We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame and Northwest Louisiana History Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Minden, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Architecture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The contents are definitely interesting for a sports buff. The second floor contains Natchitoches history, and I enjoyed the artifacts and info. My favorite parts were the color pencil and pastel portraits of sports stars and the original Clementine Hunter paintings. The building itself is quite a marvel and worth the visit even if you have no interest in sports or local history. I was a little put off that some of the exhibits had poor quality photos and/or mistakes that need to be fixed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Christmas trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Awesome building and loved all the memorabilia. We were excited to learn about the Louisiana athletes and have learned someone we know may be inducted. We'll go back for the festivities if he does !!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 030857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Modern Museum in Historic District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visited the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame on a rainy day. It was much larger than I expected it to be! It was also very modern. I was impressed with the artifacts held there. Very glad we explored!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TXKBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lousiana's newest museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

While the architecture has gained great acclaim, I feel it is an eye sore on the historic downtown. It side is much better. There is a nice collection of sports memoribilia. on the second floor the are some historic items from the town on loan from many families around the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GBwannabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma city
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting architecture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a developing venue, with lots of room for expansion. It combines sports and Louisiana history which is an interesting combination.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank okietraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame and Northwest Louisiana History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame and Northwest Louisiana History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing