We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not impressed”
Review of Ernesto's Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ernesto's Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not impressed”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My wife loves this place. I have just never been impressed. The food is not bad but just ok. My impression is that they try to make Mexican fancy.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank wileym1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Twenty years ago, or even five, I would have given Ernesto's five stars. Apparently there has been a change in management / ownership. Our last three trips have been terrible. Would not have gone back after the first bad experience except they used to be so good that we kept giving them the benefit of the doubt. We will not be back any more. The quality of the food has gone to pot, the cheese dip is thin as water, and the place seems dirty. Our food was just lukewarm last trip.

Apparently our view is shared by many others. This restaurant used to be always packed. Our last few trips, vacant tables out numbered occupied tables about three to one.

Sorry to see this former landmark restaurant go.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eudora, Arkansas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great authentic”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Not your everyday TexMex type food- Very cozy and the food is great! Margaritas good too!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginningcotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Such a sad ending for a once great restaurant”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Disgusting is the only word I can come up with. Over the last year or so the quality of the food has changed a great deal, it is almost inedible. The restaurant itself is disgustingly filthy, tables, walls, floors, utensils, virtually everything in the building is spotted with food, grime and dirt. I can't imagine what the kitchen looks like, the ladies room was so bad that we didn't use it. Our entrees were all incorrect when they arrived but we had waited so long that we ate what we could and left, we certainly won't be back. Ernesto has been gone for many years but I know he would be humiliated at what this once great restaurant has become.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GC967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed 23 April 2010

My cheese enchiladas arrived very quickly - only with cold, congealed cheese in the middle. This isn't the worst Mexican restaurant in Monroe, but it's not very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ernesto's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing