We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Iberia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens
Ranked #1 of 5 New Iberia B&B and Inns
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This property is seriously gorgeous. It's owned by a landscape architect, and he definitely knows his stuff. As other reviewers have noted, when you stay in one of the B&B suites, you have complete access to the beautiful grounds. Peacocks wander around, breeze blows through the oak trees, and a friendly cat showed up on our porch in the morning (cat-lover here, so this was purr-fect for me). We stayed 2 nights in the Servant's Cottage #2; our room was refreshed the 2nd day, with new towels in the bathroom and snacks replenished. There isn't really anyone to "check" you in; you just show up and the key is in the suite, and you leave the door unlocked when you leave. This makes things very private and peaceful. Cafe Jefferson is on the grounds and open for lunch, and was delicious with a gorgeous view of Lake Peigneur. As wonderful as this place is, I feel like there's a bit of a missed opportunity here. it's time to give the B&B suites a little love. I know it's a very old property, but being from New Orleans, I'm used to old houses. I know an old house can be faithfully updated and spotlessly clean. It's not as spic-and-span clean as it could be (rust and grime in the bathroom); it needs new fixtures (especially the bathroom), some paint touch-ups inside, and the draperies need serious, serious updating. It wouldn't take much to make the place really dazzling. Maybe I'm just not used to the level of cleanliness of a bed-and-breakfast; it was my first stay in one. I just prefer overnight accommodations to feel really clean, and this didn't quite get there. It wasn't terrible; in fact it was a lovely stay. I just feel like with a little attention, it could be TOTALLY PERFECT. I told my husband I wanted to go buy new drapes and some touch-up paint and just do it myself (ha). On the definite plus-side, I didn't see one giant roach the whole time. I need to find out how they manage this with all those oak trees so I can do it at home in New Orleans! It truly is a special place, and I wish we could have stayed longer. I really hope the owners take this advice to heart and update things soon, and then I will hurry back for a whole week's stay next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelanieKE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was a great stopover for Mobile to Houston trip. Stayed 2 nights so we could be sure to enjoy the gardens. Quiet and private. Had the whole place to ourselves one night! Enjoyed our morning coffee on porch with dozens of hummingbirds covering the bottlebrush trees. Peacocks were beautiful too. Learned a lot during the visit about Joseph Jefferson, the salt dome and surrounding geology. Sunset was great. Lunch at Cafe Jefferson excellent. Actually ordered some extra "to-go" so we could stay on the property one night and enjoy the peace & quiet.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Recently we have been traveling between Houston and Baton Rouge for family matters. We have begun treating ourselves on the return trip to Houston by stopping off in small towns in south Louisiana for brief stays to relax. This time we stayed at the Cottages at Rip Van Winkle based on an Internet search. We booked for two nights and had such a relaxing and special time that we extended our stay by an additional night.

This is a special property. The cottages, and there are only three, are incorporated well into a large property that includes the historic Jefferson House and extensive gardens. When you stay in the cottages, the rest of the property is available. We walked the grounds and gardens extensively and found them lovely and interesting. A stay at the cottage includes a tour of the beautiful and interesting Jefferson House. The tour guides are local and lively - lots of fun. We toured in the morning and essentially had a private tour.

Our cottage was fine (Servant's Cottage 2). The bedroom was very comfortable, there was a functional kitchenette and large bathroom. Interestingly, there was satellite tv but no wifi. There was a front porch with rockers and ceiling fans (it was August). Very pastoral and the peacocks added interest. They provide car covers because the peacocks like to look at their reflection and sometimes peck the cars. The breakfast was self made and basic from items left in the cottage, for example, bagels, pre-packaged muffins, cereal (really? - Frosted Flakes and Sugar Pops for an adult breakfast!). Surely there must be a better option for such a nice accommodation as this one. Nothing is perfect, but this place is special.

So, why was it special? You arrive at the property by driving down a live oak lined lane. There is an iron gate through which you must pass still leaving a ways to go to get to the property. After 5pm, the iron gate was closed and we were essentially alone on the property, especially the second night when we were the only overnight guests. We didn't see or hear another person. We walked the property, had drinks on the veranda of the big house and basically immersed ourselves in the imagination of what it must have been like to live on this property in historic times. This was so relaxing and special for us we booked another night.

A dining tip - if you decide to eat in and enjoy the property like we did one night, the local pizza places will deliver to the iron gate. You just meet them there (a 1 minute drive) and go from there. Fun! We'd go back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Columbia, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

I couldn't believe how beautiful this place was for the price. They loaded the refrigerator down with food and drinks!! The historical house tour was ok but the bed and breakfast was amazing. It was sooo quiet and peaceful there. I can't wait to go back. The bed was also very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventurermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

A wonderful experience! Be sure that you have plenty of time to tour the grounds. Clean and friendly. I felt like we got a great deal for a nice stay and a unique experience.

Interesting: the provide a car cover and recommend you use it or else the peacocks will peck at your car (they like the reflections!).

Location of the gardens and this retreat is gorgeous, but remote. Be sure you scope out where you will eat before coming! There is not much around and the few options close early or aren't open on Sundays.

We stayed in the "servants quarters" behind the main house, which think was a historical structure, renovated into a little duplex cottage. I felt like we were in a tropical rainforest with the peacocks and lush gardens. The suite was a bedroom, separate efficiency kitchen, and bathroom. The bed was comfortable and everything clean. It's an old structure so signs of it's age were visible.

We had lunch at the Jefferson Cafe. Limited menu but my Shrimp Remoulade on a bed of greens was quality. We had dinner at a local dive: The Boiling Point. A good price for 4lbs of crawfish!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
181 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We recently stayed in the Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens and the stay there far exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the "Servants Quarters" which were clean, comfortable and contributed to the very unique experience. Snacks, a make your own breakfast and wine and cheese are furnished with your room. The Jefferson Cafe, overlooking the lake and surrounded by the gardens, is a must for a quiet luncheon. The gardens and the Joseph Jefferson Mansion contribute to the entire experience and are well worth the time. This is a place to help you get away from the hustle and bustle and completely relax. You should plan to spend at least two or three nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulsajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we found this place. It is wonderful. Actually, there are three "cottages'. Cook's is one of them and is closer to the office and restaurant. The other two are "Servants' Quarters and are more secluded. We were traveling with another couple and stayed in the adjoining Servant's Quarters. From our porch we faced an herb garden and beautiful trees and flowers. As previous reviews have noted, they provide everything you need for a Continental breakfast, along with wine, cheese, crackers and snacks; all of which are restocked each day. There is a refrigerator, microwave, and table in each unit. The bed was comfortable.

We had lunch at the Jefferson Cafe - it overlooks the lake and food is wonderful. The Jefferson Manstion (tour included in cottage price) is beautiful. We loved strolling the garden paths and were entertained by the peacocks, who strutted and fanned and visited our porch.

After 5 p.m. just about everyone goes home and we have the place to ourselves. We enjoyed sitting on porch of mansion to enjoy our wine and cheese. On last night there, our amiable host, Mike Richard, visited with us and gave us a lot of fascinating history of the area.

The price is $134 for weeknights (when we stayed) and includes unlimited use of grounds/gardens, tour of mansion, aforementioned snacks & breakfast, and a tour of the mansion.

We highly recommend this place and would stay again.

Room Tip: Cook's Cottage has a living room but smaller kitchen area. We liked the Servants' Quarters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Iberia
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Iberia
7.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Iberia
Candlewood Suites New Iberia
#4 of 12 in New Iberia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Iberia
7.1 mi away
Ramada New Iberia
Ramada New Iberia
#5 of 12 in New Iberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
8.8 mi away
Louisiana Cajun Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens

Property: Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens
Address: 5505 Rip Van Winkle Road, New Iberia, LA 70560
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Iberia
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Iberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing