We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a special place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Starlight Plantation
Ranked #10 of 23 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Eunice, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This place is awesome! It is inconspiculously situated adjacent to the owner's home. You can easily pass it up (as I did). On the second pass I noticed the small lettering on the mailbox. Upon entering, the expanse of nicely finished wood floors and walls. A wonderful "common area", where breakfast is served, houses a full size fridge, with bottled water and cold drinks, a wet bar, and a microwave. This whole area is made entirely of wood and glass. I am actually not a big fan of real wood but this is impressive. Enough about the wood. The ambiance is what this place is all about. A beautiful place up on the bank of the river, with multilevel decks going down to the river. Jaccuzzi on the balcony is very private. The place is spotless, small,
(2 spacious suites), very personal attention. The perfect place for an anniversary or any relaxing, romantic weekend. The town is low key with a great downtown strip to browse shops with nice restaurants.

Room Tip: Cedar suite has 2 bedrooms and a less private but larger jaccuzzi. The Cypress Room is a spacious d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
River Ridge, LA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

It didn’t take us long to realize that we were in for a treat, as we gazed upon the expanse of river before us. This B&B is situated in a bend of the Cane River and the view is spectacular. A long span of nicely done, covered, wooden decking stretches from one end to the other, on the river side, and an artistically designed staircase winds down, around a huge tree, past a firepit, then on to a covered fishing dock. There’s a “common area” with a full size frig, microwave & bar, where breakfast is served. Both guestrooms have large windows to take advantage of the views. Pictures do not do this place justice – because it’s so panoramic. Peace and privacy abounds, as we sipped wine from a cypress swing and shared our own personal hot tub. Susan, the hostess, couldn’t have been more personable and she’s also an excellent cook. Don’t miss this B&B – it was truly a pleasure to experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cypress Room, which was quite large and comfortable. In the future, If we traveled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We had read about the history of Natchitoches and the plantations and wanted to combine history tours, shopping and food. Starlight Planation is a great place touse as home base. We stayed for three nights and had an absolutely great time. The owner, Susan is very knowledgeable about the area and her recommendations for places to eat were spot-on! The hot tub was a great way to relax after long days visiting the plantations and historic downtown and the view from the deck was great morning and night. Coffee is at your door when you wake up and breakfast is served at the time you request. We were so relaxed we didn't want to leave and you can be sure we will go back to Starlight Plantation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wylie, Texas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

This was a Wonderful Bed and Breakfast! Everything from the decor to the rustic setting to our hostess was Absolutely Perfect!! We were made to feel like members of her family. We had a Fantastic time here. This B & B is not one of the biggest ones downtown but I promise you it more than makes up for that. I would 100% Highly Reccomend this Bed and Breakfast to Everyone!!! :)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

This a great way to get away for a short trip. The river is beautiful. All we did was sit out on the deck, drink a few beers, grill steaks, and soak in the hot tub. About a 10 min drive to front street, with traffic. Breakfast was GREAT, and you get it when you want it. I always skip the breakfast at B&B's becuase i hate to get up early on vacation. Susan was a great hostess. Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimsellers111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

We arrived Sat. afternoon & left Tues. morning. We didn't want to leave.
Susan is an unbelievable hostess.
Breakfast was marvelous and you pick the time you want it served.
When you go, listen to the suggestions that Susan gives you for things to do and places to eat.
We set on the deck most of the day Monday. We visited with each other (2 couples) and Susan and Tut would stop by once and awhile for a visit.
If you need a break from reality this is the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcatlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

My Wife and I spent two wonderful days at the Starlight Plantation, what a great find for us it was a little slice of heaven. Ms Susan is a terrific hostess, great personality, and someone you can call a freind when you leave. Ms Susan can tell you where the best places are to eat, the best attractions, or you can relax and fish off of her dock. The Starlight Plantation has some amazing views and is so tranquil, you may want to just stay there and relax in the hot tub, and watch the lazy river. She has coffee at your door, every morning, and a hearty breakfast for you just a short while later, so you can start your day with a full belly. We stayed in the Cedar Room, it has a beautiful view of the Cane River, just an awesome room. Ms Susan thank you again for such a wonderful couple of days....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
5.5 mi away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Natchitoches Inn
BEST WESTERN Natchitoches Inn
#4 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
8.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
#3 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sweet Cane Inn
Sweet Cane Inn
#8 of 23 in Natchitoches
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Plantation

Property: Starlight Plantation
Address: 2228 Highway 494, Natchitoches, LA 71457-2902
Region: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing