We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 24 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I just got back from a weekend at Violet Hill with 2 friends. We went to Natchitoches for a reunion, of sorts, and stayed at this lovely home. We had the top floor suite and it was beautiful. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was nice, and the sofa pullout air mattress was perfect. The house is beautiful and located within walking distance to downtown - tons of restaurants and shops. The back yard of the home is amazing. The porch is so nice and there are blankets, shawls, and OFF! spray for bugs at dusk. The deck leads out to the river and there is ample space down there for coffee in the morning or a full luncheon. The views were breathtaking. The innkeeper, Charles, make breakfast both mornings we were there. Day one started with raspberry white chocolate bread pudding, followed by rosemary potatoes, a honey biscuit, a crustless quiche with sausage, onions, cheese, and stewed tomato gravy, and fresh tomato slices. Day two started with a strawberry/blueberry yogurt parfait with granola. It was followed by a mountain of cinnamon french toast, covered in berries, bananas, pecans, and glazed with orange, I think? Fresh orange slices and Charles' signature sour cream grits finished out the meal. It was amazing and enough for 2 people. It was wonderful. All this plus coffee, juice, water being refilled constantly and Charles being delightful in general. It was a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great stay! The inn maintains a perfect blend of history and modern convenience. Located right on the Cane and w/i walking distance of local attractions. Mr. Charles is the standard by which all host should be judged. Fantastic Breakfast, and he is the "Go to" person for all things local. Will return!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackgla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

What a pleasant surprise we had this past weekend in Natchitoches at the Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast ! The bed and breakfast is delightful and has everthing you would want for a romantic stay. The full breakfast is spectacular as is your innkeeper, Charles.. The entire town is so friendly and welcoming.

I highly recommend a trip to Natchitoches and to stay at the lovely Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast. We will be back !

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the house off the porch leading down to the Cane River Lake. It was called...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Great room. Great service. Great location. Great food. Who could ask for more? Wonderful staff. Highly recommend Violet Hill House and Charles the innkeeper. We arrived late (11:00 pm) and the owners were waiting for us to make sure we settled in successfully.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alracj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I simply loved our stay at the Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast. The service, the rooms, the breakfast, walking distance to everything. Everything about this place was first class! Charles went above and beyond our expectations for making our stay comfortable and making us feel at home. Thank you Charles! We will never forget you and the Violet Hill. We are planning on a return trip in nov-Dec of this year. We do plan on staying there again and recommend this B&B to anyone going to or thru Natchitoches . Thanks again Charles. Our memories will never be forgotten!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsmaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at the Violet Hill last night for my 31st birthday and it was everything that I could want for and more in a short getaway. We stayed in the Arthur Coble Room, so comfortable and romantic. The house is beautifully decorated and so inviting. It really did feel as if we were right at home. The backyard opens to the Cane River with a back deck to just sit and enjoy the River. We cannot say enough good things about the Innkeeper Charles. He was so happy and just a delight, it's obvious that he really loves his job. I would have loved to just pack him up and take him home with us. He makes the best breakfast ever hands down, I can't even begin to explain his culinary delights. This is a trip that noone could regret!

Room Tip: Two Person Jacuzzi in Arthur Coble Room and nice view of the River, so picturesque!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Violet Hill B&B is a wonderful getaway spot! We're so happy that we discovered it online. The service that Charles and the staff gave us was first-rate! He is so warm and wonderful to all of his guests and the gourmet breakfasts that they come up with are wonderful. The rooms are comfortable and they actually have a Jacuzzi tub that is truly big enough for 2! How comfortable it was to truly be able to relax. The porch is very nice and sitting out on the water is extremely peaceful. Overall, it was just a great weekend and a great way to visit and enjoy Natchitoches!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a good night's sleep. Breakfast is at 8:30 am sharp!! The John Reavls room is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
85 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
400 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
#3 of 15 in Natchitoches
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
#2 of 15 in Natchitoches
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweet Cane Inn
Sweet Cane Inn
#8 of 24 in Natchitoches
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 917 Washington St, Natchitoches, LA 71457-4729
Region: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Price Range: £109 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy peaceful surroundings on the banks of Cane River Lake in the historic district of beautiful downtown Natchitoches, Louisiana. Painstakingly and lovingly renovated, Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast provides an elegant and relaxing atmosphere, inside and out. Whether it's in the luxurious living area, in one of the porch swings on the veranda, or on the gazebo dock downhill on the riverfront, you're sure to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing