We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
Godshill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My sister and I stayed for 2 nights, and as has been said previously, very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast on the first morning was more than ample and in plentiful supply, however, this was not the case on the Sunday morning. There had been a wedding reception the night before which caused absolutely no problems at all, except that the amount of guests who stayed the night had been totally mis-calculated for breakfast the following morning. We left it late, only half and hour before breakfast cut off time, but although there were only a couple of tables still in use, we could not find a clean one, we took a table which had been set for four and only a couple of place settings had been used. No one came to offer a beverage, and when I went up to serve my self there was nothing left but a few baked beans!!!, no juice, no bread, no butter, no cold or cooked food. Unfortunately this caused me to panic as I am Diabetic and had already taken my morning Insulin and medication which meant I had to eat within a limited time frame. I went to reception to complain and said we would be leaving swiftly and to to please be sure to not include that mornings' breakfast for two on my bill!!.

I went back into the dining room to get my sister, and we were then offered a beverage, but I needed to get some food quickly, so we declined and left. No refund was given as we were then told at reception that the food was being 'replenished'. I needed my reserve supplies which I keep in the car, so we did not challenge this, paid and left.

This was such a shame, we had a lovely time up until then and will gladly return, but not include breakfast as I would need to be sure of getting something to eat within a reasonable time.

Just one more point, it was a shame the jacuzzi was not working as this had been a deciding factor when booking, just what I needed for my tired bones!!! Enjoyed my swim though!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandgirl060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Islandgirl0600

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor in relation to your recent stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House.

All feeback from whatever media is always used constructively, so I thank you for bringing various matters to my attention.

I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Bolton Georgian House again soon.


Yours Sincerely


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    195
    124
    58
    26
See reviews for
139
156
27
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed just the one night at this hotel, found whilst on internet, what a great find. Spacious comfortable clean room with good sized bathroom. We were visiting friends in Wigan so it was just ideal for us on a one night stopover. We were lucky to have breakfast included with the deal and it was very good, although buffet style, plenty of choice. The staff were so friendly and helpful, reception found us a taxi very quickly and even got us a good quote for it into the bargain. I thoroughly recommend this hotel,it was quiet around the rooms and not too busy whilst we were staying and has a pool and spa.Its not far from the M61/M6 and easy to get to.It has a large car park to the rear with easy access into the hotel with cases etc.

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the rear away from the busy Manchester Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjf48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear rjf48

Dear Sophie1989x,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such fantastic comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel.

It is always a pleasure for me and the team to receive such great feedback, I'm sure they will be equally delighted.

Once again, many thanks for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel again soon.

Kindest Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Have been meaning to write this review since our stay on the 24th August as we were so impressed with this hotel, I have now finally found the time. We stayed here for 1 night and picked this hotel due to its health club facilities for our teenagers and also because it was close to Manchester where we were off to the following day. The staff in this hotel are absolutely amazing from the check in staff up to the manager, you didn't have to wait long to be served at the bar, if the bar staff were busy the manager would run across from his office to serve you. The manager I have to say was amazing(sorry I cant remember your name) he couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. The rooms were very very clean and nice and modern, we had a room on the top floor and didn't have any problems of it being too warm as some people have reported. The breakfast was fabulous and again the staff very friendly. My teenager kids loved the health club and were even allowed to use it after we had checked out in fact we couldn't get them out of there and spent time chatting to the wedding party that was there whilst waiting for them. There was a wedding the night we were there and guests turning up the following day for one but this didn't cause us any problems. My advise would be to take note of the positive reviews on here it really is great value for money and we will be booking again on our next trip to old trafford. Thanks to all for making our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeLincoln_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear ZoeLincoln_UK

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such fantastic comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel.

It is always a pleasure for me and the team to receive such great feedback, I'm sure they will be equally delighted.

Once again, many thanks for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel again soon.

Kindest Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel was the venue for the reception following my son and daughter-in-laws wedding on the 22nd September 2012.
The staff, especially Nadine were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. we have some gorgeous photographs in the garden area which has a lovely arch and courtyard. The reception room was beautifully decorated, comfortable and the meal and service were excellent. A bit of a hiccup with the cake, but from what I heard Nadine and her team jumped through hoops to get it right.
Our bedroom was very confortable with everything you need.
We had a fantastic day and evening and would recommend the hotel as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniec1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear anniec1955,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such fantastic comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel.

It is always a pleasure for me and the team to receive such great feedback, I'm sure they will be equally delighted. I will be sure to pass on your personal thanks to Nadine.

Once again, many thanks for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel again soon.

Kindest Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel and lovely members of staff. I stayed at the hotel the night of a wedding reception the staff throughout it all were very polite always smiling and talking to us. The hotel itself was very clean, tidy and modern. Beds extremely comfy I can not find fault!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie1989x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Sophie1989x,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such fantastic comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel.

It is always a pleasure for me and the team to receive such great feedback, I'm sure they will be equally delighted.

Once again, many thanks for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel again soon.

Kindest Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I am a regular at the Mecure Georgian House Bolton . The staff are amazing and make my stay there very comfortable . Nothing is too much effort.
Peter Nye is always on hand and his charismatic charm and warmth and care make the hotel what it is .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Themoog1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Themoog1972,

Please accept my sincere gratitude for such a Wonderful review on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to receive such fantastic feedback.

I know all the staff will be equally delighted with your comments ; it really is very motivational for them seeing their great levels of service commented on so regularly.

I will also pass on your feedback to Peter Nye the Hotels Operations Manager, whom I know will be pleased with your comments.

Kindest Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed at the mercure Georgian house hotel, Bolton for two nights and got a really good deal by booking in advance. Ate in the hotel reataurant both nights and the food was fab, really good choice on the menu. Breakfast was equally as good. What made the stay really special was the staff, went out of their way to help out with directions by printing off a local map and after arriving quite late at the restaurant on the second night we weren't made to feel awkward, all the staff were really friendly. Lovely hotel, lovely people. Rooms were a good size and all areas were immaculate.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor with a view beyond the car park which was stunning. Friends on the 1st floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Kay L.

Thanks for taking the time to write such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to receive such great feedback.

I will of course pass on your feedback to our team, who will be really pleased to be yet again mentioned for their exceptional levels of service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon,

Kindest Regards


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackrod
1.1 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bolton
1,259 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
6.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
3.5 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
464 reviews
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel

Property: Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Address: Manchester Road, Blackrod, Bolton BL6 5RU, England (Formerly Mercure Bolton West Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Blackrod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House with spa & leisure facilities, set in a beautiful part of Lancashire; gateway to the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bolton
Oldham Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing