We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Setting - Splendid Views!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Starlight Plantation
Ranked #11 of 23 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 November 2011

It didn’t take us long to realize that we were in for a treat, as we gazed upon the expanse of river before us. This B&B is situated in a bend of the Cane River and the view is spectacular. A long span of nicely done, covered, wooden decking stretches from one end to the other, on the river side, and an artistically designed staircase winds down, around a huge tree, past a firepit, then on to a covered fishing dock. There’s a “common area” with a full size frig, microwave & bar, where breakfast is served. Both guestrooms have large windows to take advantage of the views. Pictures do not do this place justice – because it’s so panoramic. Peace and privacy abounds, as we sipped wine from a cypress swing and shared our own personal hot tub. Susan, the hostess, couldn’t have been more personable and she’s also an excellent cook. Don’t miss this B&B – it was truly a pleasure to experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cypress Room, which was quite large and comfortable. In the future, If we traveled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

We had read about the history of Natchitoches and the plantations and wanted to combine history tours, shopping and food. Starlight Planation is a great place touse as home base. We stayed for three nights and had an absolutely great time. The owner, Susan is very knowledgeable about the area and her recommendations for places to eat were spot-on! The hot tub was a great way to relax after long days visiting the plantations and historic downtown and the view from the deck was great morning and night. Coffee is at your door when you wake up and breakfast is served at the time you request. We were so relaxed we didn't want to leave and you can be sure we will go back to Starlight Plantation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This was a Wonderful Bed and Breakfast! Everything from the decor to the rustic setting to our hostess was Absolutely Perfect!! We were made to feel like members of her family. We had a Fantastic time here. This B & B is not one of the biggest ones downtown but I promise you it more than makes up for that. I would 100% Highly Reccomend this Bed and Breakfast to Everyone!!! :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This a great way to get away for a short trip. The river is beautiful. All we did was sit out on the deck, drink a few beers, grill steaks, and soak in the hot tub. About a 10 min drive to front street, with traffic. Breakfast was GREAT, and you get it when you want it. I always skip the breakfast at B&B's becuase i hate to get up early on vacation. Susan was a great hostess. Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimsellers111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We arrived Sat. afternoon & left Tues. morning. We didn't want to leave.
Susan is an unbelievable hostess.
Breakfast was marvelous and you pick the time you want it served.
When you go, listen to the suggestions that Susan gives you for things to do and places to eat.
We set on the deck most of the day Monday. We visited with each other (2 couples) and Susan and Tut would stop by once and awhile for a visit.
If you need a break from reality this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcatlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

My Wife and I spent two wonderful days at the Starlight Plantation, what a great find for us it was a little slice of heaven. Ms Susan is a terrific hostess, great personality, and someone you can call a freind when you leave. Ms Susan can tell you where the best places are to eat, the best attractions, or you can relax and fish off of her dock. The Starlight Plantation has some amazing views and is so tranquil, you may want to just stay there and relax in the hot tub, and watch the lazy river. She has coffee at your door, every morning, and a hearty breakfast for you just a short while later, so you can start your day with a full belly. We stayed in the Cedar Room, it has a beautiful view of the Cane River, just an awesome room. Ms Susan thank you again for such a wonderful couple of days....

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

The B&B is very calming; you can sit outside on the porch in chairs or swing in the
hanging swing and watch the water of the Cane River! The hot tub can either be
hot or cool--depending on the outside air; the one with the suite is large enough
to exercise in! The breakfasts are made with love by Susan, the owner; they are
scrumptous with enough food for the heartiest of eaters!

Go and enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spepathjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
5.5 mi away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
77 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
394 reviews
8.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
#2 of 15 in Natchitoches
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
5.4 mi away
Church Street Inn
Church Street Inn
#6 of 23 in Natchitoches
143 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sweet Cane Inn
Sweet Cane Inn
#7 of 23 in Natchitoches
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Plantation

Address: 2228 Highway 494, Natchitoches, LA 71457-2902
Region: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing