We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Evangeline Downs Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Opelousas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights and used as a base to explore the area. Rooms are good, decor is quite dark, but ok. Bathroom was clean but the shower is very slippery so beware. Overall service, cleanliness etc was good. Review would have been 4 stars but the Saturday night was terrible. Noisy and it seemed like a children's club. Avoid Saturday if you want any sleep.

Room Tip: No ice above 2nd floor, so if you need it stay on 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mediocriollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for taking time to leave a trip advisor review. Your input is very important to us and will help us improve these imperfections. Thanks again

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    34
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
31
20
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We usually stay at the Comfort Inn in this town but had a casino deal making the overall cost about the same. Upon arrival there were several people in the lobby as they could not be checked in until the rooms were "cleared", apparently a computer process that needed to be completed. Once we were finally checked in it was pretty much an average stay at a choice hotel. Rooms were average size and comfortable, breakfast was good, and staff were helpful. This place is usually priced higher than other places in town, I presume because it is attached to the casino, but don't come expecting a typical casino hotel or you will be disappointed. Unless you plan to get too drunk to drive back to another hotel, there is nothing here that justifies the normal higher rate. Does have an indoor pool but fills with kids pretty quickly rendering it unusable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wichitadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thanks for your feedback, it is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Well since my last review of this hotel in July of last year, things have taken a turn for the worst. My mother got us the room and is VIP at Evangeline Downs. So much good that does because the way this staff treats VIP guest is atrocious. We have stayed here about 4 times since July 2013 and each time got worse. This time was absolutely unacceptable. My mother checked into the room earlier on Saturday, Feb. 22, 2014. I came in town for a First Communion celebration for my niece. After spending the evening at my brothers home we went to the hotel and got there about midnight. We go ready for bed and used the restroom and the commode would not flush. My partner went down to the front desk for a plunger and was told that they did not have one. The agent went to a mechanical room to look for one as my partner followed. She did not find one there either. She said she would look for one and get back with us. This was about 1:30 am. We were so tired and could not stay up waiting to be called back that we went to sleep. The next morning we called the front desk to ask about a plunger letting the lady know that we have been waiting for one since 1:30am. The lady said she did not have one and that housekeeping did not come in until 9:00am. I went downstairs to use the restroom by the pool because our commode was backed up to the rim. After using the restroom in a public one when we had a hotel room I went to get coffee in the breakfast area about 7:30-7:45 am. The lady at the front desk was talking with about 5 housekeeping ladies in the laundry room behind the desk with the laundry door open. They were all getting towels and folding towels and obviously working. I then went upstairs to our room and told my partner about the ladies downstairs all working and he went down. Well Ms. Williams (the name that she gave him) said....They are not clocked in, when he asked if one of the 5 housekeepers that were there could please go and get a plunger for him. When he came up and told me that, I went downstairs to tell Ms. Williams that I was calling the Labor Board on the hotel which I will for having employees in an area working if they are indeed not on the clock. We were so frustrated that we got our things and checked out and went to my mothers home. We did not take a shower as the restroom was not able to be used. As I left, I told Ms. Williams that I worked for Hilton and why did she treat us that way? Why did she not get us a plunger? She said that she looked for one but...I told her that I would be leaving a review on Tripadvisor and asked if this was a Choice Hotel. She answered back in a smart smirk as if she could not be bothered that I was a living and breathing person. When I told her about Tripadvisor, either she or the lady at the computer with glasses and a grey wrap in her hair laughed for a second as to mock me.

The room condition was inhumane. I thought I was staying a hotel in a third world country, NOT America. How can a human being like Ms. Williams expect a guest in a hotel to be okay with those conditions? Is that how she would want to be treated and let me tell you I was extremely nice due to my mothers name on the room. Ms. Williams and the rest of the staff is a disgrace to the hospitality industry. She does not need to have contact with human beings if she treats them like this. I am not sure why she hated us. It was not like we asked her to fix it for us.

I understand the Hotel is separate from the Casino but you would think that the Hotel could call the maintenance from the Casino and get a plunger. So no one in the whole establishment has one. Then go to Wal-Mart, it is 1/2 mile away. The fact that Ms. Williams did not even care that we were human beings in need of a inhumane situation as fowl as a commode being backed up taken care of is disturbing. What is disturbing is that a manager or maintenance was not called to handle the issue that she obviously could not. DO NOT STAY HERE...IT IS NOT WORTH IT. IT HAS BECOME DIRTY AND THERE ARE PLENTY OF HOTELS AROUND EVANGELINE DOWNS TO STAY.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cajuntxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding your experience on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with my entire staff to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Opelousas.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I must admit I had my doubts after reading such negative reviews. But to my delight and comfort, this hotel is a good palce to stay. The staff was courteous, and helpful. I needed extra towels in my room, so I just went to the front desk and asked and was given promptly. The breakfast they had was no better or worse than other hotels, typical fair. May I suggest to management that you have help for that weekend staffer, she gets overwhelmed with people, and franlky too many for any one person to deal with. The beds were comfortable, the room was almost soundproof, did hear the thunder roll in one night, but you can't quiet mother nature. It was easy to find, parking was a breeze. All in all since I have family in Ville Platte, I would stay there again. If you are in to gambling the casino is right there, can't comment on that too much since I don't gamble. I did go to the Cafe 24/7 inside the hotel, terrible service but food is good. Got our food comped since we waited an hour for a simple hotdog and hamburger order.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our trip advisor online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The room was very big and the bed was comfortable. It had a very masculine feel to it, but it was nice. The bathroom was a deal-breaker. It was small and dirty. There was very little water pressure. The baseboards had a black layer of dirt on the top edge. The shower walls needed scrubbing. There was no tub, but a shower that just had a curtain, no door. There was no slip-proof surface in the shower. I slipped and caught myself. When I stepped out of the shower, I had to lay towels on the floor so I didn't slip on the slick tile. I warned my husband about the slippery shower, but he took a slide too. I heard several guests asking the front desk workers for towels. We paid the pre-paid rate of $100. Really too much for the quality and lack of amenities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popuplily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Patrick Arceneaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Check in was a breeze. Room was clean and comfortable. Bed was amazing. Nice touch having a refrigerator with complementary water. Noticeable wear and tear in the bathroom, but nothing worth complaining about. Breakfast was delicious. Since it was free I won't dwell on the fact that the waffle maker kept getting stuck and that they're was at least a ten minute wait to get one. Casino service better than expected. Restaurants exceeded expectations. Overall, great hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peytoncamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our trip advisor survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

As a Puerto Rican and natural born US citizen, this hotel casino had me dealing with one of the most embarrassing and discriminating situations I've been through in my life. They refused my completely valid driver's license/state ID because according to them us Puerto Ricans need to show a passport since we're not a state. We are NOT required to issue a passport at all and our state ID is as valid as that of the any other 50 states. Get your small town mentality out of the hole and educate yourselves better so you and your staff can provide a better service.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vreiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLA252, General Manager at Evangeline Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for leaving an online survey regarding your recent stay at Evangeline Downs Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our casino for failing to meet your expectations regarding I.D. verification process on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with Casino to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Opelousas.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Arceneaux
General Manager
Evangeline Downs Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelousas
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Opelousas
Holiday Inn Opelousas
#1 of 7 in Opelousas
74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Opelousas
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Opelousas
Comfort Inn Opelousas
#7 of 7 in Opelousas
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lafayette Airport
17.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Breaux Bridge
19.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#22 of 50 in Lafayette
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evangeline Downs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evangeline Downs Hotel

Property: Evangeline Downs Hotel
Address: 2235 Creswell Ln Ext Ste B, Opelousas, LA 70570-1982
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Opelousas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Opelousas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Evangeline Downs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Evangeline Downs Hotel, an Ascend Collection® hotel, is connected to Louisiana's prestigious Evangeline Downs Racetrack & Casino, home of quarter horse racing, gaming, live entertainment, numerous restaurants and more. All spacious and inviting guest rooms are furnished with flat-screen televisions, coffee makers, desks, hair dryers, refrigerators, microwaves, safes, irons, ironing boards, pillow-top mattresses and cable television. Select rooms offer upgraded amenities like wet bars, sofa sleepers and balconies. This is a pet-friendly hotel; fees apply. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most vehicles. Additional attractions close to this Ascend Collection hotel in Louisiana include the Creole Heritage Folklife Center museum, Le Vieux Village historic landmark area, Opelousas Museum of Art and the Rural African American Museum. Opelousas is home to a number of annual events like the Original Southwest Louisiana Zydeco Festival, Yambilee Festival and the Holy Ghost Creole Festival. Hotel guest services and amenities: Direct access to Casino from Hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast served daily 6 am to 10 am, Two (2) Elevators giving easy access to all floors, Large indoor swimming pool, Large sitting area for guests, Large 6-8 person whirlpool/hot tub, Large exercise/fitness room with state of the art exercise equipment, Large attractive breakfast room w/ patio seating, Meeting room, seating capacity for 60 people, 40” LCDs in each room, Handicap designed rooms to exceed the ADA requirements, Ample on site parking with handicap parking, Large fireplace in the spacious lobby that has a warm and homey comfortable theme. All queen and king pillow top beds, In-room safes, Coin-operated laundry facilities with folding/work area, Free High Speed/Wireless in each room and throughout hotel, Microwaves and refrigerators in all guest rooms, Dry bar or wet bar in all guest rooms, Coffee makers, full length mirrors, recliners, ergonomic chairs, large work areas, hair dryers, irons and boards in all guest rooms. Business center with computers and printer. After a long day, guests of this Opelousas, LA hotel can unwind in the exercise room, or relax at the indoor heated pool and hot tub. For the corporate traveler, this Louisiana hotel provides an assortment of modern conveniences like an on-site business center, a public computer with Internet access, and access to copy and fax service. A banquet and meeting room is located on the premises and can accommodate up to 50 people for most functions. At the Evangeline Downs Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, you can surround yourself with an array of amenities and personalized service. Make a reservation with us today and let us exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Evangeline Downs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing