We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view into the oil industry”

International Petroleum Museum and Exposition
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Morgan City
Attraction details
Saint Michael
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A view into the oil industry”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a tour of the first portable drilling platform, now used as a training center and for public tours. The tour gave an overview of the work of getting oil out from under the gulf and into the many LA refineries. We learned about the many jobs involved, and how the wells are drilled and maintained. We saw a robot used to work where the gulf is too deep for humans. Well worth a trip out from New Orleans - tours at 10 and 2. A small charge is collected after the tour, it was $10 for 2 seniors. I don't think this is handicap accessible - stairs but no elevators and raised door sills.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was one of the best tours we took on our trip to the US. Loved hearing all the stories and getting to know what living on an oil rig is like. Highly recommended for anyone visiting the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank matthijst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Highlight of Our Trip”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was the highlight of our trip to the Louisiana Coast. Since we knew nothing about offshore oil rigs, it's easy to say we learned a lot. Virgil was an outstanding guide -- his knowledge and stories are REAL ..... he was there! There was a class of roughnecks-in-training there at the time and we learned how valuable the rig is for training men to work offshore. Fascinating. I can't say enough about the "Mr. Charlie."

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Real oil rig!”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Virgil was a great tour guide. He was informative and knew his business. The oil rig is the original. Virgil will tell you the story of how it came to be built. It was worth the tie and money spent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TheRoswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The March 13 post had it right.”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This should be a 1 hour tour from an oil industry loyalist. The guide seems to know about drilling, but his flights of fancy ranging from German submariners refueling and resupplying in Morgan City during World War 2 ("people just thought they had funny boats") to the Deep Water Horizon "hoax" to "dolphin sized" lanternfish makes everything else he says questionable. It could be interesting as a 1 hour tour about off-shore drilling. Instead, the guide seemed to be a caricature of Louisiana---which has its own odd entertainment value, of course.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TomL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed International Petroleum Museum and Exposition also viewed

 

Been to International Petroleum Museum and Exposition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing