We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Samuel Guy House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Samuel Guy House
Ranked #9 of 23 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent two nights and three days at the Samuel Guy house. Our group of 12 couldn't have been more pleased with our accommodations. Theresa was a great hostess who welcomed us warmly and was always there if needed. I loved waking to the smell of coffee that I didn't have to prepare. This immaculately restored treasure of a home is in a quiet location with a lovely garden that includes a calming waterfall and many seating areas. We gathered for lively conversation on the detached patio or the back porch enjoying the swings and rockers. Our room was perfect with its own bathroom as did the other 5 rooms. Our breakfasts were very good with a wonderful presentation getting us ready for our fun day ahead. All in all it was an A+ experience in my book!

Room Tip: The two rooms on the first floor had attached seating rooms. All rooms had great A/C's. The two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
41
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Spent two nites here with eleven good friends. This was one of the best trips we've ever had! Food, atmosphere, and overall experience was the greatest. Theresa is a real gem. Shared all the fun we had with friends when we got home. Joan S.

Room Tip: All rooms we rented were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imashybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

If you want to experience authentic Southern elegance and hospitality this is the place. The house and grounds are beautiful. The restoration done to the original building is top notch. The location (at the end of a dead end street and next to the American Cemetery) makes for a very relaxing atmosphere.
We were twelve women one night and ten the next night and could not have been more comfortable. The fact that each bedroom had its own bathroom was a bonus. Swinging or rocking on either the front or back porches, sipping our beverage of choice was the perfect way to begin or end our day of exploring Natchitoches. After doing the Steel Magnolia Tour on our second day we all piled into one bedroom to watch the movie (provided by Theresa) with plenty of Kleenex.
Whatever we needed Theresa made sure we had. She was a gracious hostess. The delicious and beautifully presented breakfasts were a wonderful way to begin each day.
I would definitely recommend the Samuel Guy House to anyone planning on visiting Natchitoches.

Room Tip: Two suites downstairs and four bedrooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

From the moment we drove into the drive, we were greeted with not only the beauty surrounding the home. The fragrance coming from the gardens was so welcoming! Magnolias and magnolias! Chimes and swings beaconing us to sit and talk a spell!
I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast. The beauty inside and out. The wonderful Hostess made us feel so relaxed. We can't wait for another trip to Natchitoches! To the Samuel Guy House!
The Coffeys

Room Tip: Any room is spacious and comfortable and full of surprises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I recently spent a night at the Samuel Guy House. This is a extraordinary house with an exceptional history. We particularly enjoyed sipping coffee on the porch and wandering through the beautiful garden. Theresa served us a wonderful breakfast in a gorgeous dining room and was most gracious in insuring that we were comfortable in the house. The house looked great on the website and our expectations were high. We weren’t disappointed. We surely will return and will recommend this house to our family and friends.

Room Tip: The Lands End Room is overlooks the garden. Very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjhanleysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We spent the nite here and had a wonderful stay. Our room was clean and very comfortable. Our nite's sleep was one of the best we've had during our 2-week trip. We had a pleasant walk around the town and enjoyed a glass of wine on the back porch, overlooking the gardens. Theresa made us feel right at home and her breakfast was delicious. We would recommend this to anyone!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Khotmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We and some friends booked two rooms in advance for the Christmas season, and received a confirmation e-mail. A couple of weeks later, our friends received a second e-mail informing them that their reservation had been cancelled and that they would have to pay double the price to book the room again. We waited several weeks and received no similar communication. Yesterday, I called and was told that our reservation also had been cancelled, and that I could call back in three months to try to book again - at double the price. I told the person with whom I spoke that I had booked online and received confirmation. She only said that the website had made a mistake and that there was nothing she could do. It is now too late for me to book any other B&B, since they fill up a year in advance. I'm very disappointed, since we've been planning this trip for a long time and can't afford the outrageous price they now demand.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank freejordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
#3 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Natchitoches Inn
BEST WESTERN Natchitoches Inn
#4 of 15 in Natchitoches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Church Street Inn
Church Street Inn
#6 of 23 in Natchitoches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samuel Guy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuel Guy House

Property: Samuel Guy House
Address: 309 Pine Street, Natchitoches, LA 71457
Region: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing