We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsiderate seating practice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mariner's

Mariner's
Ranked #5 of 63 Restaurants in Natchitoches
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Louisiana
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Inconsiderate seating practice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Decent food, really great service, awesome sky and water view, perhaps worth the high prices.

But when you arrive a bit ahead of standard dinner time on a weeknight and the place is deadly quiet with only one other couple there and the hostess tries to slap you down at a table three feet away from the other couple so that the two of us and the two of them can practically hear each other breathe, we consider that a hard slap to the face since no one enjoys that ... you can't enjoy your night out with mate much if you can't even chat quietly without feeling overly intimate with the other couple, what with the four of us practically on stage for each other.

When I asked the hostess to move us away just a bit, with a bit of huff and chill she said she could only move us over one table because they only had one server, as if I expected to be moved an acre away. That's fine, I said, and thanked her warmly, but this was met with more huff and chill.

By the way, there were two servers, a very capable, gracious and wonderful server who left nothing unattended to, and a pleasant, also capable, new young server he was training. They managed to serve us extremely well, even though they had to take perhaps five extra steps to do so than if we had been sitting on top of the other couple.

You know, in a crowded, noisy restaurant, we don't at all mind being seated very near others since a high level of pleasant convivial noise is not only festive feeling, it also allows you a kind of cocoon for private conversation. But it's just downright rude to jam two couples close together inside the morgue-like silence of an empty restaurant, and I'm sick and tired of being nice about restaurants doing it, especially when the fare is costly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank papertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    67
    21
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baker, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice view of Sibley Lake”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was my first visit to Mariner's. I was with a girlfriend having an early dinner. We had a great table by a window that provided a fantastic view of the lake, but the sun was setting and burning through that window, and the air conditioning was insufficient. Our waitress was very friendly, but not very helpful with the menu. The table next to us asked the difference between Jambalaya and Étouffée and she could not answer. That should be easy for anyone working in a Louisiana restaurant. The food was tasty and seasoned well, but in my opinion over priced. We only had entree's and water and our bill was over 60$

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhondette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice place to dine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We arrived around 7:00 p.m. on a Monday evening to find that there were few patrons. We figured it must be because it was the beginning of the work week. Yet, when we left around 8:45 p.m. most of the tables were filled. The food was excellent. The portions were so large that the three of us chose not to select desserts even though the crème brulee and chocolate molten lava cake seemed to be calling. Our server was delightful. He was attentive and quite respectful. Perhaps we reminded him of his mom. We tried the Tilapia Supreme, Coho Salmon, and Grilled Gulf Shrimp paired with twice baked potatoes, salads, crawfish soup, and a shared appetizer of fried alligator (tasted like chicken.).
If you are on vacation make plans to dine there during the week. We heard the place is packed on the weekends. All the views of the river/lake seemed to be good but our table by a corner window made the evening special.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sieper, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Maybe we caught them on an off night.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Let me say that the food was very good. The staff was subpar. The busboys were talking back and forth across the room as they cleared tables. It was distracting and their conversation was not job appropriate. Our waitress seemed to forget about us several times. At a bill that was well over $100 dollars for two people (no appetizer), I was very disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndp79
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food & good view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We drove through Natchitoches on our way home from Dallas. I had eaten here before, so we decided to eat a nice meal rather than grab something quick. We asked to sit outside because the weather was nice. That was perfect because we had been cooped up in a car all day. Our kids were able to walk around & stretch their legs while we enjoyed the view. We saw some really big catfish in the lake & watched a beautiful sunset while waiting on our food!

We loved everything we ordered & the portions were large - esp the kids plates. We had boudin, gumbo, twice baked potato, fried shrimp, a huge kids burger, kids fried shrimp & kids fried fish, and the brownie & ice cream for dessert. It was all fabulous & we will stop there again next time we are passing through! I would like to try the bread pudding or pecan pie next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank npittman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mariner's also viewed

 

Been to Mariner's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing