We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Magnolia Manor
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Port Allen
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My daughters soccer team and some parents stayed at this hotel June 2014. There were holes in the sheets. No ice in the ice machines, no restaurant on sight as told to us, no laundry as stated on the website. We had a total of 10 rooms. We were charged more than the advertised rate, $20 a night more. There were roaches in the motel which I know are common in the south but can be controlled. The keys would't work from time to time (we stayed 4 nights). The staff was not friendly or helpful at all when asking for extra towels or anything. Please don't waste your money on this place. We as a team have decided to not use Best Westerns anymore due to the trouble we have had dealing with this mess. So said because we travel a lot!

Room Tip: Stay anywhere but here!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepinn97, General Manager at Best Western Magnolia Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

dear guests,
we are very sorry for all the inconvenience during your stay at our property.
we never advertise about the restaurant on premises and the building you talking about that's not belong to us, its shoney's restaurant which is boarded back in 2008.
we mention same thing to city but they cant force anybody to reopen their business.
we do have guest laundry but dryer was our for a day only and ice machine was working fine.

and for your room key its depend how you use it and how many girls keep coming for the keys everytime after you come from the game. once you use the new key, old key stops working.
Anyway we are sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Magnolia Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great location, friendly staff, easy to get on and off interstate, rooms were very clean and fast internet access, quiet area no interstate noise or other noise areas close food and gas places parking close to rooms

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepinn97, General Manager at Best Western Magnolia Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

dear guests,
we are very thankful for staying with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you.
we are trying our best to satisfy our guests in each and every needs of them.
we like that you like our rooms and our friendly staff and we make sure our staff will keep performing better and better and we will have satisfy guests everyday.

once again we are thankful for your valuable review and hope to see you soon when you are in town.
thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was looking for a hotel close to my client, but in retrospect wish I had stayed somewhere else. The general area of this hotel is a bit run down, and even though the exterior of the hotel looked to have been painted relatively recently, it was a wake up call when I couldn't enter the lobby without being buzzed in by the front desk. Not bad for a quick one night stay, but again didn't feel overly safe here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepinn97, General Manager at Best Western Magnolia Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

dear guests,
we are very thankful for staying with us and giving us opportunity to serve you.
We are also sorry for the inconvenience during your stay.

The building you mention which is run down that is not belong to us, it was use to Shoney's restaurant but they out of business and you know we cant force anyone to run their business.
We got that in attention to port allen city about it to but they saying they can't help us either.

but anyway we are very sorry for the inconvenience and we are also doing renovation in our buildings and exterior too so hopefully you understand the situation and will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were headed to New Orleans to catch a cruise ship and were a night early for our hotel there. Price seamed a bit steep but we asked the guy behind the desk for his best offer. He gave us 2 doubles and dropped the price a little. Room was very clean. Bed was pretty comfortable. The next morning we walked down to the complimentary breakfast. They had waffles, eggs and bacon. Not bad for a freebie. Kathy the gal taking care of the breakfast was very friendly. She took care of everybody and did a great job. Nothing bad to say about this one. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for their best deal.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DARIN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepinn97, General Manager at Best Western Magnolia Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear guests,
we are very thankful for staying with us on your way to cruise trip. We are trying our best to satisfy our guests needs and will continuing doing this.
Kathy who in charge of breakfast she is very nice and friendly and hardworking girl. Thanks for mentioning her name.

Thanks for getting your attention on each and everything and comments about it, we really appreciate you all.
Hope you have enjoyed the cruise and we will be very glad to see you again when you are in town.
Once again thanks for taking some time from your busy schedule.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hotel is hard to get in and out of, There was at one time a restaurant, but was closed down. The room was clean and comfortable. We didn't eat there so can not rate the breakfast area, The lobby A/C broke down and it would have been too hot to eat anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepinn97, Manager at Best Western Magnolia Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear guests,
we are very sorry for the broken ac in the lobby, but thank you very much for staying with us and taking your valuable time for comments about us.
We thank you for like our rooms and giving us a chance to serve you.
We extremely sorry that you missed our hot breakfast served with bacon, eggs and sausage just because of the ac was broke. we understand how do fill without cool air.
We hope you will visit us again sometime soon and enjoy our hot breakfast in cool air (we fixed it) and you will be our 100% satisfy valuable guests.

thank you for giving us time from your busy schedule.
once again we are sorry for inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This is the worst hotel in the world. The room smelled of urine, so we requested a room change. The second room was a little better on the nose, but the dead mouse in the bathroom convinced me to go elsewhere. The guys at the desk could not speak English so getting a refund was impossible. Spread the word, DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank HonestAbeReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepinn97, Manager at Best Western Magnolia Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

dear guest,
we are very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay.
we have never ever problem with the rats in our property.
none of the housekeeping staff ever complain about that either so it must be misunderstanding.

so sorry for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The room was nice , looked and smelled clean.The moment I arrived the clerk was helpful and polite.The maintenance lady that goes by TEE went above and beyond and made my stay pleasant.The whole building inside and out was clean and maintained.I sleep like a baby and was treated like a queen.I thank all of you for being so sweet. J.G.O.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Joan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepinn97, Manager at Best Western Magnolia Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear guest,
we are very thankful to you for choosing our Best Western for your stay.

We appreciate your valuable time for the survey and hope to see you again when you are in town. We are trying our best to satisfy each and every guests at our property in every possible way we can.

We continuously trying our best for our valuable guests.
Once again thank you very much for your valuable review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Allen
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge/Port Allen
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Port Allen
Comfort Suites Port Allen
#6 of 12 in Port Allen
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Baton Rouge -Port Allen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
6.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
#25 of 78 in Baton Rouge
585 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Chateau Louisianne Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Magnolia Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Magnolia Manor

Address: 234 Lobdell Hwy S, Port Allen, LA 70767-4119 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Magnolia Manor)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Port Allen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Port Allen
Price Range: £46 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Magnolia Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Magnolia Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Allen
Port Allen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing