We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Half Moon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanthony
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Half Moon Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Llanthony B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were walking in this area and the Half Moon turned out to be just right. It's fairly basic - shared toilet and shower and basic pub grub, but you will certainly not go hungry here. Comfortable bed and the view from the bedroom windows onto Hatterall Ridge is wonderful and you are 5 minutes walk away from Llanthony Priory - a perfect after dinner stroll. George, the owner, is helpful and friendly and is happy to tell you anything you need to know about the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half-Moon-Wales, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you
We do try to please and it looks like we did again this time
Thank you for saying nice things on our behalf
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    40
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
34
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Arrived at my destination and it was not a disappointment. It was all I required following such a stressful week in work. The location was idyllic and the pub was rustic with outstanding views of the stunning countryside in all directions. Bonus was the weather although I noticed that there was an open fire that would probably be lit if the weather was bad, thus making the pub inviting. Food was freshly prepared and although I had to wait a short while it was definitely worth it. The portion was more than generous and I can say that I went to bed on a definitely full stomach. The atmosphere was convivial and I felt "at home". After a pleasant nights sleep the breakfast served was beyond my expectations - the fact that I could order exactly what I wanted instead of the standard cooked breakfast was an added bonus. I would like to say a big thank you to the landlord and landlady for making my stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny13Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half-Moon-Wales, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for giving us full marks
I am sure we are not that good as we are a basic B & B
but its nice to know that all the lillte extras are paying off.
But its more important to me to know you had a good time
And we would only be to happy to have you again.
Thank you.
George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Spent a fabulous night in this quaint country inn. The Half Moon is situated in the picturesque Llanthony Valley. The facilities provided were more that adequate and catered for the needs of the whole family. The evening meal was homemade, the portion was generous and well worth the money. Following a comfortable nights sleep the breakfast was outstanding with more than enough to keep us going until lunch time. George and Suzanne were excellent hosts and I can't wait to stay with them again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRR1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half-Moon-Wales, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you loads for being so kind and giving us a glowing report
We like it when ever thing go well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Lavington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here while walking in the local area. The Half moon Inn is situated in a quiet and very scenic location and provides basic but comfortable rooms. The accommodation is clean and tidy with lovely views in all directions. The facilities provided are more than adequate and cater for the needs of visiting walkers. The showers are shared but have plenty of hot water and access is not a problem. Our group was made to feel most welcome and enjoyed good food and beer and the hospitality of the bar. Overall excellent value for money and I would hope to pay a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LavingtonGSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgelaw1, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Thank you.
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Don't be put off by the exterior, which is not a country house on a manicured lawn. It's a little confusing where you enter for the hotel and for the restaurant, but we realized that the hotel entrance is for walkers who arrive wet and muddy like we did. George had seen this before and soon had our wet clothes and boots off and drying. Our room was large and light with a good bed and a great view of horses in the next field. The showers were hot but could use more water pressure; there were three, and we didn't have to wait. There is a sink in each room. It was amazingly quiet at night, just right for sleeping. '

The restaurant is welcoming and warm. Good beer and food; there were both other walkers and locals there. If you are lucky you can get a piece of Suzanne's award-winning bakewell tart. Do not expect an immediate response to your email enquiry; you can follow it up with a call if you like, but you'll be expected. Breakfast was fine.

The packed lunch sustained us for two days and included some snacks that we had with tea for at least three days. And the whole thing was an amazing bargain.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half-Moon-Wales, Owner at Half Moon Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you Jean
Its nice to see all our hard work pay off.
We do try hard to please and take all feed back to heart
so it very nice to see your reviews and even better when things have gone right.
As you pointed out we do not charge the earth but try to understand your needs
with price
So once again its great when it all pays off and you get good reviews.
Thanks again
George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Spent the weekend here as horse riding up the road at Travelog.
Rooms are very simple and very clean.
Considering what they charge the little extras in the room are fantastic.
Tea, choclate bar, cotton buds wet wipes all add a great touch..
The hosts work very hard and charge little money.
Breakfast is superb and enough to keep you going till tea time.
Expect to see a dog or two in the bar and very friendly regulars.
A real welsh welcome.
No ensuite but three separate showers and toilets which are fine.
If you want five star en-suite luxury go somewhere else.
However if you want great service,super food and friendly locals stop here.
Bargain price to.
Take no notice of an earlier review where customer was supposed to be offered a en- suite room.
Half moon does not have one so why would they offer this service.
Sadly some people pay nothing and all they do is winge.
Second time I have stayed here and going again later in year

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dclarencejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powys
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here having walked from Hay on Wye via the Offa"s Dyke Path. We arrived and were met by George the owner who showed us to our room which was comfortable yet basic with a superb view from the window. George offered my wife and I one nights accommodation, evening meal, breakfast and a substantial packed lunch for £43 each which we considered an absolute bargain. The food was homely and welcome after a long walk in from Hay and the guest beers were also very good. Breakfast was also wholesome but the packed lunch was absolutely gorgeous with lots of goodies provided.

All in all, this was a lovely area to stay in after a long day on the hill. Whilst the Half Moon is not The Ritz and nor should you expect it to be, George provides a clean and pleasant stay with good food, super beer and a warm room - what more could you want?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masarnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanthony
7.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
585 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 16 in Crickhowell
737 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
361 reviews
8.7 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#3 of 16 in Crickhowell
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Inn

Property: Half Moon Inn
Address: Llanthony | Abergavenny, Llanthony, Brecon Beacons National Park NP7 7NN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Llanthony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanthony
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Half Moon Hotel is set in a peaceful and secluded spot in the beautiful Black Mountains, part of the Brecon Beacons National Park. Next door to Llanthony Priory. The friendly 17th-century pub is an ideal base for walkers (we are not far from the Offas Dyke Path and on the beacons way path). We are also well situated to explore the Norman border castles, old churches and chapels of the Welsh borders. The small town of Abergavenny is 10 miles away. Hay-on-Wye 13 miles, Hereford 25 miles and Cardiff 40 miles. The Half Moon serves good food, real ales & tea & coffee, child friendly pub. We also have a beer garden for your use and dogs are welcome. Pony trekking is available close by and caters for all ages and abilities. The Half Moon is situated in an area designated as a dark sky at night location and is therefore ideal for stargazers and photographers. Our accommodation is basic due to the age of the building, but a warm welcome and good food and ale is offered to all our visitors. The Half Moon is currently undergoing a major refurbishment and therefore there is some disruption to normal service however we are working extremely hard to keep the disturbance to our guests to a minimum. Should you have any concerns regarding this please contact us ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing