We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A property loaded with the charm of the past with modern day conveniences.”

Estorge-Norton House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Iberia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Estorge-Norton House
Ranked #3 of 5 New Iberia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2013

A property loaded with the charm of the past with modern day conveniences. Our knowledgeable hosts directed us to wonderful side trips to get the flavor of the region. As comfortable as the beds were...more remarkable than that, was the amazing breakfast. Their breakfast table could have been the setting for a masterpiece painting. " Iron chefs" could consider a challenge with these great cooks featuring great South Louisiana cuisine.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

The hosts, Jo and Charles went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable ! The Nortons take great pride in the breakfast that they provide and is an enjoyable highlight of the visit (they are one of the only to provide breakfast!). The room was clean and made for a pleasant stay. The downtown location is a plus- we enjoyed taking an evening walk to see historic New Iberia. Jo and Charles are very knowlegable of the area and provide great recommendations of restaurants and places to visit.
By far the one thing that makes this B & B special is Jo and Charles ! They are positive, friendly, and kind people and we thank them so very much for making our stay so special and memorable !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Six of us stayed at this B&B for just one night. It's located in the historic part of town. Our hosts, Jo and Charles, were just wonderful. The house is historic and full of antiques so if you are looking for ultra-modern then this may not be the place for you. The hot breakfast we were served was exceptional. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank KIWIZLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Jo and Charles are great hosts in this town. Though they had things to do that day, they gave freely of their knowlege of New Iberia and its surroundings. They directed us to the best places to eat and the best things to see. I'm glad they did, because I would have never found that restaurant, and it was GREAT! (That's another review.) Their house was interesting, clean, and accomodating. Everything was great; food, bed, bathroom, company. A great place to stay in New Iberia, LA.

Room Tip: Spend as much time as possible with Jo and Charles; they're quality and they know the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Very average b&b. 7 am is too early for breakfast. We just got dry cereal and fruit. The bed mattress was covered in a crinkly plastic. And the sheets didn't fit the mattress. Resulting in sleeping on plastic. The house is on a noisy Main Street, so an off-street room would be preferable. Truck traffic, I think. Hosts were very knowledgeable about the area and eating places. House is full of antiques.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fallsbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We celebrated a friend's 65th birthday here. Great location & wonderful historic home! We had a great time and enjoyed walking downtown. We felt very welcome by our hosts and the breakfasts were extremely delicious! When it was time to leave on Sunday we spent a lot of time just chatting with the Nortons, delaying our inevitable departure. They are a very interesting & well-travelled couple with much to share with their guests.

Room Tip: We had the suite on the second floor; separate entrance & private bath with a sun porch. With t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We love staying in Bed and Breakfast and historical hotels and this one ranks at the top.We stayed in the Suite on the second floor. Clean, comfortable, great hosts, wonderful breakfasts, great history of the house and area.....

If you have bad knees as I do, you will have to peg-leg them upstairs but was doable. It is hard to find B and B's with rooms downstairs.

I read some of the reviews before we went. Yes, the door is locked to the kitchen/downstairs. That is where the Norton's live. I would not want people rambling through the house late at night either. Another person talked about "rules" posted. I would rather know the expectations before I stayed. Apparently, they had some bad experiences with rude guests to put some of the things. (Like: No smoking in room.) Most of the "rules" on the page are common sense things that some people don't think are important.

We would stay again, no doubt. Love the area, the food, the history and the people.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txfrmgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Iberia hotels
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Iberia
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Iberia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 12 in New Iberia
54 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada New Iberia
Ramada New Iberia
#4 of 12 in New Iberia
244 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites New Iberia
Days Inn & Suites New Iberia
#5 of 12 in New Iberia
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estorge-Norton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estorge-Norton House

Address: 446 E Main St, New Iberia, LA 70560-3731
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Iberia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Iberia
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing