We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Relaxing Weekend in Samuel Guy House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samuel Guy House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Samuel Guy House
Ranked #8 of 23 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Most Relaxing Weekend in Samuel Guy House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

From the moment we drove into the drive, we were greeted with not only the beauty surrounding the home. The fragrance coming from the gardens was so welcoming! Magnolias and magnolias! Chimes and swings beaconing us to sit and talk a spell!
I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast. The beauty inside and out. The wonderful Hostess made us feel so relaxed. We can't wait for another trip to Natchitoches! To the Samuel Guy House!
The Coffeys

Room Tip: Any room is spacious and comfortable and full of surprises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
41
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I recently spent a night at the Samuel Guy House. This is a extraordinary house with an exceptional history. We particularly enjoyed sipping coffee on the porch and wandering through the beautiful garden. Theresa served us a wonderful breakfast in a gorgeous dining room and was most gracious in insuring that we were comfortable in the house. The house looked great on the website and our expectations were high. We weren’t disappointed. We surely will return and will recommend this house to our family and friends.

Room Tip: The Lands End Room is overlooks the garden. Very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjhanleysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We spent the nite here and had a wonderful stay. Our room was clean and very comfortable. Our nite's sleep was one of the best we've had during our 2-week trip. We had a pleasant walk around the town and enjoyed a glass of wine on the back porch, overlooking the gardens. Theresa made us feel right at home and her breakfast was delicious. We would recommend this to anyone!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Khotmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We and some friends booked two rooms in advance for the Christmas season, and received a confirmation e-mail. A couple of weeks later, our friends received a second e-mail informing them that their reservation had been cancelled and that they would have to pay double the price to book the room again. We waited several weeks and received no similar communication. Yesterday, I called and was told that our reservation also had been cancelled, and that I could call back in three months to try to book again - at double the price. I told the person with whom I spoke that I had booked online and received confirmation. She only said that the website had made a mistake and that there was nothing she could do. It is now too late for me to book any other B&B, since they fill up a year in advance. I'm very disappointed, since we've been planning this trip for a long time and can't afford the outrageous price they now demand.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank freejordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here last week for two nights last week while on a trip to Louisiana. We have stayed in many B&B' s all across North America and Canada and this particular trip was a real winner in both Jefferson and Natchitoches. Here at Samuel Guy, we have never stayed at a property that was as unique as this one. The house was moved to Natchitoches from a town 40 miles away and completely restored it to its former glory. The owner is a collector of various things, porcelain dolls, figurines, etc., and there are built in display cases all through the house filled with his collections. The furniture is all period pieces and is just beautiful. It is located next to the American Cemetery, a historical attraction in town and worth a tour. But, what really sets Samuel Guy house apart from the rest is Ms. Theresa, the property manager and innkeeper. She has some stories to tell, just ask, and prepares a heck of a breakfast, too, which is served in the formal dining room. This may be our new favorite B&B and we will definitely stay here on any future trips to Natchitoches.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Monroe, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

On a 1 to 10 scale, I rate this B & B a 10+. My wife and I stayed here for the weekend, and we could not have been more pleased. This B & B has no weak points.

House: The house is absolutely beautiful, and it is maintained in excellent condition. Design and color coordination of furnishings with walls are exceptional. The grand hall on the first floor is stunning with impressive chandeliers. Rooms are beautiful and kept in perfect condition.

Location: The location combines the best of two worlds. It is in a residential area at the end of a dead end street. Therefore, there is almost no traffic. However, it is also close to Front Street, making access to main attractions, restaurants, and shops very convenient.

Collections: One bonus in staying here is being able to view the numerous collections on display throughout the house. These collectibles are of museum quality.

Breakfast: An excellent breakfast served in the exquisite dining room.

Inn Keeper: Theresa is the ideal house manager, friendly, courteous, and helpful. It is obviously her desire to make every guest's stay as enjoyable as possible.

Room rates: Very reasonable.

My wife and I were very pleased with our stay. I highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Overall, the B&B was as nice as any of the many B&Bs we've stayed in Natchitoches. A bit farther from the festivities than most of the B&Bs in Natchitoches, but the accommodations were good, and if you don't mind walking, the prices were reasonable. However, when we received the bill on our credit card, we discovered that we had been overcharged by about $283.00. We called the hostess and asked if she had accidentally overcharged. She denied that she quoted the prices that she gave us and told us to do whatever we had to do.
We had visited the Sam Guy House last year after checking out of the Sweet Cane because Sweet Cane was already booked for the week we wanted to stay. We talked to the Samuel Guy hostess and she gave us a price that was almost the same as the Sweet Cane, so we booked a year in advance.
We called during this past summer to confirm the price and the booking, and called again about a month or so before our reservation, and she confirmed the price every time.
We had no complaints about the stay and probably would have stayed again until we received the bill in the mail. My wife's signature was forged on the bill and even spelled wrong.
We are disputing the charges as of this writing with our credit card company. We agreed to pay what we were quoted ($115 Thursday night and $150 per night plus taxes for Friday and Saturday, which is about the same as most of the B&Bs for Christmas Parade week). But we were astounded that our signature was forged and we were charged $300 per night for Friday and Saturday! And this was for the Marco, the smallest room in the house!
We are considering legal action if we are unable to clear the additional $283 from our credit card account.
If you stay here, be sure to check your credit card bill when it arrives, or pay cash!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
#3 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Natchitoches Inn
BEST WESTERN Natchitoches Inn
#4 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Natchitoches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Natchitoches
Days Inn Natchitoches
#10 of 15 in Natchitoches
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samuel Guy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuel Guy House

Property: Samuel Guy House
Address: 309 Pine Street, Natchitoches, LA 71457
Region: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing