We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty and casual, loved the fried catfish!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victor's Cafeteria

Victor's Cafeteria
Ranked #5 of 108 Restaurants in New Iberia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tasty and casual, loved the fried catfish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Pleasant place to have lunch - always nice to see the food before you choose! Staff was very helpful and offered us a taste when we needed help making up our mind!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarpetAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    28
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
141 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A true southern cafeteria experience plus more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

When I became a tour director in 2000, I learned that cafeterias are a very southern thing. I have taken my groups to many, some great and some OK. Fortunately, Danny Bonaventure of Allonsa Lafayette Tours recommended this for our group when we had a lunch on our own. It was excellent. The choices were good for everyone and the decor was so incredibly interesting. The staff was extra friendly too. We also learned that Victor's has a place in all of James Lee Burke's novels. There is even a little cut out of a store he talks about in his books. This is a must stop just for the local experience if not the delicious food. It tasted so good I couldn't quit eating even when I was full!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StLTourGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent plate lunches and desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Victors is open for breakfast and lunch. The food is filling and delicious. The desserts are amazing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pmlaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Experiance the South - This is the Real Deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Victor's Cafeteria on East Main Street in New Iberia has been the place for breakfast and lunch for decades. A line of southern comfort food is served up by the friendly folks that cook it. You can't go wrong with any selection. A favorite eating spot for writer James Lee Burke, you'll eat amoung the locals where you are just as likely to hear Cajun French spoken as English. The is the real deal!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Took my daughter for brunch. Other places were not even thought of. We had not only great food selections, we met with friends. Great food, great company.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cneuner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Victor's Cafeteria also viewed

 

Been to Victor's Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing