We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Mercury(Westhoughton)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (674)
Filter reviews
674 results
Traveller rating
216
217
137
74
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
217
137
74
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorbar areawedding receptionlovely hotelbuffet stylebar pricesfamily roombed was very comfortablewedding venuestayed here for one nightduty managermariegymmotorwaystartersradiatormanchester
Filter
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 674 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We got married 22nd June of this year. To the run up to the wedding the staff especially Sue Thornley was really helpfully. On the day of the wedding Carl was managing are day he did an excellent job he made everything run so smooth he made us feel special. are wedding breakfast was first class the bedroom was very comfortable and loads of room. I would recommend to anyone who is wanting to get married in the hotel as you won,t be disappointed. We would like to thank all the staff for all they hard work especially Sue and Carl who made are day memorable.
Thank from Mr and Mrs Armstrong.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Armstrong

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

It is always great to receive such a positive review, but reviews such as this one that highlights the endeavours of our team to deliver superb service really are special, I will be sure to recognise Sue and Carl for your special mention.

Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back for you one year anniversary

Kind Regards

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here in early October due to a book out from De Vere Whites down the road.
A basic hotel with decent amenities although does look to offer value with inclusions such as complimentary wifi and use of leisure facilities. on-site.
Evening meal was surprisingly good considering the 3* rating of the hotel. Staff were pleasant although sometimes missing in action from the reception area and restaurant. Breakfast did not reach the same standards as the evening meal in terms of quality or choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MySuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Mysuitcase

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor as we embody all feedback with a view it aids us to constantly move forward

I was please to read your positive feedback but I was suprised to read you comments on Breakfast, I will follow up on this with the Chef as the breakfast offering here is vast and normally of a very high standard

Thank you once again, yours

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in October. The hotel is well located for most Lancashire towns also Blackpool, Manchester and Liverpool.

Close to the Reebok Stadium with shopping outlets, restaurants and fuel.

The hotel is a good standard with plenty of parking but a little remote. There are 2 real ale pubs within 10 minutes walking distance both do food.

The hotel rooms are well appionted with tea making facilities and tv although our tv had a poor picture quality.

If you get a rear view room you get to look over Rivington Pike aerial and the pennines it sits on assuming your window isn't covered in condensation like ours!

The breakfast buffet is very nice but the breakfast room was absolutely baking hot and airless. On both mornings the fruit juice jugs were empty where they had not been kept topped up. Amazingly the toaster actually toasts the bread turning it completly from white to golden toast.

Like any hotel the bar prices are steep and there is no real ale so better to do your drinking in the local pubs.

Would consider going back as it is located close to where relatives live.

Room Tip: Get a rear room for a good view but check the windows are not covered in condensation.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Alan

Thank you for rating us on Trip advisor, I have responded to you already through our online survey but felt it prudent to respond again in case you have missed it.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we will be taking the appropriate measures to address the window you highlighted, a number of these have been replaced already and following your feedback maybe another wave is due.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel and provide you with a genuine enjoyable experience.

Yours sincerely,


Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had been booked at the Mercure Last Drop, however on Arrival they had overbooked themselves and after a bit of negotiation we were relocated to here. Whilst not the swankiest rooms in the world we had a great stay. Extra special praise should go the lady (duty manager?) on duty that night who provided truly exceptional customer service. Nothing was too much trouble as she sorted out our party of 8, gave us a private room to eat in, and even decorated it herself for us. She totally rescued the day! The food was much better than expected, and beds comfortable.
It was Saturday 12th October we stayed - management please take note - you have a star employee here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roceva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Roceva

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Bolton Georgian House on Trip Advisor.

It is always great to receive positive feedback, but reviews such as this one that highlight the endeavours of our team to deliver superb service really are special, I will be sure to recognise Louise for your special mention and I am aware we have a star in the making.

Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards



Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked 2 rooms on one booking 6 weeks in advance and the rooms could not have been further away from one another. Rooms basic, bathrooms need upgrading. Very few in-room facilities i.e. no safe, no mini-bar, no air-conditioning. For a relatively remote location and a weekend stay, around £50/night for room only still seems excessive given the lack of in-room facilities and dated fittings.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Thomas W

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor as we embody all feedback with a view it aids us to constantly move forward

We are in the early stages of being part of the Mercure brand and as we speak a large amount of investment is being planned and implemented and I am sure this investment would be reflected in the next review should you give us an opportunity in the future.

We do have rooms that offer many of the additional services you were looking for including Nespresso coffee machines etc. although these would not have been made available for a rate of £50. With a view to delivering your expectation in the future please look for our Privilege bedroom upgrades when making your booking.

I do hope my response aids you when booking with us in the future or using any other of our Mercure Hotels as the Privilege bedroom product is available in all 750 of our hotels worldwide

Thank you once again
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews