We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food & Service GREAT!”

Mama's Oyster House
Ranked #6 of 64 Restaurants in Natchitoches
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food & Service GREAT!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We visited later in the evening and sat at the bar. The food was delicious and the drink selection was pretty good!!! The service was amazing!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank linzk1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    78
    47
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Not bad”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Went for a quick lunch during our walk through the adorable town. The service was very pleasant, however a bit slow. I am from New York though and just in town for a week, so in may have a bit of a skewed opinion of service speed. We had a chicken wrap, spinach and artichoke dip, and crab cake. The first two were good, the crab cakes were terrible. Not fresh crab at all. Nice atmosphere though, overall not a bad lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montalba, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The staff and food were great. I went at dinner on a Saturday. I had fried pickle spears and the Cane River Catfish. The portions were large and I had enough to carry back for a second meal. The waitress was friendly and attentive. The spices and sauce complemented the fish very well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ESHigginbotham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I had the fried catfish. It was the worst tasting fish I have ever tried to eat. The hush puppies and french fries were dry as if they were saved from the day before and microwaved. this is supposed to be one of the best places in town to eat but it is not.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lmj040408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, but too much to save.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The food and service were GREAT. Only problem was - we were there for only 1 night and did not have a way to save any of our food. The portions were just HUGE, really enough for 2 - 3 people. Had to stop eating - couldn't take thefood with me, couldn't save it. Be aware - if you are not a big eater, order your dinner to share with another diner.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Texasbutterfly56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama's Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing