We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to rest your weary bones”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Half Moon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanthony
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Half Moon Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Llanthony B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to rest your weary bones”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

A very welcoming little B+B away from almost any other civilisation in the heart of a picturesque valley. We were the only guests and it was off season, but George opened the pub just for us, fired up the wood burner, cooked us a great meal and served up several fine beers. And then did it again the next night! The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable, with a sink, kettle, tea and coffee and everything you need. The communal showers and toilets were also clean and worked fine.

Basically, a great (and great value) place to rest up and feed up after a day exploring and enjoying the peaceful surrounding countryside. Thanks George, would happily return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker13London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgelaw1, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Thank you you are right what more can i say.
Thanks again.
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    39
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
30
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

The surrounding area is breathtaking and I love the element of escapism. The hotel exterior is beautiful and traditional but the inside was so disappointing. The breakfast area looked more like a cheap inner city cafe complete with a greasy fry up, the rooms are poorly designed with tasteless furniture. Nobody help me carry my heavy luggage upstairs, i was waiting 2 hours for my room to be cleaned and while i was waiting children were running around, slamming the keys on the piano and both upstairs and downstairs is a discusting smell of grease from the kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half-Moon-Wales, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Well i am sorry we did not live up to your needs in this case.
We do try and you are one of the first to moan about the breakfast if you had spoke to me at the time i would have tryed to see how i could have done better for you If anyone does need any thing please let me know and i will try and get it for you.
Kids running around playing with the piano etc live and let live i say on this.
Is this my fault ???
Sorry i did not meet your needs this time
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

I booked a night in this B&B fully expecting it to be basic after reading the other reviews. But it appears that the staff can not even take a booking for a room. I booked a room two weeks ago and phoned again the night before to confirm the booking, only to be told that they have lost my booking and there are no rooms available. The man I spoke to when booking the room either did not record my booking or it was cancelled becuase they had a large group of people staying that weekend. Thankfully I phoned the night before otherwise we would have finished a long days walking to be told by Half Moon Inn that they had no room booked for us. What makes this worse is that the owner took no responsibility for their mistake and said that I must have phoned somewhere else. I certainly will not be tempted to phone or stay at Half Moon Inn.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifesanexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half-Moon-Wales, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Hi It worrys me that this person can write this without taking some of the blame for his self. I looked into this complant asked my staff etc and still i do not feel that he did make a booking here with us
(1) He says he was not asked for a deposit Something we always do.
(2) He was not handed over to me or my partner to take the booking again we also do all the bookings in ( He say a member of staff took it, we try not to allow this ever)
(3) We were fully booked up by a big group months before he phoned up and they had payed a deposit so we would have said no as he claimed he phoned two weeks before ?????
(4) I believe he tryed to book the room that day and was upset when there was no room so he so he got angry and took it out hereby writing this.
If we have made a mistake here i am sorry but i would have owned up to it as we all do make mistakes in our life but i know something else is wrong here.
(5) He was never asked to leave his phone number something we allways do

As i said to him on the phone and i belive this to be truefull he may have booked elsewere
i also offered him a free weekend in case it was our doing but all i got was a very angry response from him.

So as from this year if you enclose a sae when you sent the deposit we will respond and sent it back to you also if you enclose your email address again i will respond if you so wish.
If at any time you need to confirm the booking please phone us best a few days before just for peace of mind
In five years now of running the Moon this is a first. its never happened to us before and hopefully never again >SORRY>
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

The Black Mountains are a destination for people who like the outdoors and are not in need of a luxury hotel. The Half Moon is for people who want a break from the stress of everyday city life. There are no TVs, nor has it an Internet connection. And that is what makes this place so special, once you are in your room there is nothing - no traffic noise no light pollution. Just peace and quiet. On a clear night you can see the stars like you haven't seen them for a long time. The rooms are basic, clean and the bed was comfy.
There is at least one room for people traveling with a dog, which is a big plus for me.
There has been a comment about a problem with hot water on this site, I certainly had no problem with hot water at any time during my stay.
The biggest selling point however is George the landlord who told us a lot about the area and interesting places to visit and walking routes. He also makes a perfect breakfast. The food in general is very good and the portions are very generous.
In the pub downstairs you will always find friendly people to talk to.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven_Bristol_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgelaw1, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
yes you are right for the price it home from home
thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Friendly place to stay. Good home cooked food, and generous portions. Accommodation was basic, with shared bathrooms and no TV. Also in need of some redecoration. Overall I had a great stay in a great location. Don't be put off by first impressions.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank et80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

At the end of 8 hours hiking, the Half Moon was perfect - clean rooms and shared shower facilities with toiletries provided, a comfy bed, and great country meals to restore the strength for another day of hiking. I liked the extra little touches (face wipes and cotton buds for the girls, tea and coffee making facilities in the room), the price and the local feel (yes you can bring your dog to this pub) and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wigletxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

Fancied a day up in the Beacons as a last hurrah to my thirties... so spent the penultimate day of that decade testing out my spongy knees on the Llanthony Priory circuit. Couldn't get into the Llanthony Priory hotel, so got a room in the Half Moon for myself and a mate. It's cheap and cheerful, but comfortable and welcoming. Shared showers/toilets aren't an issue because there are three of each. The food's generous in portion size and very tasty, and the bar is lively in the evenings. In summary, if you're looking for an inexpensive place to lay your weary head after a brutal day in the hiking boots, you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huwge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanthony
12.3 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Llangattock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
22.5 mi away
Usk & Railway Inn
Usk & Railway Inn
#1 of 3 in Sennybridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 17 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Inn

Property: Half Moon Inn
Address: Llanthony | Abergavenny, Llanthony, Brecon Beacons National Park NP7 7NN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Llanthony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanthony
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Half Moon Hotel is set in a peaceful and secluded spot in the beautiful Black Mountains, part of the Brecon Beacons National Park. Next door to Llanthony Priory. The friendly 17th-century pub is an ideal base for walkers (we are not far from the Offas Dyke Path and on the beacons way path). We are also well situated to explore the Norman border castles, old churches and chapels of the Welsh borders. The small town of Abergavenny is 10 miles away. Hay-on-Wye 13 miles, Hereford 25 miles and Cardiff 40 miles. The Half Moon serves good food, real ales & tea & coffee, child friendly pub. We also have a beer garden for your use and dogs are welcome. Pony trekking is available close by and caters for all ages and abilities. The Half Moon is situated in an area designated as a dark sky at night location and is therefore ideal for stargazers and photographers. Our accommodation is basic due to the age of the building, but a warm welcome and good food and ale is offered to all our visitors. The Half Moon is currently undergoing a major refurbishment and therefore there is some disruption to normal service however we are working extremely hard to keep the disturbance to our guests to a minimum. Should you have any concerns regarding this please contact us ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing