We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Chile Verde

El Chile Verde
Ranked #57 of 108 Restaurants in New Iberia
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've eaten here twice, both times I had salad and both were good. The taco salad was a very generous serving but the Texano salad was much better, loaded with beef, chicken and shrimp. My waiter was very attentive with additional chips and salsa along with drink refills.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
763 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Taste of Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

The El Chile Verde was a warm and welcome restaurant. It's simple - plastic silverware and worn furniture - but the food was plentiful and tasty. The margaritas were especially good. The waiter was polite and attentive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melodycthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perham, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

It was OK. Little flavor, bland really... but it was better than what we have in Utah and Minnesota. Similar to eating Mexican food cooked by non-Mexicans.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckloveswk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Terrible Service!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I will never set foot in this place again. The server I had ran out to my car as I was pulling out of the restaurant and was acting as if I did not pay. Quite embarrassing for me considering people were watching! He kept waiving my receipt. He did not speak very good English and I kept showing him my receipt where I did pay. I Talked to a manager and apparently he thought I took another ticket. The server was even arguing with me in the parking lot! It was dark and I am a female by myself! I should have driven off. I left him a nice tip which I now regret. The food was average. Would have preferred Taco Bell.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernBell813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAKELAND
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Every time I go to New Iberia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

True Mexican Food And great Service. Liked it so much . It is where I proposed to my wife.All the staff go out of there way to make sure everything is 100 % authentic. I give it a 100 out of 100

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FRED R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Chile Verde also viewed

 

Been to El Chile Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing