We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Good Stay”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel on Friday night and overall, it was a good experience.

We were situated in a room on the first floor, so easy access up the stairs from reception. The lift I believe was a short walk past the lobby bar. The room was fine - clean and tidy, comfortable bed with all the mod-cons. There wasn't an iron in the room, just a trouser press - but no harm.

We went down to the pool not long after checking-in for a quick swim. The lockers in the changing rooms don't have locks on them, not a concern to me - but I do believe the leisure facilities are available for use of the public (they have to be a member though). Sadly, the Jacuzzi isn't powerful at all.

The next morning, we had breakfast which was about £6.50 each. The staff were very friendly but when you first walk in, you are not greeted by anyone or shown to a table, you're pretty much left to your own thing until someone comes over to take your room number and if you wanted tea/coffee. The continental range had some cereal, a couple of pastries, bread and toaster machine, juices and some yogurt drink. From the menu, it looks like they may serve a help-yourself buffet range, but with it being quite quiet, this mustn't have been on offer during our stay. The waitress came over and took our cooked breakfast option, which ranges from the usual English, to Smoked Haddock, Kippers, Poached eggs etc. etc.


Overall, yeah - good stay, decent rooms, good pool area, poor Jacuzzi, decent breakfast.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Philip

Many Thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and sharing your experience.

It is always great to receive feedback and I will share your comments with the team.
I was pleased to read you enjoyed all our facilities on offer but I will have the Jacuzzi looked at.

Once again many thanks and hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future


Yours

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    187
    118
    55
    25
See reviews for
131
151
27
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Again the staff and management were excellent, friendly and nothing was too much trouble, the hotel has undergone some improvements since my last visit, great hotel and facilities, free wifi throughout the hotel was a great.

Will be visiting again

TW

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryWarren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Terry

Many Thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor, your kind words and sharing your experience.

It is always great to receive feedback and I will share your comments with the team.
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your return visit hope you give us the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.

Once again many thanks


Yours

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed overnight in April as we were attending a 40th birthday party. I think we managed to book the last available family room which was lucky for us as it was very spacious and comfortable. We used the pool - my daughter enjoyed that very much. The pool reception staff member that afternoon (5th April) was very helpful. We paid for a full breakfast the following morning at reception and it was excellent value for money. We were actually quoted a cheaper rate than if we had booked the breakfast option on the internet !
In summary, for the short time we were here, everything was good for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail71C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Gail71C

Many Thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and sharing your experience

It is always great to receive feedback and I will share your comments with the Leisure team.

I did note you comment on the room rates and the simple answer is the lowest/best possible rates can only be found on our Website and can often be cheaper still if you book one of the pre paid promotional deals

I was pleased to read your daughter enjoyed the pool and we would look forward to welcoming her back in the future.

Once again many thanks

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here while visiting family in Bolton and whilst a little further out of Bolton than I would have liked I was very impressed with the place. Nice rooms, nice bar and team of staff who all were all very customer service focused. We enjoyed our time here and my six year old daughter loved the pool. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtnay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Courtnay M

Many Thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor, your kind words and sharing your experience

It is always great to receive feedback and I will share your comments with the bar team.
I was pleased to read your daughter enjoyed the pool and we would look forward to welcoming her back in the future.

Once again many thanks

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

attended a wedding at the week-end, the weather was nice so the pictures were very nice in the grounds . Food was excellent did get missed a few times with starter and napkins but nothing was too much trouble for the staff.The staff worked very hard all day. Overall a very good time was had by all would recommend .Ample parking, didn't stay in the rooms so cant comment on them

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear maxums

Many Thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor, your kind words and sharing your experience.

It is always great to receive feedback and I will share your comments with the team.
I was pleased to read a good time was had by all but hope you give us the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Once again many thanks and hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future


Yours

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

By far the best hotel I have stayed in in a while. Some very nice touches and the room was extremely comfortable. The staff were good and food was very nice. The hotel is a little outdated in terms of decor but the service and overall quality of the room made up for that.

Would definitely stay here if I stay in Bolton again in the future. It is far better and cheaper than the Reebok.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y0rkie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Y0rkie39

Many thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor, your kind words and sharing your experience.

It is always great to receive feedback and I will share your comments with the team.

Once again many thanks and hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future


Yours

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Staff very welcoming and very helpful. Room VG. Plenty of parking; convenient for Horwich Parkway rail services.
Two issues; meal service slow in the evening - we mentioned this to staff, who explained - courteously and helpfully - why our meals had taken a coomparatively long time to be served. again, TV in room didn't work when we arrived - quickly and effectively dealt with.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dtr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_mercureboltonwest, General Manager at Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Dtr W

Many Thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and sharing your experience.

It is always great to receive feedback, and I will share your comments with the team.
I was sorry to read the restaurant service was slow as this is not like us but I was pleased to read the team reacted well.

Once again many thanks and hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future


Yours

Eric Spencer-Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackrod
1.1 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bolton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
6.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
3.5 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel

Property: Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Address: Manchester Road, Blackrod, Bolton BL6 5RU, England (Formerly Mercure Bolton West Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Blackrod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blackrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House with spa & leisure facilities, set in a beautiful part of Lancashire; gateway to the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bolton
Oldham Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing