose a club level room. It will cover free Cokes, juice and water. Plus a free continental break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen Y, General Manager at Sheraton Metairie New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking so much time to comment about your stay and we are delighted that you enjoyed the Club Level! As you mention, our location, just 6 miles from the French Quarter, especially with our free parking, really makes a visit to New Orleans very easy!! Please do come stay with us again and we will do our best to make you stay even better!!! Best regards, Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metairie, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

super cala fragilistic expialidocious....lol I really loved this hotel,very clean,spacious, nice staff,fast check in,even though the pool was kind of small well for my boyfriend because he is 6'6 but I'm 5'7 so I was good,quite even. Though it is a pet friendly environment I didn't hear any barking or other so over all great stay & might be back next weekend

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tootie2391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen Y, General Manager at Sheraton Metairie New Orleans, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for your nice comment!!! I am so glad yall had a great stay at Sheraton Metairie New Orleans Hotel!! The pool was certainly the place to be this past weekend in this heat and next weekend is going to be more of the same - so come on back, take advantage of our great weekend rates and get back in the pool!!!!! You might want to request a room on the 5th floor so you are close to the pool. We are delighted that you enjoyed our staff as much as we enjoyed having you with us! Hope to see you again very soon! All the best, Kathleen Young, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This used to be a good hotel in a quiet corner. but now fast going down the drain.
Stayed for one night in early May 2014. There were paper, bottle caps under bed. huge dark stains on the carpet between the beds. The pillows had giant yellow stains once you remove the pillow case. The bathroom shaving mirror light didn't work. The coffee pot was unplugged. There was no one to greet and take order in restaurant for breakfast (had to talk to someone at front desk). Once there, there was no OJ, the food was barely of acceptable standard. I wrote my feedback on sheraton website and hotel site and am yet to hear back after almost 3 months.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen Y, General Manager at Sheraton Metairie New Orleans, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Sir, we are so sorry that your concerns were not resolved as we thought they were after your stay in May. I look forwward to hearing back from you in the personal email sent to you today. Again, your impression of our hotel is most important to us and we wantt to make sure you think of us as your favorite place to be!! We look forward to another opportunity to provide a flawless stay during your next visit! Best regards, Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

A good hotel few miles from New Orleans airport and around 20min from NO city center. It's also close to Metairie shopping area. But if you are looking for NO night life keep in mind that you should drive a little.
The bedroom was well cleaned and very silent, though the high way was my window view. The bed and bed linens were comfortable and good quality. Staff was pleasant and helped me with some delivery.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneMMCampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen Y, General Manager at Sheraton Metairie New Orleans, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review! We are always pleased that our guests take the time to post that they enjoyed staying with us but it certainly means more from a guest who is a Top Contributor to Trip Advisor! Please let us know when you visit again so we can thank you in person for you remarks - we hope to see you again very sooin. Best regards, Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellenton, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I had to go to NOLA for a business meeting stayed at the Sheraton, what a nice surprise the staff was great. I called from the airport for the shuttle the driver was very friendly (Melany) and when I arrived the same was true of the rest of the staff very good people. The food at the hotel was also good. Thank You for the effort you place on serving your guest.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen Y, General Manager at Sheraton Metairie New Orleans, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
You made our day!! Thank you so much for your nice compliments! Today is our monthly all staff luncheon and your comment is just in time for Melanie to get a big round of applause!!! We love it when our guests feel our commitment to make every stay a great experience. We hope you will come visit again and thank you so much for letting us know we did it right!! All the best, Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is extremely convenient as it was just off I-10. I felt reasonably safe at this place. The rooms were decent. The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were relatively clean, just don't make the mistake that I made and looked too hard, then I realized that the bathroom could have been cleaned much better. I loved the fact that this place had free parking instead of paid parking like it's sister location in New Orleans. As long as the rooms are clean, and they keep the free parking, I would stay at this hotel again. One of the biggest issues for me was that the room did not come with a refrigerator or microwave. So, if you stay here and you go some where that you have a lot of food to eat, and you need to bring your leftovers back to the room, if you aren't planning to leave them on the table at the restaurant, you may as well try to eat all that you can because you will not have a place to store it in your room or reheat it if you need to. 2 thumbs down for that! But overall, our stay was decent. I will stay here again, as I said, if they keep the free parking. If the eliminate the free parking, then I will find some other place to stay and pay for parking where hopefully they will have a refrigerator and microwave. Regarding the service, all the staff were very pleasant and hospitable. If you are in town for one or two nights, this is a good place to stay because they have a shuttle for the airport and a few places within walking distance that have really good food. If I had to give this place a rating between 1 and 10, I would give it a 7.5. It's not the best hotel, and it's definitely not the worst hotel, hence why I couldn't give it a 10 and to rate it a 5 would be a little unfair, but not too unfair, especially since the bathroom appeared to be relatively clean on the surface. If you are not picky about that kind of stuff, then you may rate it a little higher than I did. If you find yourself staying here, let me know how you enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Get a corner room, away from the pool, so just in case a kid's softball team is staying at the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMDewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen Y, General Manager at Sheraton Metairie New Orleans, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks very much for taking so much time to write about your impressions of our hotel! I can see from all your 50 reviews that you take travel seriously!!! I wish you would have asked one of our staff about the microwave and refrigerator - we would have been happy to get one for your room!! Although we do not have them in every room, we do have a good supply and they are available at no charge by request. Just for future reference, we are adding refrigerators for every room later this summer so next time you visit, feel free to bring those leftovers back to the hotel and you will be all set!! And worry not - we will keep our free parking free!!! The attached garage, protected from the weather and free of charge is one of our guests favorite things about Sheraton Metairie!! Count on us to make your next stay flawless! Again, thank you for such a detailed review and for your kind remarks. We hope to see you again very soon!! Best regards, Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Metairie hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie (New Orleans)
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Ramada Metairie New Orleans Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 22 in Metairie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.6 mi away
New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway
0.1 mi away
Courtyard New Orleans Metairie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Metairie New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Metairie New Orleans

Property: Sheraton Metairie New Orleans
Address: 4 Galleria Blvd, Metairie, LA 70001-2081
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Metairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Metairie New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Metairie New Orleans Hotel offers luxurious accommodations with friendly guest service. From an upscale design to a staff who is focused on you, our hotel has everything you desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Metairie New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Metairie New Orleans Hotel Metairie
Metairie Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing