We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never go during the holidays”
Review of Landing Restaurant

Landing Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 63 Restaurants in Natchitoches
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ball, LA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never go during the holidays”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We were in historic Natchitoches, La for the opening of the Festival of Lights and fireworks. We go every year and eat at different restaurants. This year we chose the Landing Restaurant right on Front Street. We put our name on the list and were told it would be a 45 minute wait. So we walked and shopped around all the surrounding shops for about 30 minutes. We came back and was told it would be another 30 minutes. Then we inquired again it and was another 30 minutes. We saw tables vacant as we went to the restroom but apparently, those were reserved. We could've eaten and been on our way before their parties even showed. We were still waiting at 6p from putting our name down at 4:45. There was a party that had a 4:30p reservation that was seated at 6p. If you're that late for your reservation then the table should be given to someone else. If it weren't freezing outside, we would've just gone down by the river and eaten from the vendors. We finally got a table and didn't get our food until 45 minutes later. I will say our server was great and the food was really good. The Christmas lights and fireworks started while we were still eating. If you want to eat here, make sure there are no festivals nor other events going on.

Helpful?
Thank jdupont79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    106
    58
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
141 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The service is a bit chaotic when the place is busy, but the food is worth any wait. Try the crab cakes - they are amazing!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rcsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
192 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Excellent food in historic setting”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very recently we happened upon this restaurant on Front Street on a Saturday night while looking for a place to eat. Thank goodness I had not read the negative reviews posted earlier, because our experience was very positive. My favorite, the Crabcake Imperial with fried green tomatoes, topped with lump crab meat and served with hollandaise sauce was superb. The hollandaise sauce was on the bottom of the plate with the crabcake stack on top of the crab cakes (there were 2) and 4 slices of fried green tomatoes. We found it to be very flavorful. Also a favorite was the seafood and artichoke dip. I only wish we'd had more time in Natchitoches to try additional dishes at this excellent restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Prices for Lunch”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stumbled into The Landing on October 19th for a late lunch.... we were in town to watch our daughter dance at the homecoming Pep Rally as a Demon Dazzler.
I ordered the Eggplant Crabcakes and Hubby ordered a bowl of Gumbo. We were really blown away by the low prices for great Louisiana food. Our service was good. The decor is super...
We will definitely return to the Landing restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BatonRougeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have enjoyed dining at the Landing off and on over the years, but lunch yesterday, 11/1, was very disappointing. We each ordered one of the "favorites", Crabcake and Fried Green Tomato Imperial; it was very poorly prepared. The fried green tomatoes were tasteless and the crabcake was overcooked and lacking in moisture. This was the worst crab imperial I've ever had. I do hope that the chef was out and someone else had stepped in to cover. Very disappointing for what used to be a place for fine dining.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Landing Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Landing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing