We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch with family”

The Cromwell Cottage
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
northamptonshire
Level Contributor
146 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch with family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

First visit to the Cromwell cottage, lovely surroundings and nice atmosphere. The roast platter was ok but two of our party had food off the main menu which was delicious. The down side is it's a very busy restaurant so the service was poor, we were left sitting in the lounge for over half hour as nobody told us our table was ready and it didnt get much better, waited for order to be taken, more drinks etc. I'm sure if it wasn't a bank holiday weekend things might have been better but don't go to eat there if you are short on time

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jlindajen2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    223
    93
    58
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awful food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

The restaurant had been refurbished and seemed nice. However, all three courses I ordered were terrible. I would not go back again unless they had new kitchen staff.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank kazzacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful pub, amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I visited here with a friend yesterday for lunch. When we arrived there was only one other couple in the restaurant, but by the time we left there were another 4 or 5 tables taken. We bought 2 glasses of Pino (which came to over ten pounds!) and went to find our table which we had booked. I went for the roasted belly pork with black pudding, caramelised apple, mashed potato, green beans and Crabbies Ginger Beer gravy. All I have to say, is that it was the best meal I had eaten in a long time!!!!! My friend went for the duck breast and she said it was amazing too! For pudding I went for ginger and treacle tart with clotted cream and my friend went for the creme brule. All in all, it was a lovely lunch in a beautiful pub, with a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The waiter was very attentive and asked us several times if we were enjoying our meal. I would definitely go back here again and have the same meal again, as well as try everything else off the menu!!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rams_fan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The chef is way out of his depth.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We visited here last year and enjoyed the meal so decided to visit again in May (10 of us) for our Mum & Dads wedding anniversary. Several of us sent food back. The fish pie had barely any fish in it and the sauce was as thin as water. The herb crusted mushroom starter was a joke, a small mushroom as thin as a wafer hidden under a pile of water cress or rocket - I can't remember now- and it was microwaved.
My son enjoyed his meal the most, gammon steak and chips. In fact the simpler the dish the better but if it's anything more than meat pie and chips this restaurant struggles to deliver which is a shame as the surroundings and the service are great.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skibandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great for a celebration...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Was here with a party of 20 to celebrate my friend's Hen Night. It was the Saturday of the Grand Prix weekend at Silverstone and the place was rammed but the service and the food was still excellent. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, taking photos for us and making sure the evening went well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cromwell Cottage also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Kislingbury, Northampton
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Denton, Northampton
 

Been to The Cromwell Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing