We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In town for a first-time family reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Baton Rouge -Port Allen
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Port Allen
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I was travelling with my husband and teenage son and in town for a a family reunion which was the first for my husband's side of the family. We also had several other family members from across the country staying at this hotel. The room attractive and adequate for our needs, spacious bathroom, comfortable beds, choice of pillow softness and a great view. The selection of carpet color and designs, the lamps and wall hangings also showed upscale taste. The closet was a little small but adequate, supplied with an iron and ironing board. The conference room was available to set up ahead of time and that was a plus. We also had the opportunity to bring more chairs in as needed. Overall, it was a good choice to accommodate the event allowing a bright and cheery setting.

On the down side, there was evidence that our room had not been dusted in a while, evident on the base of the table, behind the television, the shelves in the restroom and along the baseboards. When I brought it to the attention of housekeeping, it was taken care of. More care also needs to be taken on guest supplies -- three towels on separate occasions had brown and yellow stains. One stain so fresh that it continued to leave trace marks on the towel. There was no bath mat left after one maid's visit and in addition, the clock was difficult to reset to the correct time. I also thought that it would have been nice to have at least two guest chairs and suitcase valise.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherryblossom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Baton Rouge -Port Allen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 64 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2010

Tough to review a basically new motel but for right now this Holiday Inn Express is very nice. The room was clean and no issues whatsoever. The a/c was comfortable on this humid night and the bed was comfortable with 4 nice choices of pillows. If Holiday Inn can keep up the current status, this place will always be a good stopover during travels. Just a side note: We were uncomfortable with so many workers in the area during check-in at 4 - 5 P.M. Not sure if the motel is still being worked on or an adjacent property. Some workers appeared to be cruising the lot and I'm not sure why. I don't like worrying during a leisurely trip but I had my eye on my car pretty often. Everything turned out fine and perhaps this issue will cease in time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hooked_on_travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

I stayed at this hotel on a recent business trip to Baton Rouge. The hotel is very new and is located in a cluster of new hotels just off I-10 and Lobdell Highway. Because of it's age, the hotel is still clean and fresh, but there are lots of little details that seem to be missed. On my first night in the hotel I noticed that I could hear a lot of noise from other rooms, including footsteps from the room above mine. The bathtub faucet spout wasn't installed properly, so there was a 3/4" gap between the base of the spout and the wall where you could see the copper pipe and the hole in the tile where the pipe exited the wall. The faucet and the spout had not been caulked properly, so mould is guaranteed.

The rooms come with free WiFi, but the network would not support Skype or iChat voice which was very annoying. Email and web surfing were no problem, and I was able to log onto the network easily with both my MacBook Pro and my iPhone. The hotel does not offer remote printing from your room to the business center.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, although you do get the standard HI Express breakfast buffet, which was quite good. There are no restaurants in the immediate area around the hotel, and no room service, so if you are contemplating a quiet dinner at the hotel you can forget that.

The fitness room is in good shape and has a good selection of new equipment. I never had a problem getting the equipment I wanted when I was there. In fact, I never saw another guest in the fitness centre while I was there. The pool is very nice and well kept.

Parking at the hotel is free, but quite limited and there was construction going on on the lot in front of the hotel. Hard to tell if this will be more parking or another business when completed.

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

Overall, I'd give this hotel an "acceptable" rating, but I don't think I'll go back there on my next trip to Baton Rouge.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for business and I must say it was a wonderful stay. The hotel is brand new one of the employees said that they had just opened on Sept. 4th I do believe. The employees are so friendly and the breakfast is nice. There is nothing bad that I can say about it. The rooms were very neat and the housekeepers do a wonderful job cleaning. I would definetly recommend this hotel. Also just to let readers know this is a different hotel that was listed under the Hoilday Inn in the other reviews. I've seen the hotel that they were talking about and it was once a Holiday Inn but is now a Quality Inn. THIS ISN'T THE SAME HOTEL

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pr0fessi0nal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Sign Out Front Said ''NOW OPEN''..So Either NEWLY BUILT OR REBUILT.....HAD PROBLEMS AT CHECK IN...LARGE ROOM...Fridge..Micro..Closet..Iron/board..BATHROOM very bright...bathroom had shelves under sink...good size bathroom...comfy beds...clean room...wireless..had pool...small excercise room..ELEVATOR.....GOOD BREAKFAST...large room...had scrambled eggs..bacon..biscuits..gravy..muffins..breads..Jjuices..cereals..ETC...a few fast food places nearby...near interstate.....

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USAFAN2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Allen
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge/Port Allen
0.2 mi away
Best Western Magnolia Manor
Best Western Magnolia Manor
#2 of 12 in Port Allen
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Port Allen
Comfort Suites Port Allen
#6 of 12 in Port Allen
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 78 in Baton Rouge
347 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge Downtown
5.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
#25 of 78 in Baton Rouge
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Baton Rouge -Port Allen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Baton Rouge -Port Allen

Address: 2860 N Westport Dr, Port Allen, LA 70767-6110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Port Allen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Port Allen
Price Range: £91 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Baton Rouge -Port Allen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Baton Rouge area is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Allen, LA! We are conveniently Located on I-10 at Exit 151, just a short drive to Downtown Baton Rouge. With our world class service and many Baton Rouge and Port Allen businesses, restaurants and attractions within minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Port Allen! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave and refrigerator, 32 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our indoor heated swimming pool, business center, Express Start breakfast bar, wireless Internet access in all public areas and expanded fitness center. Points of interest Companies:Exxon Mobile Pipeline, Dow Chemical, Placid Refinery, State of Louisiana Government District Healthcare: Women s Hospital, Our Lady of the Lake Hospital, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Louisiana Universities: Louisiana State University LSU, Southern University. Local Attractions: Downtown Baton Rouge, USS Kidd, Belle of Baton Rouge Casino, Hollywood Casino, Blue Bayou Waterpark, Nottaway Plantation Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Port Allen-Baton Rouge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Baton Rouge -Port Allen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Baton Rouge -Port Allen
Days Inn Port Allen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing