We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Mercury(Westhoughton)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$79
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveller rating
214
214
136
73
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
214
136
73
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorbar areawedding receptionlovely hotelbuffet stylebar pricesfamily roombed was very comfortablewedding venuestayed here for one nightduty managermariegymmotorwaystartersradiatormanchester
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 667 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a great find just minutes off the M61 at Junction 6. The hotel has ample free parking and is easy to find. It is a bit of a sprawling hotel with modern extension to both sides of the original Georgian Hose but it has been carefully modernized. I used the gym while here and this was described as the "Sebastian Coe Gym" which did "big it up" and was not great but adequate. The restaurant offered a good choice for evening dinner. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobA161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Bob

Many Thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor, your kind words and sharing your experience.

It is always great to receive feedback, and I will share your comments with the team.

Once again many thanks and hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future


Yours

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gm_mercureboltonwest, Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after attending a friend's wedding. The wedding was a lovely day and the staff were helpful and professional. The only draw back was the price of the drinks - extortionate!
The family room was very spacious although a little dated. The room was very warm but uncomfortably hot at night and we could not turn the radiator down.
The breakfast the next morning was great- lots of choice, fresh and tasty!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Jenne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Jenne
Many Thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor, your kind words and sharing your experience. I will be sure to pass on to the team your great comments and the Maintenance Manager about the radiator in your room. Once again many thanks and hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours
Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I've just read the two reviews by blahblahblah150 and Hilljilly. Glad it is not me that has recently had a bad experience at the hotel.
it was booked for a break away from home, special accor deal with an internet offer of 2 course dinner for £15 prebook.
Room was quite good, top floor twin beds enough room for 1. right enough of the good bits, next tips for anyone staying here:
internet - free throughout, don't get caught by the login page, its free but you have to click on the left side prepaid voucher, do not be tempted to click the free on the main page as you will not be checked in!!!
Leisure facilities: take your towel from your room and a padlock for the lockers. hotel guests can borrow a lock, but no towels provided in the pool area. it can be along walk back to your room to get one if you forget. the male changing room, lots of lockers without doors, the hot tub is a pool with water which bubbles gently for 6 minutes every 6 minutes. no vigorous bubbles at all. not relaxing - sorry Seb Coe, it needs fixing or replacing.
Dinner - what a disappointment!!!!! the prepaid "offer" was tied to the very limited special offer meal priced at £19, choice of two starters, and two main courses only. Dinner seated at 20.30, order taken by 20.40. Small glass of wine £5.25, large glass £7.50 bottle £24. starter arrived at 20.55, asked for main course as obviously a delay, this arrived at 21.20 and only had 10 mins to eat as I needed to go at 21.30. just as well food wasn't too hot to eat!!!
At check out CHECK YOUR BILL. i had a £2.50 over allowance charge for dinner.

Rang to complain when i got home investigated, their computer glitched and this shouldn't have happened. £2.50 refunded and as a gesture for poor dining room service the £5.25 also refunded for the beverage.

Would I stay here again, No. Would I recommend it to anyone else, No.

I am a silver card holder which allows for a late check out, i couldn't wait to get out quickly enough.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pete191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Pete191
Many thanks once again for your feedback and sharing your experience, I was sorry to read we didn’t live up to your expectations on this occasion and I have already shared your comments with team following your emails taking view it aids us to constantly move forward.
Thankyou once again
Eric Spencer-Smith
Mercure Bolton Georgian House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews