We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and Totally Lives up to Its Name !”
Review of Hidden Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shahapur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The name itself adds an aura of mystery to this place ..... The Hidden Village !!!!

In the middle of nowhere too !!!

This resort (if you can call it that) totally lives up to its name. Its hidden away from the maddening crowds of the city. So well hidden that if you dont keep your eyes open and if you dont follow the very well explained directions of the Resort owner (on his website) to the T, you might just get lost.

As soon as you drive into the place, the driveway itself gives you an idea of how rustic and soothing your experience is going to be.

We were a bunch of families who reached there on a Friday (15th Aug) morning and were welcomed warmly by the village staff there. Our bags taken from the car and to the room, though there were a lot of people arriving there at the same time.

Our rooms were spacious and even with 4 families we could easily stay in two adjoining rooms (The Crest House, if I am not mistaken). Too bad they had sealed off the common door between the two rooms with a granite partition. But nevertheless that did not cause much of a problem.

The food at the resort is quite basic. They dont have an a la carte, however, unlike others, we didnt have any complains with the food. Ofcourse taste buds of different people vary, but the food was easy on your palate and on your stomach too. They didnt have too many varieties but they did have one non veg dish for all their meals (Thank God !!). The staff was untrained but absolutely pleasant. If you took care to explain to them what you need in a nice and sweet manner, they understood and they delivered. We did see people trying to bark orders like they do in the 5stars and obviously got blank stares in return. Thankfully we had done out homework so we knew what to expect.

The resort itself is quite serene. Inspite of a big groups making a lot of noise, you can still find yourself an isolated spot. And somehow the noise got lost amidst the ducks quacking and the waterfall sounds and it didnt tend to bother you much.

The waterfall in itself seems to be the resort's biggest attraction. Its completely natural and with untreated water. We spent quite a few hours under it, before we shifted off to the swimming pool. Fortunately we had the whole pool to ourselves and quite enjoyed in it.

The club room they have, has a decent variety of games and though the games are not that well maintained (must be the rains and the moisture perhaps??) they were playable.

We did have a few suggestions for improvement which we gave to the Co-Owner (cant seem to recollect his name, sorry, Melvin??) and he most happily promised to see if he can make any changes as we had requested.

In the total stay of 2 nights and 3 days, we hardly had any complaints. Actually we were too busy enjoying ourselves to be complaining about anything.

I did find the charges slightly on the higher side, considering that the amenities are quite basic, but they were definitely not exorbitant and come to think of it, I have paid much more for much less. If you consider it from a weekend getaway point of view, they were perfectly reasonable.

All in all, I would definitely want to go there again. Especially when the rains stop. I have been promised a fish pedicure there :P

For Tony Dsouza, it was nice having a chat, albeit a short one, with you. Good luck with your venture and I hope you can add up a few more attractions to your resort.

A few suggestions which we might have missed are being added here. Maybe a couple of kiddie activities like a guided nature walk (sans the parents, so we get some peace :P ) and perhaps a kiddie pool close to the actual pool?? Think you can manage to do something on those lines? Would love to get the kids out of my hair for a bit when I am there next.

Room Tip: Didnt manage to see all the rooms, but I was pretty happy with the Crest House, its kinda away from...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darshan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyd_souza, Owner at Hidden Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Darshan, I thank you for your visit and then taking time to write this review. Yes we will make a small kiddie pool, some where around the main pool for tiny tots. Post rains there is more equipment coming in the game house and probably the pool table's green canvas will be resurfaced.

The design of the jungle is such with only seven year old baby trees now towering over 40 feet is actually a mini rain forest, the reason i mention this is, the challenges of moisture due to its green density in constant wetness in months of monsoons is not small. So not only the sports equipment but also the house interiors and other equipment requires all the more constant watch. But that is going to be part and parcel of the intention of doing this place. Post rains we will be working on providing different and more attractions and activities to this place.

The person who you met was Maurice, who joined our team since last two months. He will be on site mostly, and especially in my absence so now we have a Resident guest relation person always, so guest visitors can always ask for any redress of issue in-case the villagers are not able to.

Since last week we also have a new cook join us and we would be now experimenting a little more in variety and tastes.

Thanks again for summarizing your visit in the way you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Hidden Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Its a very well done place, they have maintained the natural surroundings, giving you a feel of village and though maintained to give you all the basic luxury one is used to in town. We had a very good time with family. They offer you one day picnic package, including a room with breakfast, lunch and evening tea @ just 700 per person. While they also have packages for overnight stay. Food is very simple maharashtrian but very good. The resort has lots of well maintained games like snooker table, carom board, table tennis and also a swimming pool. Its very near Tansa dam. It just takes around 2.30 hours to reach from Mumbai. There is also a very beautiful lake nearby and its just awesome, no words to describe this, lush green surroundings, a small stream feeding water to this beautiful lake. No dwellings in site. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank birajv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyd_souza, Owner at Hidden Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Bhirajiv, with 86 reviews under your belt you certainly must qualify as a champion reviewer. And therefore a narrative of your experience of visit to any property could be an educative feedback to the property management, as it has been to us.

Thank you, for the visit and for the time taken to write of your experience.
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This place is too beautiful one can enjoy the nature especially after rainy season the naturàl lake water fall is the attraction of this place whenever plan a visit make sure to take everything which can save you from mosquito and other insects bite food is not too good but ok alcohol is not allowed in the water fall, pond and waterfall one should be very careful as I have seen many getting hurt of sharp edges of stones be very careful the place is excellent approaching there is little tricky as gps dont work at some place. You will find pool table carrom and the best thing nature to enjoy.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank abhikabhi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyd_souza, Owner at Hidden Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Akhibhai, I thank you for the brief review of your visit to our property.

As i write this reply since last week we have an additional cook, so we try now to bring a little variation in preparation and probably variety. In monsoons and being a thick forest yes there is mosquito issue, but it is not all day its a period of evening during dusk. This is due to water pockets in the surrounding forest cause of rains. We fumigate periodically to reduce the effect, but its a jungle ambiance so incidence will be there. We however provide all repellents and creams in all rooms.

Since we don't have excise permit we do not serve nor facilitate alcohol. Some guests carrying their own is considered a private matter and there fore it has to be in the privacy of their own room. No blatant display of same is allowed which is not only appreciated but cooperatively adhered to by visitors.

The water fall pond is actually carved out in the rock, and chiseled by stone carvers so as to ensure there are no abrasive or rough surfaces or extension in the rock, which is so that people do not get hurt. It is absolutely safe. But some time when people are excited and less careful especially when the flow is a little furious then there are chances for hurt, but then in those times, our staff also ensures people don't get into the water. So basically its safe.

Thank you anyways for your visit and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Been to hidden village twice and its the best place to go if you are looking for a peaceful serene break. the resort has wonderfully done cottages which would fit all types of groups. the food is authentic home food and really good. it is not for people looking for rain dance and all other activities normally available at other resorts.they have a swimming pool and other indoor games for whiling away your time. the best time to go would be from july to january as the weather is awesome around these times.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mandar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyd_souza, Owner at Hidden Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Mandar, thanks for the visit and a simple summary of it. There are like you many people who come so often, some almost every two months others have visited us over a dozen times with family, friends, office colleagues, annual gatherings and with their overseas visitors.

Although its a small property there have been people who have come (whom i have met) from other states by air, driven here by a hired vehicle and after a stay of two to four days have been driven back to airport and their state of residence. This is the very humbling when i come to think of it, at the same time feedback by these visitors in person is also very helpful.

Thanks again see you some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It took me time to write this review but here it is.
Let me start off by saying, the place is hidden and Awesome! Truly truly hidden and if you can follow instructions, (GPS on google) you will get there with ease. We were in the hill house, nice lil place cool and comforting. It truly is styled like a village and will genuinely not disappoint on that front. The pool is great, frankly the best I ve been in. It may look green and have moss etc but trust me when you get into it you'll feel that freshness of the water. Fun place, lots of fun things to do, but most of all if you enjoy nature, don't look anywhere else.

One thing that stands out is the owner. His replies to negative reviews are a bit much but trust me you meet him he is a gem of a guy. He's built the place with love and passion and treats it the same.

Before visiting please go through their site to understand if this place is meant for you or not. Because there is no gourmet food or such, but you ll be served good, hygienic fresh food at all times. And there is a very simple policy of food, Ask and you shall receive.

Now just cause I want to pull Tony's leg I have a complain :) Those tent rooms make a lot of noise next to the hill house at night!!

But seriously, If someone loves nature and wants to go back to their roots (with hell of a lot of luxury and vfm) here is the place.

And last thing for a place that claims to be a village (with light construction work that was going on) its really really clean.

Room Tip: Make your needs and wants clear while booking and they will guide you best.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sasta-raahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyd_souza, Owner at Hidden Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2014

Obviously you will be not coming again here, for reasons other then stated, as none of them make sense to us. Wish you had approached us while on site so we could check what your real problem was and tried to provide a solution. Our concept is different and we expect only a small percentage of people who are eco-nature lovers besides being mature travelers. So we don't expect every one to like our craft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It was my birthday and it was a gift from my wife - a short break at Hidden Village. It is truly hidden one, there are no directions on highway or no advertisements at all, but the directions given on the website are just perfect. We did not find it difficult to reach the resort.

It was difficult for me to believe that such a place can exist in the vicinity of Mumbai at just 2-2.5 hours drive.

I fell in love with this place at first site. On the arrival you are greeted with a cold 'Kokam Sherbat'. We had booked forest house.

The resort is just like a village, calm, tranquil, relaxing and serene, though we had gone there in summer, I am sure the place must be all the more beautiful during the monsoons.

The staff is very helpful and polite. They come and remind you about lunch / dinner time and are always ready to help.

You are served with breakfast and meals at the dining hall. The bed tea and evening snacks are served in your room. The food is very good, seems just like home cooked food and it was not at all oily or spicy.

Everything about this place is natural. The village pond (swimming pool) is not of chlorinated water. The use of natural elements is visible, nothing is artificial.

There is a play zone too equipped with two carrom boards, pool table and table tennis. We had a great time there. We were informed by the staff about a small trek behind the village, which we had to skip as it was late in the evening and we were not sure about returning before sunset. Instead we had a long walk just out side the village.


Overall a great weekend getaway from busy city life.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Satyajit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We wanted a break from our busy life,,,,me n my best frnd found their website and were able to book the room ......spent three days from 26th may morn to 29th morn....spend a day in exotic and shifted to crest for another two days.

Crisp, chic, efficient green hidden heaven....the rooms with wonderful views. Service itself was impeccable. This basis place is designed to b happy and peace place..

Food .....buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank archana_jena12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shahapur
20.3 mi away
Dew Drops Boutique Retreat
8.2 mi away
Srushti Farms
Srushti Farms
#3 of 66 in Thane
248 reviews
20.2 mi away
Manas Resort
Manas Resort
#5 of 10 in Igatpuri
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Midway Park Resort
Midway Park Resort
#1 of 2 in Shahapur
37 reviews
21.8 mi away
Sajan Nature Club
Sajan Nature Club
#1 of 1 in Sajan
94 reviews
22.3 mi away
Rainforest Resort
Rainforest Resort
#6 of 10 in Igatpuri
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Village

Address: Sakhroli Village, Atgaon, Shahapur 421301, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Thane District > Shahapur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Shahapur
Price Range: £276 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing