We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Violet Hill B&B; Prince Haithcoat Suite; Nachitoches, LA”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 24 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our two night stay was absolutely wonderful. The Suite was phenomenal. The gourmet breakfasts surpassed delicious. The back porch, decorated with white wicker furniture, overlooked the Cane River and provides the perfect place for relaxation. There is also a dock at the foot of the hill on the River. Downtown Natchitoches is within walking distance from the Inn. Todd, the Innkeeper, was friendly and professional. We will definitely be return visitors.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a very relaxing time here and the staff was wonderful.
Breakfast was top shelf and better than most 4-5 star hotels.
The dock/pier is about 30 ft below on the Cane River Lake right behind the
house and we even caught a catfish while sitting outside relaxing.
Natchitoches is very relaxing and can be seen in one full day and the restuarants offer
great meals with seafood being the predominate offering.
Even made a trip down to Alexandria about 45 minutes south and stumbled onto the Cajun Pawn Star Silver Dollar Pawn Store and that was like going to a free museum with
really nice people and lots of neat memorbillia. Will go back again for a lost weekend especially since its only 3 1/2 hrs from Dallas.

Room Tip: Stem Wheeler room is downstairs with nice claw tub and a separate shower in a very large bathroom wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenisom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

After spending two nights at Queen Anne, we moved to Violet Hill and we were not disappointed. This B&B is within a very short walk to downtown and overlooks the Cane River. We spent most of the day relaxing on the dock. When we checked in we were met by one inn keeper, the next morning the inn keeper from the other property was overseeing breakfast. We stayed in the Stem Wheeler room.
Every person we came in contact with worked very hard to ensure that our stay was very enjoyable. Breakfast was fantastic and accommodations over the top! Staff was accessible at all times. Definately recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Stem Wheeler room has two painted sinks, & a claw tube. Very well light bathroom and room. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Loved our one night stay at Violet Hill. Stayed upstairs in the Puckett Suite with our two children. Stairs are very steep, so not for small children or the elderly. Beautiful spot on the Cane River Lake - enjoyed a nice bottle of wine on the dock. Breakfast was over-the-top! Lovingly prepared, and graciously served. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The owners know how to do things right here. The place drew me in because it is located on Cane River Lake. It is walking distance to the edge of town. The breakfast is 2 courses--dessert first. We loved it. It is a very clean place with comfortable bed and linens. Tod was very personable and helpful in all ways. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BebIce234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at Violet Hill for two nights on the way to see our son and family in Bossier City, and had a nice break. The location is perfect along the river and close enough to walk easily to the historic district's attractions and restaurants. The back porch and river-front deck are great for sitting and talking over a beverage. We were in the Prince Haithcoat room, which was a large and very comfortable two-room suite in which we had room to spread out and relax. We had pre-ordered champagne and strawberries and they were there and delicious for our arrival. The suite is however at the front of the house and road noise is noticible as is the cycling of the HVAC unit right outside of the window. The noise was a problem for my wife more than for me. I would say breakfasts were above average for a B&B. However, the second morning, one guest received a cook-to-order breakfast while the rest of us received something different. Had I known there was an option for cook-to-order, I certainly would have opted for it. Overall, we'd return.

Room Tip: It is quieter in the rear rooms, but the front room is much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Violet Hill B&B was an exceptionally nice place for our group of ten friends to gather for our annual reunion. The house is spotless, the beds are great, the breakfast is delicious, and the attention to detail of John and his staff is outstanding. The house itself is beautiful with very nice furnishings and decor. The back porch overlooking the Cane River is a great place to gather for morning coffee or afternoon wine. Downtown Nachitoches and places to eat and shop are only a couple of blocks away. We had the whole house and the suite in the front had a large comfortable room to gather and talk. We have stayed many places for more than a decade and this was the best. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a getaway or visiting Nachitoches for business or family meet-ups.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Batches67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
98 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
#2 of 15 in Natchitoches
181 reviews
5 mi away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
0.3 mi away
Church Street Inn
Church Street Inn
#6 of 24 in Natchitoches
147 reviews
0 mi away
Sweet Cane Inn
Sweet Cane Inn
#8 of 24 in Natchitoches
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 917 Washington St, Natchitoches, LA 71457-4729
Region: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Price Range: £105 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy peaceful surroundings on the banks of Cane River Lake in the historic district of beautiful downtown Natchitoches, Louisiana. Painstakingly and lovingly renovated, Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast provides an elegant and relaxing atmosphere, inside and out. Whether it's in the luxurious living area, in one of the porch swings on the veranda, or on the gazebo dock downhill on the riverfront, you're sure to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing