We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at Cafe”

Rip Van Winkle Gardens
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in New Iberia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch at Cafe”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We had lunch at the cafe and it was wonderful. Four of us had an eggplant something. It had crawfish and crab meat and was wonderful. There was enough crab meat to taste the crab meat and enough spice for an awesome flavor but not too much spice to take away from the egg plant , crab and crawfish flavor. Definitely will go back on my next visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sabduv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    52
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
309 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Mansion - Gardens OK - Overall Very Good”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We went to this place on an overcast and drizzly day.

The access to the property is not well marked but not too hard to find.

The entrance is through the gift shop (what a surprise) and in general the store does not have much to offer that is unusual.

Staff very helpful and we were ushered to see the video as it was about to start.

The video is very important to see as it gives great insight to the history and disaster that struck here as well as the overall vastness of the estate.

The gardens leading up to the mansion are adequate but not stunning, interesting but not encompassing.

Make sure to get a map as some things are not too well marked.

The mansion is a gem to see and our tour guide was passionate about her job and made the tour so much more enjoyable.

The tour of the mansion is of the lower floor only and the upper living area is out of bounds which was such a disappointment as this is such a major part of seeing how people lived in the house especially when the feature of the house was the three story center feature of the house.

Nevertheless the tour was very informative and a lot of period and original antiques are in place as well as original art and craft of the families that lived there.

The tour of the mansion was the high-lite of this attraction.

Make sure you try the restaurant as it was worth going to. The food was great and the seating and view were too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TangoForFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pretty neat, if you're bored”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Rip Van Winkle Gardens was perfect for a beautiful day out. The gardens were pretty but nothing to write home about. The most disappointing part was the attendant when we arrived. She seemed more focuses on yelling on the phone about bridal photos than greeting us or telling us about the park. AFTER we had walked around for two hours, we found there was a small theater on site, just outside the gift shop. The video explained the history of the place and showed actual video of the salt mine collapsing in 1980. GEE! Wish I had known before I went exploring. The video explained the chimney out in the middle of the water as well as the old mill ruins out in the lake. Additionally, we didn't know you could tour the house itself. Had the lady at the front taken two seconds to greet us rather than just taking our money, we might have gotten a little more out of it. Its worth a stop if you have time. If you're pressured for time, keep going.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank parrishtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galt
Level Contributor
157 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delightful Old Property, not orginal”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Good parking; plan to do some walking. Neat old style mansion and property. A few antiques and nice views. Gift shop usual stuff. The lake has a unique story.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnybear47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
387 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Loved our visit!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We really enjoyed our trip to Rip Van Winkle Gardens. The house and stories about the families who lived there were very interesting. Beautiful flowers, trees, and plants and there were several peacocks on the grounds. What happened in 1980 to Lake Pegneur was fascinating. Don't miss Rip Van Winkle Gardens.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rip Van Winkle Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Rip Van Winkle Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing