We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious but good value”
Review of Half Moon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanthony
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Half Moon Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Llanthony B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unpretentious but good value”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

For good value simple accommodation in an amazingly quiet location the Half Moon would be hard to beat. Situated close to the impressive ruins of Llanthony Abbey and miles from the nearest towns (Abergavenny, Hay on Wye) the inn is an excellent base for walkers, particularly the nearby Offa's Dyke path.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and simply furnished, though not en-suite, but at £30 a night who's complaining ! The breakfast is substantial, and there is a good choice of evening meals, also of generous proportions, in the bar.

If you are planning on going out after nightful, take a torch - is it very, very dark !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    40
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
34
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The Half Moon is plain, not fancy. And that's by design. This rustic inn provides clean and simple shared-bath facilities that fill the bill nicely for folks hiking or horse treking the gorgeous countryside. On our two day visit, host George was a real prince. He picked us up at the Skirrid Inn (we didn't have a car), let us wash some muddy clothes, and was always quick with helpful advice on everything from local hikes to bird watching. He also cooks up some fine, homemade grub in mammoth proportions. Be sure and visit the convivial, dog-friendly pub as well. The Moon was just what we were looking for in a homespun country inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brennen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights,found the hotel staff to be very helpful and welcoming,the food was well cooked and reasonably priced,would definitely stay here again, if you order the "Full Welsh"make sure you're hungry.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aitch54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgelaw1, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
thank you its as you say it is.
Could have put it better.
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This small hotel lies in a very quiet valley. Single lane roads, sheep all around, great walking. Close to Offa's Dyke Path and within easy reach of Hay-on-Wye, the world's number one spot for second hand books. The bar has some real Welsh ales, the food is done with care and the full Welsh breakfast gives you more than enough energy to climb the adjacent hills.
The rooms are simple but adequate, toilets and showers are shared.
Deep sleep guaranteed: no traffic at night, no trains, absolute dead silent.
George is a very pleasant host, who is genuinely interested in his guests and makes them really feel at home.
Absolutely value for money. High on my list of places to return to !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avdij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgelaw1, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Thank you we do try very hard and for the price i think is fantastic as you say a gem. good vaule good food, tidy bed, lots of water, warm bed?????
Thanks George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We've been gasto'd out and so we went to the Black Mountains to look for a real pub with real food. The Half moon certainly isn't a gastro pub and neither does it claim to be one. On a sunny summers evening it provided a warm welcome in the unreconstructed bar. Rather suprisingly it wasn't Butty Bach that was on offer but Moorlands. Doesn't make any difference to me as I'm strictly J2O most of the time. We glanced at the menu and i asked the bar man what he recommended and Chilli con carne or curry were his recommendations. Tony, being perverse, chose scampi and chips and I took a punt on the chilli.
The bar is a cosy place, probably last decorated circa 1970, but none the worse for it. It was busy with girls who had been pony trekking, walkers and families. The food when it arrived was simple but filling. The chilli was full of flavour and came with the sddition of cheese and nachos. Scampi were also plentiful and there was a good supply of chips. It was comfort food - just what you need after a days walking, trekking or just plain working.
For around £20 for 2 with drinks you can't complain. There is no doubt that the food is being cooked to order and that it's home made. give it a try and enjoy

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lotsofspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgelaw1, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
thank you yes all our cooking is home
that the only way to be .
Thank you
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

A very welcoming little B+B away from almost any other civilisation in the heart of a picturesque valley. We were the only guests and it was off season, but George opened the pub just for us, fired up the wood burner, cooked us a great meal and served up several fine beers. And then did it again the next night! The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable, with a sink, kettle, tea and coffee and everything you need. The communal showers and toilets were also clean and worked fine.

Basically, a great (and great value) place to rest up and feed up after a day exploring and enjoying the peaceful surrounding countryside. Thanks George, would happily return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker13London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgelaw1, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Thank you you are right what more can i say.
Thanks again.
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

The surrounding area is breathtaking and I love the element of escapism. The hotel exterior is beautiful and traditional but the inside was so disappointing. The breakfast area looked more like a cheap inner city cafe complete with a greasy fry up, the rooms are poorly designed with tasteless furniture. Nobody help me carry my heavy luggage upstairs, i was waiting 2 hours for my room to be cleaned and while i was waiting children were running around, slamming the keys on the piano and both upstairs and downstairs is a discusting smell of grease from the kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half-Moon-Wales, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Well i am sorry we did not live up to your needs in this case.
We do try and you are one of the first to moan about the breakfast if you had spoke to me at the time i would have tryed to see how i could have done better for you If anyone does need any thing please let me know and i will try and get it for you.
Kids running around playing with the piano etc live and let live i say on this.
Is this my fault ???
Sorry i did not meet your needs this time
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanthony
7.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
590 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
895 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 16 in Crickhowell
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
8.7 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#3 of 16 in Crickhowell
521 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Inn

Property: Half Moon Inn
Address: Llanthony | Abergavenny, Llanthony, Brecon Beacons National Park NP7 7NN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Llanthony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanthony
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Half Moon Hotel is set in a peaceful and secluded spot in the beautiful Black Mountains, part of the Brecon Beacons National Park. Next door to Llanthony Priory. The friendly 17th-century pub is an ideal base for walkers (we are not far from the Offas Dyke Path and on the beacons way path). We are also well situated to explore the Norman border castles, old churches and chapels of the Welsh borders. The small town of Abergavenny is 10 miles away. Hay-on-Wye 13 miles, Hereford 25 miles and Cardiff 40 miles. The Half Moon serves good food, real ales & tea & coffee, child friendly pub. We also have a beer garden for your use and dogs are welcome. Pony trekking is available close by and caters for all ages and abilities. The Half Moon is situated in an area designated as a dark sky at night location and is therefore ideal for stargazers and photographers. Our accommodation is basic due to the age of the building, but a warm welcome and good food and ale is offered to all our visitors. The Half Moon is currently undergoing a major refurbishment and therefore there is some disruption to normal service however we are working extremely hard to keep the disturbance to our guests to a minimum. Should you have any concerns regarding this please contact us ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing