We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B With Fabulous Hospitality”

Estorge-Norton House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Iberia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Estorge-Norton House
Ranked #3 of 5 New Iberia B&B and Inns
Manzanillo
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great B&B With Fabulous Hospitality”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Six of us stayed at this B&B for just one night. It's located in the historic part of town. Our hosts, Jo and Charles, were just wonderful. The house is historic and full of antiques so if you are looking for ultra-modern then this may not be the place for you. The hot breakfast we were served was exceptional. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KIWIZLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Jo and Charles are great hosts in this town. Though they had things to do that day, they gave freely of their knowlege of New Iberia and its surroundings. They directed us to the best places to eat and the best things to see. I'm glad they did, because I would have never found that restaurant, and it was GREAT! (That's another review.) Their house was interesting, clean, and accomodating. Everything was great; food, bed, bathroom, company. A great place to stay in New Iberia, LA.

Room Tip: Spend as much time as possible with Jo and Charles; they're quality and they know the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Very average b&b. 7 am is too early for breakfast. We just got dry cereal and fruit. The bed mattress was covered in a crinkly plastic. And the sheets didn't fit the mattress. Resulting in sleeping on plastic. The house is on a noisy Main Street, so an off-street room would be preferable. Truck traffic, I think. Hosts were very knowledgeable about the area and eating places. House is full of antiques.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fallsbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aransas Pass, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We celebrated a friend's 65th birthday here. Great location & wonderful historic home! We had a great time and enjoyed walking downtown. We felt very welcome by our hosts and the breakfasts were extremely delicious! When it was time to leave on Sunday we spent a lot of time just chatting with the Nortons, delaying our inevitable departure. They are a very interesting & well-travelled couple with much to share with their guests.

Room Tip: We had the suite on the second floor; separate entrance & private bath with a sun porch. With t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We love staying in Bed and Breakfast and historical hotels and this one ranks at the top.We stayed in the Suite on the second floor. Clean, comfortable, great hosts, wonderful breakfasts, great history of the house and area.....

If you have bad knees as I do, you will have to peg-leg them upstairs but was doable. It is hard to find B and B's with rooms downstairs.

I read some of the reviews before we went. Yes, the door is locked to the kitchen/downstairs. That is where the Norton's live. I would not want people rambling through the house late at night either. Another person talked about "rules" posted. I would rather know the expectations before I stayed. Apparently, they had some bad experiences with rude guests to put some of the things. (Like: No smoking in room.) Most of the "rules" on the page are common sense things that some people don't think are important.

We would stay again, no doubt. Love the area, the food, the history and the people.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txfrmgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My sister and i were traveling through Cajun Country and stayed here two nights while in New Iberia.

The location is perfect, on Main Street, very near downtown and close to the Shadows on the Teche. The innkeepers were especially friendly, warm and gracious. They made and served us excellent full breakfasts each morning and chatted with us about things to do in the area. They could not have been more welcoming.

A previous posted said they were anal and had signs everywhere about what not to do. This was not my experience at all and furthermore I would not bring small children to a b&b as most owners are also antique and art collectors and there is much of irreplaceable value that could be broken or damaged by little ones.

We had the suite on the top floor and it was fine and comfortable. The only problem was that is was dark but we were not there much during the day. Oddly there was a kitchen but had nothing in it--no ice, wine opener or knife. We stayed in this room at the innkeepers suggestion as it has two air conditioners and she was right, we needed it in July! The rooms were very cool and comfortable.

We did check out the other room s and if you are coming as a couple they are really nice and bright rooms filled with lovely antiques and furnishings.

The grounds are very well maintained and beautifully landscaped.

When I return to New Iberia, I will definitely stay here!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

My husband have stayed at this B&B many times, as he works occasionally works in New Iberia and we live over an hour away. The innkeepers are very friendly. They keep a beautiful garden and offer a tasty breakfast. We are pesca vegetarians, and they always offer delicious foods that meet our dietary needs.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LABillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Iberia hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Iberia
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Iberia
Candlewood Suites New Iberia
#4 of 12 in New Iberia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites New Iberia
Days Inn & Suites New Iberia
#6 of 12 in New Iberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada New Iberia
Ramada New Iberia
#5 of 12 in New Iberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Iberia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estorge-Norton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estorge-Norton House

Property: Estorge-Norton House
Address: 446 E Main St, New Iberia, LA 70560-3731
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Iberia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Iberia
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing