We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place for relaxing oneself”
Review of Hidden Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shahapur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Village
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best place for relaxing oneself”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Been to hidden village twice and its the best place to go if you are looking for a peaceful serene break. the resort has wonderfully done cottages which would fit all types of groups. the food is authentic home food and really good. it is not for people looking for rain dance and all other activities normally available at other resorts.they have a swimming pool and other indoor games for whiling away your time. the best time to go would be from july to january as the weather is awesome around these times.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mandar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyd_souza, Owner at Hidden Village, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Mandar, thanks for the visit and a simple summary of it. There are like you many people who come so often, some almost every two months others have visited us over a dozen times with family, friends, office colleagues, annual gatherings and with their overseas visitors.

Although its a small property there have been people who have come (whom i have met) from other states by air, driven here by a hired vehicle and after a stay of two to four days have been driven back to airport and their state of residence. This is the very humbling when i come to think of it, at the same time feedback by these visitors in person is also very helpful.

Thanks again see you some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    79
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
79
64
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It took me time to write this review but here it is.
Let me start off by saying, the place is hidden and Awesome! Truly truly hidden and if you can follow instructions, (GPS on google) you will get there with ease. We were in the hill house, nice lil place cool and comforting. It truly is styled like a village and will genuinely not disappoint on that front. The pool is great, frankly the best I ve been in. It may look green and have moss etc but trust me when you get into it you'll feel that freshness of the water. Fun place, lots of fun things to do, but most of all if you enjoy nature, don't look anywhere else.

One thing that stands out is the owner. His replies to negative reviews are a bit much but trust me you meet him he is a gem of a guy. He's built the place with love and passion and treats it the same.

Before visiting please go through their site to understand if this place is meant for you or not. Because there is no gourmet food or such, but you ll be served good, hygienic fresh food at all times. And there is a very simple policy of food, Ask and you shall receive.

Now just cause I want to pull Tony's leg I have a complain :) Those tent rooms make a lot of noise next to the hill house at night!!

But seriously, If someone loves nature and wants to go back to their roots (with hell of a lot of luxury and vfm) here is the place.

And last thing for a place that claims to be a village (with light construction work that was going on) its really really clean.

Room Tip: Make your needs and wants clear while booking and they will guide you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sasta-raahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyd_souza, Owner at Hidden Village, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
Obviously you will be not coming again here, for reasons other then stated, as none of them make sense to us. Wish you had approached us while on site so we could check what your real problem was and tried to provide a solution. Our concept is different and we expect only a small percentage of people who are eco-nature lovers besides being mature travelers. So we don't expect every one to like our craft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It was my birthday and it was a gift from my wife - a short break at Hidden Village. It is truly hidden one, there are no directions on highway or no advertisements at all, but the directions given on the website are just perfect. We did not find it difficult to reach the resort.

It was difficult for me to believe that such a place can exist in the vicinity of Mumbai at just 2-2.5 hours drive.

I fell in love with this place at first site. On the arrival you are greeted with a cold 'Kokam Sherbat'. We had booked forest house.

The resort is just like a village, calm, tranquil, relaxing and serene, though we had gone there in summer, I am sure the place must be all the more beautiful during the monsoons.

The staff is very helpful and polite. They come and remind you about lunch / dinner time and are always ready to help.

You are served with breakfast and meals at the dining hall. The bed tea and evening snacks are served in your room. The food is very good, seems just like home cooked food and it was not at all oily or spicy.

Everything about this place is natural. The village pond (swimming pool) is not of chlorinated water. The use of natural elements is visible, nothing is artificial.

There is a play zone too equipped with two carrom boards, pool table and table tennis. We had a great time there. We were informed by the staff about a small trek behind the village, which we had to skip as it was late in the evening and we were not sure about returning before sunset. Instead we had a long walk just out side the village.


Overall a great weekend getaway from busy city life.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Satyajit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We wanted a break from our busy life,,,,me n my best frnd found their website and were able to book the room ......spent three days from 26th may morn to 29th morn....spend a day in exotic and shifted to crest for another two days.

Crisp, chic, efficient green hidden heaven....the rooms with wonderful views. Service itself was impeccable. This basis place is designed to b happy and peace place..

Food .....buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner is very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank archana_jena12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We wanted to take a quick break for our anniversary and I am glad we chose this. We left after office and took about 2.5 hrs to reach there. Google maps gets you on the right road and there was someone from the hotel waiting right outside so we dint miss the turn. While they strictly serve meals only in the common dining area, they did make an exception and served our food in our room since it was quite late.
We both love nature and our idea of celebrating our anniversary to do nothing. The place is perfect for that. The good thing is while you get to enjoy the nature and the quiet; Hidden Village provides all the basic amenities and services.
The rooms are nice and spacious (not luxurious). We stayed at the Forest house which has 2 bathroom (1 with a twin bathtub), direct access to the village pond and am outdoor seating overlooking a small stream (which had dried up bcoz of summer; but m sure would be a pretty sight in the rains).
I loved the village pond. It is big enough to enjoy a quiet swim. The chlorine content is quite low, and it is covered so we dint tan at all.
The food is basic and homely, not a very large spread.
They also have a well maintained gaming room with a pool table, table tennis, carom etc. There is also enough space around to take long or short walks. All in all a perfect place to runaway from the usual city hustle.

Room Tip: Ask for Forest house or Exotic house; both have direct entry to the village pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrachiNish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyd_souza, Owner at Hidden Village, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you Prachi for your visit and effort to write about it ........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Peaceful, serene, soothing to eyes, very relaxing from a busy work schedule..good place for a weekend to be spend with your loved and dear ones.Its a different experience to visit this place,the staff are the locals and are very helpful,food was homely and not to forget tasty as well.
must say if you are expecting party this isn't the place for you ..its a place to relax and spend quality time with nature and silence with your loved ones.

Room Tip: Exotic category room is grt!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unknown0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyd_souza, Owner at Hidden Village, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you, appreciate your visit and getting to know its real essence....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hidden Village is a gem hidden on the outskirts of Mumbai. A 2 hours drive will lead you to a place that is replete with that rustic village feel, great food, helpful staff & the very co-operative Tony D'Souza. This is not a resort for those looking to make noise, have fun & frolic but you can still have fun with the peaceful & verdant surroundings. Leave your mundane tasks & stress behind in Mumbai as here is an innate sense of peace & calm. Do not expect huge buffets laid out but you will enjoy the village style food - extremely tasty. Finally, the owner & host - Tony D'Souza, a man who has built this whole place passionately. Thanks Tony for being very supportive & co-operative. Whatever is written above, is truly from the heart from all of us

Room Tip: Carry a pair of walking shoes to explore the whole place & also to trek near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanjayrozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyd_souza, Owner at Hidden Village, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks Sanjay really appreciate your kind words, hope baby is keeping well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shahapur
20.3 mi away
Dew Drops Boutique Retreat
8.2 mi away
Srushti Farms
Srushti Farms
#2 of 63 in Thane
240 reviews
21.8 mi away
Sajan Nature Club
Sajan Nature Club
#1 of 1 in Sajan
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Midway Park Resort
Midway Park Resort
#1 of 2 in Shahapur
35 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mystic Valley Spa Resort
20.2 mi away
Manas Resort
Manas Resort
#4 of 9 in Igatpuri
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Village

Property: Hidden Village
Address: Sakhroli Village, Atgaon, Shahapur 421301, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Thane District > Shahapur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Shahapur
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing