We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So quiet and peaceful you don't want to leave”
Review of Samuel Guy House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Samuel Guy House
Ranked #9 of 23 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So quiet and peaceful you don't want to leave”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Stayed here for the Natchitoches Christmas Festival. Easy walking distance to downtown. Loved the house, loved the location, loved Theresa's cordiality and her breakfasts. Beautifully restored old home. Perfect at Christmastime. So many collections from the owner. A feast for the eyes. Newly reworked gardens with a fire-pit and waterfall. A must stay. And I will again.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the house are SO quiet. Beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovemytravels72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
41
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I had a great visit to the Samuel Guy House. It is a beautiful restored home that sits at the end of a dead end road, which makes for a nice quiet secluded visit. The inn keeper, Theresa made us feel right at home and gave us a tour of the home upon our arrival. The back porch is a wonderful place to sit and relax while enjoying the view of the beautiful garden. We enjoyed ham and eggs and stuffed french toast for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This is a beautiful house that make you feel at home. Theresa, the innkeeper, is a delight! She is happy to tell you about the history of the house and the area. The property is very well managed, very clean, with huge bedrooms and spa style baths. The breakfasts are great with plenty of food that is freshly made each day, and different offerings each day. The location is close to everything and Theresa will make suggestions, if asked, about places to go and things to do. She also supplies brochures of places of interest, snacks, and cold drinks that are available at any time.

We are from the Dallas, TX area and our two granddaughters, one in college and the other a high school senior, are from California. None of us had been to this area of the country, and we are all interested in the history of it, so this was perfect.

Room Tip: There isn't a "bad" room in the house. It is located in a quiet area, so getting a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 925TexasMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Very good locaction the rooms were very clean and the service was superb

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matix87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We called on the way from Baton Rouge and Theresa answered! There were plenty of rooms to choose from, as a matter of fact, we were the only ones who stayed there last night! We stayed in the Willow room. The furniture is very nice... Not antique, but totally in keeping with the style of house. In fact, it is an improvement over the antiques that make one afraid to sit down sometimes! There is a coffee maker, microwave, and mini fridge in each room. Theresa also made coffee when she arrived in the am. (she lives just down the street) She used to own a tea room and the presentation of breakfast was beautiful! The owner also owns Rusca (spelling?) B & B. There is an ice maker, wine opener, glasses, and Hershey's Kisses in a clever hospitality closet downstairs. There is no 'sitting room' for guests to visit in together. The rooms are quite large and some have a little sitting room to make suites. The owner has collections of porcelains in glass fronted display cases all over the house. He is also building some 'diorama' displays in 3 closets in the upstairs hall. It is a bit quirky. The back porch was lovely in the morning!!

Room Tip: Having been recently remodeled, all rooms are great! All have private bathrooms and equal amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdatwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmerville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My aunt and I spent the night here a couple of weeks ago. This was my first experience in a B&B. I was NOT disappointed. As we opened the front door, we were shocked at the beauty of it. It looks like a little country house, but the interior was rich with chandiliers, art, collectibles and antiques. Some older homes I've stayed in have lacked modern conveniences, but not here; jacuz. tub, coffee mkr, cold drinks, ample bathroom space, closet space, great A/C and the best king size bed. I slept great! Oh, and the most important thing to me was how clean it was. It was spotless! I tried to find something out of order, but no luck! We lucked out because due to some recent renovations we were the only reservat. they took that night. We had the whole place to ourselves. We felt like we had stepped back in time! A great experience for 2 southern belles who looove old homes like this and everything "Natchitoches". Had a wonderful visit with the owner and manager. They could not have been any nicer. Will definitely be back! Brenda & Debbie

Room Tip: I thought the Kate Chopin room was the prettiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 82Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The house itself is beautiful. It was moved into the present location from Mansfield, LA and was lovingly restored. The grounds are being re-landscaped and the back yard is extremely pleasant to sit in and have a mint julip. The interior furnishings are modern reproductions, which was a little disappointing, but did not hurt the overall experience.
We had four couples and no complaints from anyone.
Theresa, the manager, came by and fixed the best breakfasts we've ever had at a B & B. She is the heart of the operation and works hard to make sure you have a good time.
The house sits next to the American Cemetary, the oldest in the Louisiana Purchase. It is a pleasant walk around it, and makes you appreciate what a real cemetary looked like almost 300 years ago. It even has a veteran of the Revolutionary War buried there!

Room Tip: there are two suites downstairs that are only a little more expensive and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wgou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
57 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
374 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
#4 of 15 in Natchitoches
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
#2 of 15 in Natchitoches
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Church Street Inn
Church Street Inn
#6 of 23 in Natchitoches
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samuel Guy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuel Guy House

Property: Samuel Guy House
Address: 309 Pine Street, Natchitoches, LA 71457
Region: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing