We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place (but noisy if you are on the road)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 24 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Very nice place ,with lovely rooms and view on the river .
The location is very good ,next to te shop and the center . Breakfast is nice too .
Rooms are amazing ,with a lot of character ,and the bed very comfortable .

Room Tip: Prefer rooms next to the river ,because we was next to the road ,and it's VERY noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BloodyBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just got back from valentine's day weekend getaway. Amazing room, amazing service, perfect location. Our room was quiet and clean. Back porch was a very nice touch. Tod was the bomb! Thanks for everything. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mclement0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was our first time to stay at this B&B and it was great! Definitely wanna come back in warmer weather to enjoy the patio and the deck on the river. Breakfast was wonderful an. Angie was very personable and hilarious! Room was fantastic! There were a few ants at the dining room table, but that can be remedied. My husband and I enjoyed our 10th wedding anniversary here!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hlinn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

the two room suite is handy for some, and not usually available at bed and breakfasts. Also it is nice to be on the lake, for those who like such things. The breakfast is great and the place is well run

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redsticktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at the B&B for just one night, but had a lovely time and would have definitely stayed another night or too if we had time. The house was well kept and of period design and the surrounds were very beautiful, with stairs leading down to a jetty on the water-front. Our room had all appropriate amenities, plus French windows leading out to the swinging chair on the porch and back garden.

A fantastic three-course breakfast was provided in the dining room in the morning and our host, Charles, was very charming and friendly. It was interesting to walk around the small but beautiful town of Natchitoches, particularly along the riverfront. The only downside of my stay was that I found it particularly difficult to find anything vegetarian to eat in the area, although (with advance warning) Charles was kind enough to specially prepare a vegetarian breakfast for me! I would definitely recommend the B&B to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haellostinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My sister, my mom, and myself stayed in the Puckett Suite and had a great time. The beds were very comfortable and the suite itself very roomy. The B&B was quiet even though it was full, so you don't hear other guests easily. It is within walking distance to the downtown area, and the deck area in the river is a great place to sit and relax. The breakfast on both days was delicious and the host John was full of knowledge on what to do and how to get there. All in all, a great stay, and I plan on returning with my husband one day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel30scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Six of us ladies stayed at Violet Hill December 4 & 5, 2013 and departed on the morning of Dec. 6. We had a wonderful time and Violet Hills was the highlight of the trip.

Great lodging, great food, but what we enjoyed the most was the friendliness of the manager and staff. John directed to good shopping, good eating locations and some very interesting history of the town.

Anyone wanting to have a great get-away put this on your agenda. It is a must!

Dale Ramey

Room Tip: Sorry, can't be sure of our room name, but it was the one that opened onto the bottom deck and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
98 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
#2 of 15 in Natchitoches
181 reviews
5 mi away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
0.3 mi away
Church Street Inn
Church Street Inn
#6 of 24 in Natchitoches
147 reviews
0 mi away
Sweet Cane Inn
Sweet Cane Inn
#8 of 24 in Natchitoches
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 917 Washington St, Natchitoches, LA 71457-4729
Region: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Price Range: £105 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy peaceful surroundings on the banks of Cane River Lake in the historic district of beautiful downtown Natchitoches, Louisiana. Painstakingly and lovingly renovated, Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast provides an elegant and relaxing atmosphere, inside and out. Whether it's in the luxurious living area, in one of the porch swings on the veranda, or on the gazebo dock downhill on the riverfront, you're sure to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing