We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Evangeline Downs Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Opelousas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the price!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Check in was a breeze. Room was clean and comfortable. Bed was amazing. Nice touch having a refrigerator with complementary water. Noticeable wear and tear in the bathroom, but nothing worth complaining about. Breakfast was delicious. Since it was free I won't dwell on the fact that the waffle maker kept getting stuck and that they're was at least a ten minute wait to get one. Casino service better than expected. Restaurants exceeded expectations. Overall, great hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peytoncamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our trip advisor survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    34
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
31
20
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

As a Puerto Rican and natural born US citizen, this hotel casino had me dealing with one of the most embarrassing and discriminating situations I've been through in my life. They refused my completely valid driver's license/state ID because according to them us Puerto Ricans need to show a passport since we're not a state. We are NOT required to issue a passport at all and our state ID is as valid as that of the any other 50 states. Get your small town mentality out of the hole and educate yourselves better so you and your staff can provide a better service.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vreiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for leaving an online survey regarding your recent stay at Evangeline Downs Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our casino for failing to meet your expectations regarding I.D. verification process on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with Casino to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Opelousas.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Evangeline Downs Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I've stayed her as well as had my friends here since it's opened too many times to count. Always the people working are friendly and helpful! If another hotel guest is disturbing your comfort all you have to do is call downstairs and they will fix whatever they can. The free breakfast us always a plus! My favorite is their sausage and gravy with a biscuit and bacon!:)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patches0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We very much appreciate and value your feedback. Your responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Evangeline Downs Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erath, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

After reading some of the reviews, I was a little worried, but I got in my room and all my concerns were gone. The room was a lot larger than most rooms. We had a perfect room, 201. It was at the end of the hall and nothing near us. The room was really clean. Bathroom was larger than expected and well stocked. It had many towels and first class amenities. The breakfast was well done and had a variety of items. They only problem was that there was no juice. The machine was broken and none in the little fridge.

Room Tip: Room 201 was perfect. If you have the option to ask for it, I would suggest that one. I am guessin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Evangeline Downs Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayne, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My family and I staid there 11-29-13 it was 8pm before we had any towels in the room and I had to go get them Myself. It seems the motel has a shortage of towels or not prepared for a large group at one time. There should be enough towels for every room for at least 2 days. Then the pool and hot tub was shut down the kids had nothing to do except drive us nuts from being bored. I have staid there before and it was great. This trip was just not and enjoyable one couldnt wait to get back home...

Room Tip: In my eyes its not a good place to go during a holiday or if it's booked up
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlbivens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding linen shortage and closed pool on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with the entire staff to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Opelousas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed one weekend night for a reunion of local classmates. The hotel was easy to check in, but rooms on a weekend are booked fully, so our check-in was at nearly 4 o'clock. Rooms are nicely appointed, and the beds were exceptionally soft with pillow top mattresses. Refridge, large tv, coffeemaker, but the clock was probably bought at a local wal mart, and was difficult to set. Bad. All the food restaurants were located in the casino area, and while considered non-smoking, were nauseatingly smoky. And if you stay on a weekend, be prepared for a VERY NOISY EVENI G!! Reunions, weddings, and family events make this a VERY noisy hotel. Management was contacted twice about noise, but nothing was done to correct the problem. I'm too old for these type hotels!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I was driving from south Florida to Dallas and after a long, long drive, my husband reserved a room at this Ascend Collection hotel, through our Choice Hotels program, because it was supposed to be really nice, and pet-friendly. It was an hour out of my way, but I said okay since I had never stayed at an Ascend Collection Hotel. I didn't know this hotel was connected to a casino and race track, since my husband booked it while I was driving.
Pros
I had a room with a King bed. The room was a nice size with round table and chairs, desk, sofa, bar area. It had a comfortable bed and pillows with black/white checkered floors and bedding with red accents, new carpet and the furniture looked clean. There were a couple of small bottles of water in the refrigerator and some microwave popcorn. The towels were huge, soft and white. It has an indoor pool and hot tub and the some kids there were having fun. It was extremely quiet considering there was a casino next door. The morning desk staff were very helpful, nice, and congenial, as were the breakfast ladies.
Cons
The bathroom was small compared to the room, but had a big vanity with mirror too far away to be useful. I would suggest a magnification mirror for shaving or putting on makeup. The coffeemaker contraption; is a waste of coffee and water. I never found any ice machine on the 3rd floor and is not feasible to take children/puppies up and down the different floors trying to find some ice. You had to use the block out shades and you couldn't open the curtains because the blinking lights were so annoying. I had my two puppies with me and I went an hour out of my way to stay there. My husband called the hotel and explained that I was arriving late and requested a 1st floor room, if possible. We were put on the 3rd floor, at the very end, by the elevator and vending machines. So I had to wrestle with them up and down the elevator numerous times. With a pet charge of $50 on top of the regular room charge, it was too much for nothing extra! We didn't see, nor were we told of any safe pet walking, or play area, like other pet-friendly Choice Hotels! Not even a dog treat! Instead I had to walk in the parking lot late at night trying to find a place to walk them safely. I didn't get an opportunity to visit the casino or track because it was late, and I left very early at 630am, but it wasn't worth the extra hour out of my way to get there.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 335, the blinking lights will make you crazy. Don't stay next to the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelllang507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks you for your feedback it is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelousas
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Opelousas
Holiday Inn Opelousas
#1 of 7 in Opelousas
74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Opelousas
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Opelousas
Comfort Inn Opelousas
#7 of 7 in Opelousas
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lafayette Airport
19.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#22 of 50 in Lafayette
119 reviews
17.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Breaux Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evangeline Downs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evangeline Downs Hotel

Property: Evangeline Downs Hotel
Address: 2235 Creswell Ln Ext Ste B, Opelousas, LA 70570-1982
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Opelousas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Opelousas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Evangeline Downs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Evangeline Downs Hotel, an Ascend Collection® hotel, is connected to Louisiana's prestigious Evangeline Downs Racetrack & Casino, home of quarter horse racing, gaming, live entertainment, numerous restaurants and more. All spacious and inviting guest rooms are furnished with flat-screen televisions, coffee makers, desks, hair dryers, refrigerators, microwaves, safes, irons, ironing boards, pillow-top mattresses and cable television. Select rooms offer upgraded amenities like wet bars, sofa sleepers and balconies. This is a pet-friendly hotel; fees apply. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most vehicles. Additional attractions close to this Ascend Collection hotel in Louisiana include the Creole Heritage Folklife Center museum, Le Vieux Village historic landmark area, Opelousas Museum of Art and the Rural African American Museum. Opelousas is home to a number of annual events like the Original Southwest Louisiana Zydeco Festival, Yambilee Festival and the Holy Ghost Creole Festival. Hotel guest services and amenities: Direct access to Casino from Hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast served daily 6 am to 10 am, Two (2) Elevators giving easy access to all floors, Large indoor swimming pool, Large sitting area for guests, Large 6-8 person whirlpool/hot tub, Large exercise/fitness room with state of the art exercise equipment, Large attractive breakfast room w/ patio seating, Meeting room, seating capacity for 60 people, 40” LCDs in each room, Handicap designed rooms to exceed the ADA requirements, Ample on site parking with handicap parking, Large fireplace in the spacious lobby that has a warm and homey comfortable theme. All queen and king pillow top beds, In-room safes, Coin-operated laundry facilities with folding/work area, Free High Speed/Wireless in each room and throughout hotel, Microwaves and refrigerators in all guest rooms, Dry bar or wet bar in all guest rooms, Coffee makers, full length mirrors, recliners, ergonomic chairs, large work areas, hair dryers, irons and boards in all guest rooms. Business center with computers and printer. After a long day, guests of this Opelousas, LA hotel can unwind in the exercise room, or relax at the indoor heated pool and hot tub. For the corporate traveler, this Louisiana hotel provides an assortment of modern conveniences like an on-site business center, a public computer with Internet access, and access to copy and fax service. A banquet and meeting room is located on the premises and can accommodate up to 50 people for most functions. At the Evangeline Downs Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, you can surround yourself with an array of amenities and personalized service. Make a reservation with us today and let us exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Evangeline Downs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing