We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Honeymoon Destination”
Review of Sweet Cane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sweet Cane Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I went for a mini honeymoon and found the inn keeper really sweet and she had chocolate chip cookies and wine when we arrived. We stayed in the Magnolia room but it was really small for two people and really lacked a view but the owners, John and Kathy, were so friendly and my husband and John hit it off and had a lot to talk about as they knew a lot of the same people. Breakfast was fantastic and much more than we had expected. We were close to Front Street and the shopping was fun. We plan to go back in the near future.

Room Tip: Second floor is great but the rooms on the front have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife, another couple, and myself took off for a little get away and stayed this fantastic bed and breakfast. John and Kathy are the owners and they are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. The breakfast was fabulous and exceeded our expectations. They also have a restaurant just down the road called Maglios. They served one of the best Ribeyes you have ever tasted.

Room Tip: The oleander room was the old master bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I planned a quick Mother/Daughter getaway to Natchitoches and scheduled two nights at the Sweet Cane Inn. I was amazed at how the owners had restored the house in keeping with the original design. No details were overlooked. We had the Oleander, Azalea and Magnolia rooms on the second floor. Each room had it's own bathroom which is a big plus. Kathy is the best hostess ever. She made warm cookies for us every afternoon and had chilled wine in the evening when we returned. The breakfast was amazingly good with lots of options to choose from including French toast, Cheesecake Pancakes, eggs, sausage and more. They also have a restaurant "Maglieaux's" just a block away from the inn. We ate there the first night and the food was great. The portions were generous and since we were staying at the inn, we got a free appetizer. We didn't know what we wanted to see or where to start so Kathy recommended a local tour guide, Barbara Bailey, who would ride along with you and tell you the history of many of the old homes, churches, etc. She made our trip so much better because of her knowledge of the Steel Magnolias movie which was filmed in town. We watched the movie again that evening with new eyes. The Inn has a large library of DVD's and players in each room. The southern hospitality shown to us really made us feel like we were a part of their family and right at home. This would also be a great place for a family reunion since there is a lot of open space on the first floor and rocking chairs on the front porch. Thank you so much Kathy for making our stay outstanding!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PossumValleyBrndr643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Fantastic! Beautiful! Awesome owners!! Close to historic downtown! We had appetizers and drinks at Maglieux on the Cane and it was great! We did not have a place to stay for the night...the employees told us the the owners had a B and B a few blocks away....loved it!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BloomsburyFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a relaxing time with good food, great company, and awesome location Sweet Cane Inn is the place! Owners John and Kathy are southern hospitality at its best. They go above and beyond to ensure your stay is everything you could imagine and more. Located within waking distance to historic sites dining and shopping you couldn't ask for a better place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nona71457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Loved the Sweet Cane Inn! We were there for the Christmas Light Festival and could not have picked a better place to stay. The Owners, John & Kathy Richmond are masters at the bed & breakfast ideal. The house is warm and cozy. Spotless and so comfortable. There are main areas that guests are welcome to relax in as well. The rooms are tastefully decorated and do not look like your grandma's bedroom as in some b&bs (sorry Grandma). Beds & linens are plush and soft. Bathrooms are modern and clean. Parking on site. Convenient walk to everything in the town and an easy drive to the outer plantation site. Breakfast is a hot, freshly cooked meal served buffet style and there is a "happy hour" in the afternoon with wine & pastries. The day we left, we had to leave prior to breakfast being ready and the owner made us a wonderful hot meal prior to departure. The perfect host.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We arrived on December 31, 2013. We came to watch the New Years Eve fireworks. We were not disappointed.
John and Kathy provide wine and snacks every afternoon. This makes it so the guests can meet and get to know one another. Much better than briefly saying hello.
We recommend this B&B and will come back again.
The only thing that was not perfect is the pillows. So bring your own.

Room Tip: We were in the Magnolia room. If it had been warmer we could have enjoyed the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebcat1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
84 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
401 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
#2 of 15 in Natchitoches
131 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
#3 of 15 in Natchitoches
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Church Street Inn
Church Street Inn
#6 of 23 in Natchitoches
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Cane Inn

Address: 926 Washington St, Natchitoches, LA 71457-4730
Region: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Price Range: £89 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Cane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant, century old Victorian home, Sweet Cane Inn welcomes you to relax and enjoy the comfort and hospitality that will certainly set the standard for your visit to historic Natchitoches for years to come.Sweet Cane Inn was built for Congressman Phanor Breazeale in the late 1800's. Among its many unique features, Sweet Cane Inn's stately presence boasts of 12 foot ceilings, 11 fireplaces, and a wall of stained glass windows at the top of the stairs which curve and lead to seven beautifully spacious rooms and suites. Conveniently located in the heart of Natchitoches' Landmark Historic District, Sweet Cane Inn is within walking distance of beautiful Front Street, a brick thoroughfare where wrought iron balconies, restaurants, shops and attractions face beautiful Cane River Lake. Guests enjoy nearby fort sites, museums, and year around cultural events and festivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Sweet Cane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing