We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Will Be Back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madewood Plantation House
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We Will Be Back”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The only thing we would want to change about our visit to Madewood was how long we stayed. Our stay was far too short. We drove away making plans to come back some time in the future.

The building is magnificent!! However, if you don't want old, don't bother. Everything from the furnishings (with the signs "Fragile" on them) to the moldings in every room spoke of a time long gone. The only thing not old was the mattress that we slept on. It was comfortable and comforting to sleep under the beautiful canopy in the Master Bedroom. We heard no noise from the road, by the way. Drinking coffee Sunday morning on the front gallery was wonderful. We listened to the rain, relaxed, and enjoyed each other.

The only thing better than the building and the warm welcome from the owner, Mr. Marshall, and his dog Cleo was Angie and her cooking. Dinner and breakfast were wonderful. Cornbread, pear jam, biscuits, fritata, everything was delicious. Needless to say I cleaned my plate (except for the grits...sorry Angie). And Angie's flexibility was greatly appreciated as well.

If you want the opportunity for a step into the past, but maintain the comforts of home and be well feed, you need look no further than Madewood Plantation.

Thank you, Angie for a wonderful stay!! KOK, Salt Lake City, UT

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellysQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR1819, Owner at Madewood Plantation House, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We recall with pleasure the writer's visit and are delighted she enjoyed her stay at Madewood.

I would emphasize that guests use all the furnishings at Madewood, with the exception of the suite of Meeks furniture in the Music Room, a delicate rarity (another set is in the American Wing of the Metropolitan Museum in New York) and two children's' chairs that adults sometimes are tempted to sit in.

We want everyone to enjoy the total ambiance at Madewood. It is their home for the evening.

Keith Marshall
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    25
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Madewood was a little difficult to find, but well worth the trip. My husband and I wanted to spend a night in a plantation home and Madewood was an excellent choice. We met several couples during the wine and cheese portion of the evening it was served in a lovely parlor off the dining room. Dinner was served by candlelight and the food was exceptional! After dinner we returned to the parlor for brandy and coffee and were entertained by Keith as he told many interesting stories. We were not able to stay for breakfast. The only improvements I could suggest, since it was a chilly evening it would have been nice to have a fire in the beautiful fireplace when we returned to our room. We stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was beautiful. Since we had to leave early we had made prior arrangements to have juice and biscuits brought to the room at 7:30 there was some miss-communication and we had to leave without any breakfast. Still enjoyed our visit very much and would return again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REW135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR1819, Owner at Madewood Plantation House, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
I recall with great pleasure our visit with these delightful guests, and the stimulating conversation in the parlor after dinner. Everyone at Madewood is delighted that they enjoyed their stay with us.

We are completely at fault for not having logs available the honeymoon room. They should have been there when the guests arrived; and we were so engaged in conversation after dinner that we inadvertently forgot to provide them. We sincerely apologize for this oversight

We have a sign in each room listing cell phone numbers for Angie, myself and our groundskeeper, Warren. We are available to meet guests' requests at anytime night or day; and we would have been happy to remedy our oversight and bring logs to their room if they had called us.

I sincerely regret that the guests' departure earlier than they had indicated to us prevented their having breakfast with us. It was understood that the guests had to leave by 8 a.m., and that we would provide a continental breakfast for them in their room before that time.

Shortly after 7:30 a.m., the writer appeared at the kitchen door and informed us that they wanted to get on the road and that they did not require breakfast. Their orange juice, fresh fruit and tea were ready, and the biscuits were coming out of the oven. We invited them to sit down in the dining room, assuring them that all items would be out in a moment, but they again said they really didn't need the breakfast, that they would prefer get on the road. The conversation was very pleasant, and we wished them a safe and happy journey.

We are so sorry that they were disappointed; but I must say that I enjoyed the biscuits myself, as we could put them out for other guests when formal breakfast was served later at 8:30!

Respectfully submitted,
Keith Marshall, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This is a special place and a real gem that I hope will be here for a long time to come. If you take the time to get to know the place and the people you will realize how nice it is. It is in need of a bit of maintenance right now, but it is clear that the work has been ongoing since the hurricane. If I could, I would stay here for a week to really relax. And, what a treat to be able to have dinner and breakfast: both of which are delightful. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My brother and I stayed on 11/12/13, I wish we could have stayed longer, but we were under time constraints.. We arrived and were greated warmly and told wine and cheese would be at 6:00PM, dinner at 6:30 which we had no idea as it was a bed and breakfast we were pleasantly surprised also it was included in the price. cocktail and dinner were wonderful we met several very nice people and had a wonderful time.the food was excellent and service impeccable. the bedrooms were clean and comfortable, at 8 Am the staff brought us coffee to our room and breakfast was at 8:30AM,which again was excellent.I can not say enough good about angie and her staff.I am certainly going back again as soon as is possible

Room Tip: all rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

So authentic , so period , so well done you would think you were in the antebellum time. It felt like we were in the movie gone with the wind. The dinner was a five star meal and the only b&b that served a dinner meal! No tv, no phone, no computer, can't get much better.

Room Tip: All are very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houma, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I decided to have a small but formal wedding with a few close friends and family. We chose Madewood from our past visits to the plantation home. The setting on the bayou and the grounds were outstanding. Although we only had about 20 guests, the house can accommodate many more. The staff was very helpful during the planning and ceremony. They made everything flow without any problems. We would highly recommend the house for any type of ceremonies or dinner parties and a sleep over would top off any occasion.
We enjoyed the Madewood setting so much that after our Church ceremony later during the year we held the reception at the plantation house with 60 plus in attendance. We definitely give it TWO thumbs up!
Charles & Christa Prather
Houma, Louisiana

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honey Grove, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

There is something magical about the Madewood and having the opportunity to explore the whole house. The elegance of dinner, after dinner coffee and brandy and breakfast the next morning was perfect. My husband who is not fond of veggies actually ate his yams.
I wish we had more time to explore beyond the garden but we will be back. Next time we will just skip New Orleans and just stay at the Madewood. Thank you Angie and Keith.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napoleonville
20.7 mi away
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Nottoway Plantation Resort
#1 of 1 in White Castle
973 reviews
13.9 mi away
Carmel Inn and Suites
Carmel Inn and Suites
#1 of 5 in Thibodaux
325 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thibodaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
#2 of 6 in Donaldsonville
62 reviews
12.2 mi away
Legacy Suites Donaldsonville / Saint James Parish
12.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Donaldsonville
Red Roof Inn Donaldsonville
#5 of 6 in Donaldsonville
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madewood Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madewood Plantation House

Property: Madewood Plantation House
Address: 4250 Highway 308, Napoleonville, LA 70390-8737
Region: United States > Louisiana > Napoleonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Napoleonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madewood Plantation House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Madewood Plantation House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madewood Plantation House Hotel Napoleonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing