We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Rip Van Winkle Gardens
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in New Iberia
Certificate of Excellence
Red Bay, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We enjoyed the experience we had at the Gardens, we were there during a cold front which is not normal, but we still enjoyed it. I am sure early summer all the flowers would be beautiful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    50
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OnTheRoad, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“wonderful, even in the off season!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We went in January, so the grounds were not in bloom, or even particularly green. They were still beautiful to walk through.
We enjoyed the short film on the history of the site, and then walked the grounds.
Our favorite part of the location was the house, and the optional tour. Our tour guilde was Madeline, and she did a great job giving us interesting little tidbits on the history of the Jeffersons and the home. It was very interesting to learn about the history of the Rip Van Winkle play and how it came to be.
We visited with 9 children, ages 2 to 17, and she was very thorough, as well as bringing up details that would keep the interest of the younger kids. She wove the history of the 2 main families that built/preserved the house throughout the tour, and she was engaging. Our tour lasted 50 minutes.
Very nice gift shop, popular cafe, and extensive grounds to explore. Beautiful stop!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TicknorTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful and well worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

There was nothing I did not like about this place. The grounds were gorgeous, the tour was done by a lady who definitely knew what she was talking about, the food in the restaurant was delicous and the gift shop was filled with great memoribilla of both the gardens and the surrounding area. Oh and don't miss the hundreds of flamingos, egrets and pelicans that hang around in the trees nor the peacocks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayne, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overnight stay at the Cook's Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

My family and I recently stayed overnight at the Cook's Cottage at Rip Van Winkle gardens in New Iberia, LA. I was impressed by the hospitality and consideration that was given. Our room was stocked with a juice and milk for each individual. It also had a bottle of wine, lots of snacks, and cereal and bagels breakfast. There was a small oven, a microwave, and a small refrigerator. The employees there were friendly and full of smiles. I really enjoyed the peacocks all over the beautiful, breath taking grounds and the opportunity to learn history while I viewed the house. You don't have to check out until 11 am and because they provide the breakfast for you to fix at your convenience you even get to sleep late. I believe for the price this is a steal as a tiny get away trip. I would highly recommend even if you don't sleep over that you go visit the gardens and try the delicious food at their cafe on the grounds. It's so worth it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Monroe, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We've been here several times and each time we see interesting things we missed before. It's beautifully maintained, peaceful and a step back in history. The home place with the old live oaks is really picturesque. The only disappointment was not being able to tour the upstairs of the Jefferson Home. Otherwise, well worth the time and cost.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rip Van Winkle Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Rip Van Winkle Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing