We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat Historical Site”

Shadows on the Teche
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in New Iberia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This restored and elegant Georgian mansion with its lovely gardens reflects the southern plantation lifestyle during the 1800s.
Galt
Level Contributor
157 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Neat Historical Site”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Good parking; greeted at gift shop. Short wait for tour to start. Tour guide was informed and helpful. No pics inside? Unfortunate for those of us with cameras. House, furnishings and history was better than most we have seen. After guided tour, you can walk around grounds and take pics outside. Discerning youth and adults will appreciate this walk through old times.
If my information is helpful, please check it so. Thanks

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank sonnybear47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    59
    17
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
387 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Interesting house!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have visited many historic homes but have never seen one with such an unusual layout. The tour guide was very informative and the stories about the family that lived there were very interesting. If you are a AAA member, ask for the discount ($1 off per person).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stopped in New Iberia on our way to Houma and decided to visit the Shadows. It was our first visit to a former plantation and it was quite interesting as we learned a lot about the family who once resided there. The visit takes about one hour and a half so if you got some time to spare I would recommend to go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 72traveler408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the stop!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Touring the area and we stopped here. Very much enjoyed the tour -- stayed around for awhile enjoy the house and the grounds. Our tour guide was great. She had lots of information and stories. Sorry, I can't remember her name :(

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank va_visits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice Side Visit”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Liked the tour in general and the tour guide was really good. Spent a while taking photos and hanging out there for a good amount of time.
The price was a bit high, in our opinion and think they would draw more visitors by knocking of a couple of bucks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shadows on the Teche also viewed

 

Been to Shadows on the Teche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing