We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Maglieaux's

Maglieaux's
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Natchitoches
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Enjoyed a very nice lunch......good selection of sandwiches and heavier items. Fast service and a beautiful location on the Cane River.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bandman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    97
    62
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma city
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Appetizer of pecan crusted shrimp was very good, crunchy and sweet with a kick. My bowtie pasta with crawfish and cream sauce was good, with just a little kick. It definitely could have used a bit more sauce as it was a little dry. DH ordered pork medallions with raspberry chipotle sauce and baked potato. Unfortunately, the potato would not even melt the butter so he was disappointed. Pretty sure the sauce was from a jar. The view from the deck is superb and the ambience was very relaxing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank okietraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good Food, Dreadful Service”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The view from the deck is wonderful. That said, most everything at this restaurant leaves much to be desired. Our waiter was very unprofessional: aggessive about pushing cocktails as well as entree items. We waited for a while for our champagne cocktails only to be told the bartender didn't know how to make them. Items listed on the menu were not available. We finally, after a half-hour wait, ordered entrees. One salad arrived not as ordered. One entree arrived with a different sauce than that ordered. Our waiter handled each problem in a very defensive manner. We began to dread his approaching our table. Finally, we were charged for an item we did not order. Again, our waiter was defensive to the point of being rude when presented with this error. This was the most offensive waiter we've ever encountered. If we go back, we will make sure he is not our server.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SnmaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
914 reviews
673 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Sort of Cajun Italian, Great Location”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We tried this newer restaurant on Front Street in Natchitoches and really liked the place. They are right on the Cane River with inside and outside seating, amongst the trees on the river and it was beautiful. They have a nice wine list and a full bar. I had the eggplant Parmesan, which was very good. Their pasta sauce has a sweet flavor to it, so Italian officianados may not like it but it was good. Nice salad too. The cannelloni looked real good too. They are trying real hard, so I gave them the five star rating.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZumaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Sit outside”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is an average quality place but the best thing about it is its location right on the river. Sit outside if you can. The servers are all very nice, although mostly young and inexperienced. The view of the river is good mostly because it's a quiet little river, very serene. Our food was a tad on the salty side.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Godby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maglieaux's also viewed

 

Been to Maglieaux's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing