We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New Iberia
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in New Iberia
LAKELAND
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have stayed with this hotel on and off for about two years now. I am a manager for a construction company out of Florida, and have enjoyed the homestyle atmospher this particular hotel trys to give to their guest's. Although they have recently stopped serving dinner on thursday evenings for their guests. "Mrs Pam makes a mean meatloaf just like mom used to make" I cannot say enough great things about the manager Mrs Pam! You can tell she loves her guest's as if they are family. I have to add, clean fresh soft towels anytime you need. OMG!!!!!! The housekeeping staff go out of their way for you as well, always a smile and a goodmorning, same as the front desk, thats if they are not folding fresh laundry. They are great. I must add I liked the place so much my wife and I had our wedding reception there. If you are just passing through or in town for an extended stay, I say give them a try.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. I have stayed in all types they offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRED R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    16
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
14
2
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Iberia, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

If you happen to be traveling through New Iberia or staying long term in New Iberia, LA, Candlewood Suites is the place to stay. I have been to many hotels as my job requires extensive travel and long term away from home. I can honestly tell you that Candlewood Suites is the place to stay. The rates are far better than the competition and the staff are eager to help, realizing you are away from family and friends and everything that makes a home a home, they strive in making you feel as though you are at your house. Clean rooms, friendly staff and warm smiles.

Room Tip: Ask for a large suite if staying long term!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBroussard, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites New Iberia, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Texas Clay, thank you so much for your review. I am happy that you considered Candleweood Suites New Iberia, your home-away-from home during your stay with us. My staff and I strive to give our guests that execeptional service you so deserve. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel is nice, staff is great... But internet in my room was non-existant! If I walked out to the hall it worked fine. If you are working in New Iberia, it is much better to stay here than deal with the traffic traveling back and forth to Lafayette.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBroussard, General Manager at Candlewood Suites New Iberia, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your review and take your comments seriously. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we have already made improvements to our internet service. We have added new access points and will upgrade our speed very soon. I hope that you will allow us to serve you again while visiting the New Iberia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel three times now. The first was about 4 years ago. We were one of their first guests after opening ... the paint was still tacky. The second was just a couple years ago. Those times were to visit family. And now, this third time because of the tragic death of my 13 year old grandson.

The hotel is the same ... just a little older and more worn out as hotels get with use. The manager, Pam, remembered us. Our room was a 2 Queen Suite. Everything was good. Although I do wish they had non-stick pans. Those skillets are so very hard to clean and all we did was fry an egg over easy. The room was clean except for a sticky spot (gum?) on the bedspread. I mentioned it and it was changed immediately.

The air conditioning was difficult. If it was on, it got too cold. If we turned it off, it got too hot. We never changed the temp, but it just couldn't regulate itself very well. The beds were a little lumpy, but that's probably from use.

There were 3 washers in the laundry room. When we got there one was out of order. Two days later, TWO were out of order. This is in an extended stay hotel! We mentioned it to the person at the desk (a sales manager, I think he said). He said he didn't know anything about either of them being out of order. He called for repair, but when we left a day or two later, they were still not working.

The one elevator they had was out of order the second day we were there. I went to go down to get some coffee in the morning and pushed the button to go down. Then I realized there was a note on the other side of the elevator. So I hoofed it down to the main floor. I questioned the manager and she said she called for service and didn't expect them to come until about 9:30. We were supposed to leave before then to make arrangements for my grandsons remains. My husband has an illness and is weak .... he couldn't be expected to take the stairs. I told the manager and she suggested that when we were ready to leave we should call her and someone would come and help us. That's nice, but very embarrassing. However, that wasn't even necessary. She called our room before we were ready to leave and said the elevator was fixed. That was a nice touch.

We were there for 6 nights. One night there was a family in the room above us. It sounded like kids running and jumping off beds and landing on the floor. I can handle a little of that, but it started around 5:30 am! We called the front desk at 6:30 and eventually the noise stopped ... they had checked out. We asked that they not put someone in the room above us if at all possible and they complied.

The night before we left there were people in the hallway singing very loudly, doors slamming, and lots of noise. This was at 11:30 pm. We didn't complain since we were leaving the next morning. I almost called, though. If it had gone on I would have, but they seemed to get it out of their system in a short time.

The grill by the pool is very nice. We didn't use it, but a couple people staying did.

This was a nice hotel. All staff was friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a room by the elevator...you get ALL the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodkop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New Iberia, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Foodkop,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. I would also like to apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

I stay in hotels 300 plus days a year and choose to stay at candlewoods suite upon arrival I requested a low floor away from elevator didnt happen went to 3rd floor reeked of cigarette smoke I was in a non smoking and it was ok 2 of the 3 washing machines didnt work an desk staff could care less about it even when I checked in I statedto her I was going to be doing laundry what a let down

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DsneyBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New Iberia, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear DsneyBoyz,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the room accommodations and service you received did not live up to your expectations. We also apologize for your disappointment with our Laundry machines. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

A very frequent business traveler, this is one of the more disappointing stays that I have had in quite some time. Based on other reviews and comments from staff, they obviously are aware that their wireless internet is poor. I could not connect with any of my devices at all until I moved to a different room on a different floor, which was very inconvenient. After the move, I could connect, but still was spotty at best. I was told that they are in the process of fixing, but my guess is that they are trying to save money and put a band aid on the problem rather than actually fixing it.
There were other issues as well - the entire third floor had a foul odor, as did the room that I moved to on the second floor. Not sure why the third floor smelled bad. I think my second room did so because it had been smoked in, although it was a non-smoking room. Also, the luggage cart that I used had a broken wheel which made it difficult to use - perhaps trying to save money again by keeping something in service that is broken. The office chair was so low compared with the height of desk that it made it difficult to work. Finally, when I returned home, I found that I had been given someone elses invoice. I called to ask that they email a copy of mine and was told that they would send it right away - that never happened - had to go online and track it down that way.

At the front desk, they tout that they are #1 on Trip Advisor. Well, there are not a lot of properties in New Iberia and they actually are #2 at this time...and I expect they will continue to fall if things don't improve. As a Priority Club Platinum member and frequent guest at Candlewood and other IHG brands, I am disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tex4211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Seaux, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites New Iberia, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
I would like to thank you for your detailed review on Tripadvisor and thank you for staying with us!
Firstly, I would like to apologize that we did not meet satisfactory results upon your stay. Our wired/wireless internet had been upgraded in March and have not experienced any known issues or complaints, I will review our data usage report to see if there were any fluctuations within the last month and contact our ISP to validate any potential bandwidth issues we could have experienced . I can assure you that we take pride in assessing the problem with great urgency and do not cut corners in cost. Regarding the odor you experienced, we've actually never had a complaint with odor, to the best of my knowledge you may have smelled the odor of a guest cooking, as we are an extended stay facility, alot of our guests tend to cook in their rooms and sometimes upon opening their doors that smell will filter into the hallways. We have automated air fresheners per floor, but as we cannot control what our guests are cooking, we hope that you can understand. Our smoking rooms are checked often for the smell of smoke, as well as our non-smoking rooms, which if one smokes in a non-smoking room they will be charged a fine. I'm sorry for your disappointment. We always suggest that if there are issues to please let the staff know so that we may fix these errors to make your stay more enjoyable. As it seems in the details of your described stay there may have been several issues that could have been explained properly or looked into fixing to enhance your overall pleasure. Again, I would like to thank you for staying with us and I am so sorry that your experience wasn't as satisfactory as it could have been.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The hotel was a great deal with a Government Rate. Lots at home features. Stove top, pots pans, plates full size fridge with Ice maker. Some things not included. NO Ice machine. No room service unless you ask. VERY LOW BAND WIDTH INTERNET. All based on WIFI that is bear minimum. Outstanding Staff with a welcome Gumbo the first night. NO BREAKFAST but free soso coffee in the Store pantry. Decedent prices of shelf items. NO Gouging . Very close to HWY 90 and about 8 miles from Avery Island. TOBASCO capital of DA world and it’s a free tour.

Room Tip: Look for a Room close to the elevator you may get better WIFI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Seaux, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites New Iberia, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! I do apologize for the bandwidth of the internet, we are currently upgrading our access points to provide a more pleasant experience via WiFi in a small minority of our rooms, we do have direct LAN access via an Ethernet cable, but I understand for mobile devices it can be inconvenient. I am so glad you enjoyed the gumbo! A taste of Louisiana! Also, so happy that you are satisfied with our Candlewood Cupboard pricing! We do understand that a decent amount of guests appreciate the convenience, without the inflated convenience charge, So, glad to hear from you and we hope to see you soon, there is much to see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Iberia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Iberia
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Iberia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada New Iberia
Ramada New Iberia
#5 of 12 in New Iberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites New Iberia
Days Inn & Suites New Iberia
#6 of 12 in New Iberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 12 in New Iberia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New Iberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New Iberia

Property: Candlewood Suites New Iberia
Address: 2600 Highway 14, New Iberia, LA 70560-8395
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Iberia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in New Iberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites New Iberia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy New Iberia Hotel's Terrific Service & Perks. Candlewood Suites New Iberia-Avery Island Hotel is located off the 49/90 corridor with easy access to the city's top attractions and major businesses. This unique bayou area has a rich history in the rice, oil and sugar cane industries in and around New Iberia, LA, and lodging at the Candlewood Suites New Iberia hotel is a great way to explore it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Candlewood Suites New Iberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New Iberia Hotel New Iberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing