We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El Chile Verde

El Chile Verde
Ranked #57 of 108 Restaurants in New Iberia
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Perham, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

It was OK. Little flavor, bland really... but it was better than what we have in Utah and Minnesota. Similar to eating Mexican food cooked by non-Mexicans.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckloveswk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Terrible Service!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I will never set foot in this place again. The server I had ran out to my car as I was pulling out of the restaurant and was acting as if I did not pay. Quite embarrassing for me considering people were watching! He kept waiving my receipt. He did not speak very good English and I kept showing him my receipt where I did pay. I Talked to a manager and apparently he thought I took another ticket. The server was even arguing with me in the parking lot! It was dark and I am a female by myself! I should have driven off. I left him a nice tip which I now regret. The food was average. Would have preferred Taco Bell.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernBell813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAKELAND
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Every time I go to New Iberia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

True Mexican Food And great Service. Liked it so much . It is where I proposed to my wife.All the staff go out of there way to make sure everything is 100 % authentic. I give it a 100 out of 100

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FRED R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
230 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“It's about average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Being in Cajun country, this Mexican restaurant was OK. Having eaten Mexican food all over the country El Chile Verde was alright, but lacked any real spice or heat. I had the shrimp burritos which were OK. Small shrimp were sauted with onions and green peppers served with very tasty refried beans and rice. Hubby had a combination plate with chili rellano, taco and guacamole.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A new worst ever!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

Stopped by on my way through town. I was intrigued by the "Authentic Mexican Food" on the sign so I decided to forgo Wendy's across the street and sit down to an "Authentic" meal.

Salsa; From a jar but the best thing I had.

Cheese Dip; From a can... But not bad.

Shrimp Quesadilla; Now we get to the point of the terrible rating... Most of the shrimp were way undercooked. I ate very little and waited for the server to come by for the usual "How is everything". That never happened. I eventually set my plate across the table and waited some more. After about 20 min or so he came by with the check, dropped it off and tried to escape. No "How was everything". I stopped him and informed him that the shrimp, the main ingredient in my Shrimp Quesadilla, were not all cooked. He said ok and went off. I hit the head and proceeded to the front desk to speak with someone. The manager was there, who proceeded to say he was giving me 20% off my bill. I said that's not acceptable. He asked if I wanted another one to go. I said no, the first one was not fully cooked do you think I will believe the next one will be. He said ok 20% off. I paid my bill, tipped the waiter more than he deserved and went to my truck to write this.

Let me just say to the owner if they ever read this, get a new manager during the day. The one you have now knows nothing about customer satisfaction. As for me, I will place this review on as many review sights as possible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Chile Verde also viewed

 

Been to El Chile Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing