We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Held up for "ransom"”

Days Inn Natchitoches
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Natchitoches
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Natchitoches
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Held up for "ransom"”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

On a spur of the moment, empty-nester's excursion we swung through Natchitoches for a couple days. We always travel with our very well-behaved German Shepherd but the first few hotels we stopped at didn't accept pets. Rather than continue from property to property, we reluctantly caved in and took a room at the Days Inn - quite unhappily we were charged a very hefty $35 pet fee. Interestingly enough, they had a sign posted which indicated that a pet fee was charged "if necessary". When we inquired about that, the very young, inexperienced (but nice) desk clerk said that she has previously been asked about the sign and it should be changed because the room receipt states it's a non-refundable fee. We had just spent 2 nights at a brand new Holiday Inn Express in Jefferson TX and they didn't charge us a dime extra for our dog and the base rate was almost the same.

Unfortunately we later discovered the lovely Jefferson Inn B&B right on the river within walking distance of the historic downtown, accepts pets (even large ones) at NO EXTRA CHARGE so that would have cost us less than the subpar Days Inn.

The staff was nice, but it was definitely an older property and all that implies, which does not warrant that type of pet fee. We won't be staying at a Days Inn again....

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, get a room on the 1st floor pool side - the stairs are in awful condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texantrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    42
    35
    22
    20
See reviews for
58
32
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Disabled access room was horrible. Things placed high up. Shower was moldy and uncaulked. Sink was falling apart, Workers running down the stairs and across balconies at 6 am was a lovely wake up call. UGH! WORKERS and BIG RIGS PARKED IN DISABLED PARKING ILLEGALLY and management, when called, did NOTHING. For $94 a night, I expect a hell of a lot more than this. ONLY good things were the heater in the room worked and the bed was soft. Oh and they give you 2 top sheets and a blanket, REALLY? It's 30 degrees outside. Wear your shoes to go to the bathroom too, since they don't mop the floors. YUCK

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaiya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
days5135, Manager at Days Inn Natchitoches, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
We are very sorry that your stay was anything less than perfect. Sometimes the guest is the only why we learn about things wrong in the room. These items you have brought to our attention have been fixed.
We use the triple sheets on our beds which is 2 flat sheets and one fitted. Between the 2 top sheets is a blanket which does keep you warm at night. We feel that guest appreciate this more, they are able to see no stains and clean sheet since in most hotels you never know when the last time the bed spreads had been washed.
The workers we have at the hotel are just here making a living for their family. I am sorry that they woke you at 6 in the morning, but they do have to work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Natchitoches hotels

San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Everyone at this hotel is friendly as can be. Pool is crystal clear and especially like the little gazebo area to relax in the afternoon. Can't say enough about how polite the staff is.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseydawn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
days5135, Manager at Days Inn Natchitoches, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your review and next time your in the area we would enjoy your company again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

This hotel has been taken over by Mexican workers. They are flocking there for the cheap rates and trashing the place and are loud and stealing from vehicles in the parking lot. I had tools stolen out of my truck. Could not sleep due to drunk mexicans outside all nite. The room was hot and dirty. No Military discount, The desk clerk was rude and the breakfast choices were cereal with no milk or toast with no butter. This place is a dump and shouldnt be allowed to carry the Days Inn name.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Todco250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delattet
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We stopped at the Days Inn on the way to Baton Rouge at 2am in the morning we had been up almost 24 hrs and I couldn't make it another 4 more hrs. We should have stayed at the rest area it would have been cleaner. We got our room and told the clerk we would be out by 7am any discounts for active duty military? No. It was gross the sheets and room was dirty, but when you are tired you don't care. My husband woke up to take a shower and when he got in it he was so disgusted with the shower curtain was covered in mold and it smelled so bad there. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL EVER. So we went to the front desk and told the girl on duty she apologized and we asked to talk to the manager at this moment the OWNER walked in Mr.Jerry Sharpin my husband asked him if he was the owner and he said he was then my husband told him about the mold and how the room was not very clean he didn't even look at my husband said we will take care of it. Now if I was the owner I would have been embarrassed and offered a refund. It was as if he had heard it all before and didnt care I made sure I got his name and made sure I spelled it right. Heres to you Mr. Sharpin shame on you.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank delattet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
#4 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
4.6 mi away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#9 of 15 in Natchitoches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
#3 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Natchitoches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Natchitoches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Natchitoches

Property: Days Inn Natchitoches
Address: 5135 University Pkwy, off Interstate 49 at exit 138, Natchitoches, LA 71457-7169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Natchitoches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Natchitoches 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you travel for business or pleasure, the Days Inn - Natchitoches is the ideal place to stay. We are located directly off Interstate 49 at exit 138 and we sit only six miles from historic downtown Natchitoches. Natchitoches is the oldest settlement in the Louisiana Purchase and is full of history and culture. Natchitoches is known for its spectacular Christmas Festival held the 1st weekend of December. Fireworks and Christmas lights are available every weekend in December through New Years Day. The Days Inn is within walking distance of several restaurants including various fast food options. We offer an outdoor swimming pool, wired and wireless high speed internet, and beautiful accommodations. Come let our friendly and professional staff make your stay the best it can be. Please be advised that the Days Inn Natchitoches is an Oil Field Friendly Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Natchitoches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing