We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding - Stay Over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wedding - Stay Over”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after attending a friend's wedding. The wedding was a lovely day and the staff were helpful and professional. The only draw back was the price of the drinks - extortionate!
The family room was very spacious although a little dated. The room was very warm but uncomfortably hot at night and we could not turn the radiator down.
The breakfast the next morning was great- lots of choice, fresh and tasty!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Jenne
Many Thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor, your kind words and sharing your experience. I will be sure to pass on to the team your great comments and the Maintenance Manager about the radiator in your room. Once again many thanks and hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    187
    118
    55
    25
See reviews for
131
151
27
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I've just read the two reviews by blahblahblah150 and Hilljilly. Glad it is not me that has recently had a bad experience at the hotel.
it was booked for a break away from home, special accor deal with an internet offer of 2 course dinner for £15 prebook.
Room was quite good, top floor twin beds enough room for 1. right enough of the good bits, next tips for anyone staying here:
internet - free throughout, don't get caught by the login page, its free but you have to click on the left side prepaid voucher, do not be tempted to click the free on the main page as you will not be checked in!!!
Leisure facilities: take your towel from your room and a padlock for the lockers. hotel guests can borrow a lock, but no towels provided in the pool area. it can be along walk back to your room to get one if you forget. the male changing room, lots of lockers without doors, the hot tub is a pool with water which bubbles gently for 6 minutes every 6 minutes. no vigorous bubbles at all. not relaxing - sorry Seb Coe, it needs fixing or replacing.
Dinner - what a disappointment!!!!! the prepaid "offer" was tied to the very limited special offer meal priced at £19, choice of two starters, and two main courses only. Dinner seated at 20.30, order taken by 20.40. Small glass of wine £5.25, large glass £7.50 bottle £24. starter arrived at 20.55, asked for main course as obviously a delay, this arrived at 21.20 and only had 10 mins to eat as I needed to go at 21.30. just as well food wasn't too hot to eat!!!
At check out CHECK YOUR BILL. i had a £2.50 over allowance charge for dinner.

Rang to complain when i got home investigated, their computer glitched and this shouldn't have happened. £2.50 refunded and as a gesture for poor dining room service the £5.25 also refunded for the beverage.

Would I stay here again, No. Would I recommend it to anyone else, No.

I am a silver card holder which allows for a late check out, i couldn't wait to get out quickly enough.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Pete191
Many thanks once again for your feedback and sharing your experience, I was sorry to read we didn’t live up to your expectations on this occasion and I have already shared your comments with team following your emails taking view it aids us to constantly move forward.
Thankyou once again
Eric Spencer-Smith
Mercure Bolton Georgian House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was our surprise hotel on a tour and have to say that I was disappointed. I didn't expect the Ritz and on first glance the hotel is very nice. The room was OK, maybe a bit tired but adequate even with an ill fitting velux window. Bed really comfortable, well done. Issues I had include the evening meal, which may have been constructed within a strict budget but which was pretty poor fare, and the fact that the staff, although cheerful, seem a bit overstretched to cope with the numbers of guests and prone to disappearing. The service in the bar in the evening was desultory at best and we had to chase up tea for breakfast. I also cannot understand why drinks are so prohibitively expensive - £20 for a bottle of wine which would only cost £6 at most - surely a more modest mark up would improve sales. I can only assume that had we paid more we would have got better service but as it stands I will definitely not going back to find out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilljilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear HillJilly

Many Thanks for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, I was disappointed to read we didn’t live up to our usually high level of customer satisfaction on the Saturday evening, please allow me to express my apologies

We had asked that both groups not arrive for dinner at the same time as this would delay service; unfortunately they both arrived at the same time which in turn stretched the team.
Thank you again for the feedback and once again accept my appologies

Yours sincerely
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We had our daughters wedding reception here on Saturday, everything went perfectly. The room was beautifully dressed, food lovely and staff very attentive. We couldn't find fault with anything and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stress free wedding reception .

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 46clarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear 46Clarkey
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and also letting us play a part in your special day. It’s fair to say I think the team themselves enjoyed their part in the proceedings and got very embroiled in the day.
Once again many thanks and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future
Yours Sincerely
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my fiancé stay here regularly and have even stayed over Christmas. We absolutely adore their cute little apartments and their rooms. The staff are so helpful, friendly and are more than happy to help you with anything you need. The restaurant is beautiful and the spa is an absolute must! I can not recommend this hotel enough!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AndieReilly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Andy Reilly
Many Thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor, your kind words and sharing your experience. I will be sure to pass on to the team your great comments about the service. Once again many thanks and hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future
Yours
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackrod
1.1 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
6.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
3.5 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel

Property: Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Address: Manchester Road, Blackrod, Bolton BL6 5RU, England (Formerly Mercure Bolton West Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Blackrod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House with spa & leisure facilities, set in a beautiful part of Lancashire; gateway to the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bolton
Oldham Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing