We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average restaurant with above average view”

Cane River Bar and Grill
Ranked #12 of 63 Restaurants in Natchitoches
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cane River Bar & Grill specializes in BBQ, steaks, and seafood. We cook. You eat. It's that simple.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average restaurant with above average view”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Food-Wise, nothing exciting. OK muffaletta sandwich (I've had better), OK meat pies (I've had much better empanadas). But the seating at the back on the porch over looking Cane River is very picturesque. So all in all, a worthwhile stop on a trip through the city.

One minor gripe: on parking in front of the restaurant we were overwhelmed by on odor of rotting garbage. They need to empty the dumpster more often, or at least move it somewhere else. Not a problem inside or on the back porch, though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Have a seat out back.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

When the weather is just right you can sit out back overlooking the river. The view makes up for any shortcomings otherwise.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheryl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fun place, ok food.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have been here three times. The food was never better than average but the service has been very good! last night Haley took great care of us despite the fact the kitchen cranked out one burnt burger, a bad looking chicken plate, a cold order of Etoufee and another burger that was ordered with avocado bacon and cheese that had none of the above. The good thing is that the waitress was soooo nice we will be back for another go at it! This is s fun place but the food can be better. I hope next time it is.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Be aware of what you are ordering”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Boxed Mac and Cheese! Bacos on the salad. Margarine instead of butter. The steaks are almost. $26 and the potatoes are reheated.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2TravelWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Best service ever!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was recommended Cane River Bar and Grill by the hotel I am staying at. The restaurant is a small place with a beautiful patio overlooking the Cane River. Spectacular view! I sat inside though - it was pretty cool outside. India was my waitress and she was hands down the best server I have ever had! She made the best suggestions and was very attentive. She suggested I get the New Zealand Steak (100% grass fed angus). Oh my! Cooked to perfection! I was very full, but she talked up the pumpkin crunch so much that I had to take one Togo. Wow! Amazing!!! I will definetly be back! Thanks India for a great experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielBlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cane River Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cane River Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing