We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Opelousas
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Opelousas
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly but not great”
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I stayed here last week on business. The staff were friendly and I got a good sandwich from the restuarant but the cleaning of the room left much to be desired. One day they failed to clean the room at all. There just seemed to be a lack of attention to any detail. But the bed was comfortable and the water pressure was good. I can over come most things with a decent night sleep and a good hot shower!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcnewt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindi S, Owner at Holiday Inn Opelousas, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
By the end of the year, the property will be completely renovated so please try us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    20
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
20
12
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Our room felt wet. Like it had been closed up for months. It was clean, but smelled funny. I though running the A/C for a few hours would help but it did not. Room had been refurbished but if you looked closely you could see the wear. I did not notice the mold in the picture frame until the next morning or I would not have stayed. Vending machine were unplugged!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubableu03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

The staff is uniformly friendly/helpful, from waitresses to maids to desk employees. We booked two nights and stayed till nearly 2 p.m. first day (late checkout is perk for members) ... then decided to leave because the fesival we came for was a bust (blame the rare snow night before), clerk said no problem to withdraw second night, no fuss or further conversation needed. Ran down our maid and tipped her well since she was going to have to remake our room after already having been in there. The restaurant food is pretty edible and fairly inexpensive (breakfast is extra but of course it's a real breakfast, not a pile of bagels, etc.). Opened 10 minutes later than posted for breakfast but we were greeted warmly and treated like royalty once it opened (a South Louisiana thing to focus more on warmth than on clock watching). Dinner was same, warm, friendly service, decent food. Lobby, rooms, etc., clean and presentable. One complaint is I hate HI's tiny uncomfortable pillows that you can't sink into and wrap around your head, would help if they gave enough to cover width of bed, six instead of four. Another complaint, seemed a bit overpriced but is apparently most decent place to stay in the area so maybe they are capitalizing on that.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Brien, FL
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We stopped at the Holiday Inn in Opelousas . We waited a long time to check in and were told if we wanted breakfast in the morning it would additional. Our non-smoking room smelled of smoke. After a while you got use to it. Be careful in the bathroom as the tile is slippery. There were stains on the hall carpet.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dovewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Without doubt this is the best accommodation in Opelousas. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the staff is wonderful. There is a very pleasant breakfast room (not included in the room rate) and an indoor swimming pool. I have a mother in a nursing facility in town that I visit several times a year and I always book a room at this Holiday Inn. I feel comfortable and safe when I am traveling alone and recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

Stayed here just overnight on the road. It was OK, but pricey for what we received. The room was large. Staff were very friendly. Compared to other properties in the immediate area, this may be the best bet.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank clkc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2006

I have stayed at this hotel on several occassions and it is a nice property. This hotel was used by Katrina evacuees from the end of august until mid February and it has taken its toll. They are fixing the place up and I would stay there again.

  • Liked — the indoor pool
  • Disliked — the bussiness center
  • Tips/Secrets — great place, free parking, good restaurant
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lsufootball927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelousas
0.9 mi away
Evangeline Downs Hotel
Evangeline Downs Hotel
#4 of 7 in Opelousas
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Opelousas
Comfort Inn Opelousas
#7 of 7 in Opelousas
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Opelousas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Best Western Ville Platte
Best Western Ville Platte
#1 of 1 in Ville Platte
58 reviews
18.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lafayette North
22.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Eunice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Opelousas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Opelousas

Property: Holiday Inn Opelousas
Address: 5696 I-49 North Service Road, Opelousas, LA 70570
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Opelousas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Opelousas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Opelousas 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Cajun country, the Holiday Inn and Suites of Opelousas offers 75 newly renovated guest rooms and suites all in a non-smoking facility. Our rooms are perfect for both the business and leasure traveler with all the standard amenities plus a relaxing indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi, free WIFI, business center and Cafe 5696 with the best burgers in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Opelousas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Opelousas Hotel Opelousas
Opelousas Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing